10 Reasons for Turning Work into Worship

Balroop Singh

Slide1
Work merges into worship here! At the height of 17586 ft, with prayer flags all around, Indian Army guarding the borders!

Work is worship…I had heard this dictum as a child in my art class, when we were told to write it artistically and paint it.

At that stage I was not able to grasp its meaning and kept asking my friends how could work become worship. They were as clueless as I was and soon we forgot about it.
The truth of this maxim started unfolding, as my observations grew sharper…
DEDICATION TO WORK:

Work is worship for the farmers who meet the first ray of the sun in their fields.

Work is worship for the homemakers who happily bustle about their family to attend to their needs, with love.

Work is worship for mothers whose world revolves around their children.

In modern, technology laded societies, work ethics have changed a bit but work remains worship for most of us.

Blessed is he who has found his work; let him ask no other blessedness”
–Thomas Carlyle

HOW WORK BECOMES WORSHIP:

Our work becomes worship if we love it, if we are eager to accomplish our goals and if we are willing to give our 100% at our work.

1. It is our work that introduces us to the world, makes us realize its significance in terms of earning our livelihood and engaging in some useful activity to keep us busy.

2.It gives us a direction.
3. It acquaints us with sincerity.

4. It defines our personality further.
5. It gives us an opportunity to meet various kinds of people, deepens our understanding and outlook.

6. It endears us to our bosses, whose sole purpose is to squeeze work out of us.
7. It may make us an envious entity, worthy of challenging competition.

8. It gives us a great sense of achievement and gratification.
9. It redefines religion and faith, if we are hazy about the concept.
10.It leads us to glory.

God speaks through our work:

If we work happily, without any moans, putting your heart and soul into it, God appreciates our efforts. We need not go to places of worship to please Him.

The rewards of such worship:

They come in the form of happiness, contentment and peace of mind. God exults at our efforts to keep the connection with Him through what he has assigned to us… our work.

Do you fall into the category of those blessed with work? How do you turn it into worship? You can share your valuable thoughts here.

If you have liked this post, please consider free subscription. You can do so by entering your email.
Thank you for sharing this post.

9 thoughts on “10 Reasons for Turning Work into Worship

  1. Hi Balroop,

    I think we need to be grateful for everything that God puts in our path and work is definitely included in that. Without it we’ll never be able to provide for our families. You’re right though if we really enjoy what we do then it’s not really work but pure joy.

    Lovely message.

    ~Adrienne

    1. Thanks Adrienne….As you know I am on a long vacation…so the late reply.
      I really appreciate your insight…work becomes a pure joy, no doubt, if we enjoy it. My experience has taught me to love your work to find real joy in life and I have always done so. when work became a burden, I gave it up and now I am the master of my own work….I feel blessed! Now I have feel that home is also a lovely place to work… and I do so!

  2. I agree that any work done with heart and soul is worship because if we do it with our heart it is not a burden . I learnt this lesson from my mom although she never taught me ‘work is worship’. But I always saw her working selfless for family without any complaints. she never gave me lecture about how to work but according to me I love to give my 100 percent to my work as it gives a different type to satisfaction and I can face myself if I have done my work perfectly with a thought that ‘work is worship.

    1. Hi Daljeet….I have seen you giving your 100% and approaching your work with the thought of taking it as a worship. I always loved you for that! Never could say it, but it is easier to write such things!!

      That is so true…selfless work speaks volumes, you don’t need to lecture. The satisfaction that we get for such a work is its own reward.Thank you for expressing your viewpoint so honestly. I value your opinion as it gives me great encouragement.

  3. Enjoyed this reflection here, Balroop. If we thought of work as worship, it should be the most pleasurable and divine experience. We each have the power to do that – it’s just changing our mindset. I’ve found that the most powerful kind of worship and work is when I’m able to serve other people. Then, we not only celebrate the power of the divine but we also celebrate and worship the divinity in others. thank you for this reflection.

    1. Thank you Vishnu for adding your perspective…I like the expression ‘celebrate the power of the divine’ which we undoubtedly do each time we work for the welfare of others. Along with that I believe in turning our everyday work into worship by approaching it sincerely and completing it to our utmost satisfaction. The best form of worship is love for our work.

      All we need to do is unleash the power latent within us, once we accomplish that, we can surely work wonders.
      Have a nice day, full of real work!!

Comments are closed.