Opportunities Knock and Knock! Be Optimistic!

 Image

Who says opportunity knocks just once? That is the view of an eager pessimist who wants to grab the very first opportunity he comes across. I would say; opportunities keep knocking every now and then.

Even now as I write this, my ears are at the door, at the windows…eager to hear the knocks, waiting to perceive whether it is the knock of an opportunity that is exciting!

We have to be alert enough to recognize the right one. Each opportunity comes with a promise, with a dream and a threshold.

Like the artist who always wanted to paint a masterpiece but had never started it, waiting for the right moment, the true inspiration.

Like the girl who lived in an oppressive and conservative society but wanted the best education. She didn’t give up even after being shot at!

Like the destitute who was abandoned and sold by her biological mother but who managed to find a life of dignity.  

Like the young man who wanted to drive out foreigners from his motherland. He consolidated all the forces before grabbing the opportunity.

Like the leader who wanted to wipe out slavery from the face of this earth.

They waited for fresh opportunities, each time they saw disappointment. They built their own chances! They believed…“If opportunity doesn’t knock, build a door”—Milton Berle.

I gave up a secure job at the age of 23 to follow my dream. I was scoffed at, guided by my well- wishers to reconsider my decision but I refused to be cowed down by the so-called mature opinions. I was confident that I would meet many more opportunities and I did. I gave up my second job to raise my child, once again with robust optimism to explore new avenues.

“A wise man will make more opportunities than he finds.”—Francis Bacon

 Opportunities kept knocking and I welcomed them as and when I wanted them. If we possess the zeal, the determination and the doggedness to wait for the best one, it comes knocking at our door. It is our intuition that guides us to open the door, when there is the need to welcome the opportunity we wait for.Image

 Sometimes opportunities come in the form of blessings, most unexpected but they also come in the form of misfortunes, which we keep cursing, failing to comprehend what they have to offer.

Haven’t you heard people say: ‘I hate my job but I’ve got to stick to it’. Those who live in the constant fear; those who are indecisive; lack the initiative and confidence to face the risks can never meet new opportunities.

“No great man ever complains of want of opportunities.”—Ralph Waldo Emerson

Mist of circumstances blocks our imagination, stops us from making new beginnings. There is a silence within us, which responds only when the opportunity connects with our passion.

Opportunities are like drops of rain…you have to welcome them, harvest them and make them turn around! If you carry an umbrella all the time, you will miss the fun of soaking in their grandeur. They make you the person you would like to be, one day!

If you want to pick up the right opportunity,

  • Have faith in yourself.
  • Banish fears.
  • Follow your dreams.
  • Take initiative.

“Create the world you want and fill it with the opportunities that matter to you”—Alicia Keys.

What stops you from making new beginnings? Do you have the determination to create your own opportunities? You can share your valuable thoughts here.

I am glad you are here. If you have liked this post, please consider free subscription. You just have to fill your email in the box at your right, in the sidebar.

 Thank you for being here. Sharing is caring. If you care for others, please share this post.

Balroop Singh. 

13 thoughts on “Opportunities Knock and Knock! Be Optimistic!

  1. This was yet another awesome post, Balroop. I could not agree with you more on opportunity and being alert to all of them that are presented to us. Some in obvious forms and some much more subtle. I think it’s important to follow our gut yet not be deterred by fear. I’m so glad you followed your dream! 🙂

    1. Thanks Mike. Your thoughts reinforce my belief that opportunities hover around us…only we fail to respond at the right time and to the right one. Often it is the fear of starting afresh that creates a doubt in our mind and we let it go…also it is our comfort zone that roots us to its cushion!

      Thanks for standing by, I truly appreciate it.

  2. Hi Balroop, isn’t it better if we go about the world looking for opportunities. I think opportunities are all around us – we just have to keep an open mind and acknowledge them. Even with blessings and setbacks, there’s opportunity although I’m the first to admit it’s NOT at all easy to spot those events as opportunities. Setback and disappointments can be rather crippling.

    For me, having faith in myself and continuously asking, what can I learn from this are a couple ways I’ve created opportunities in my life. I am glad to hear that you too are always open and welcoming of opportunities in your life.

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      I am glad to see you becoming more active at blogging!
      Yes Vishnu, having an open mind to all the possibilities is the right approach. If we have this, half the battle is won, disappointments do disillusion but an optimist mind would call it a blessing in disguise…thinking there is something better waiting for us! so don’t ever get crippled, take them as challenges.

      You are so right, faith can move mountains…that is how you can create opportunities! Go ahead! keep it up!

      Thank you for adding your perspective, it is greatly valued here.

  3. Hi Balroop,

    I couldn’t agree more with all that you’ve written 🙂

    Yes, opportunities keep knocking at our door, not once or twice but many times – we just need eyes to see them. Just as you gave up your jobs, I gave up mine to raise my elder one, though got back to it later once the children were grown up. But with time, when I knew they needed me more during their growing years, I gave it up entirely – but because there was a better opportunity to be a writer online.

    I think if you keep your channels open, sky is the limit for opportunities. Just keep the faith and remain patient, and things happen, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      So nice of you to take some time off from your busy blog to come here, Thank you.

      I believe if you trust yourself and your intuition, there is always a way to give the top priority to your instinctive decisions and what is more important for a mother to spend the initial years with her child and give a strong foundation? I appreciate you also did the same! The values that a mother can instill with her constant presence are definitely more sustaining.

      I have always felt horizon is better than the “sky” because it keeps moving away, hence giving an impetus to your dreams and goals!

      The weekend is almost here! wish you a few hours away from your ever moving fingers tips!

  4. Hi Balroop, this is another feather in your cap ! Being optimistic – an awesome post .How beautifully you have inspired by writing, ” Mist of circumstances block our imagination ,stops us from making new beginnings.” But is it easy to figure out the right opportunity at the right time ?But still I agree that weak men wait for opportunities and strong men make them .
    I’m so happy for you & wish all the very best !

    1. Thanks Upjit, I like your compliments! who can be a better optimist than you…I think we have it in our genes!

      Yes, circumstances do hinder us…sometimes we don’t take the initiative due to lack of support, money, resources, health…sometimes it is family commitments and so many opportunities are lost in this mist. Some of my friends couldn’t take up a job just because their family members didn’t approve of it and one of my friends couldn’t send her children to the school of her choice for the same reason!

      I hope you strong men statement applies to all human beings!!

      Thanks for your continued presence here, I like it very much.

  5. Hi Balroop, I’m new here and shall certainly come back and read some more. I also loved the sentence, ‘Mist of circumstances blocks our imagination, stops us from making new beginnings.’ It can be very easy to ‘sit in the mist’ and not notice the opportunities, but it’s amazing how quickly the mist can clear when allow ourselves to follow our passions. Thanks for writing!

    1. You are most welcome, Jacqui, I am glad to see you here. Thanks for liking the ‘mist of circumstances’…I have seen people getting lost in this mist, almost to the extent of getting paralysed due to fear of losing their means of livelihood and ignoring better prospects.

      Thanks for adding your view, each one is greatly valued here.

    1. Welcome to my blog Jodi! Thanks for the appreciation, it is greatly valued!
      I strongly believe that faith in ourselves adds wings to our dreams…that is how we can cash on all the opportunities of our choice.

Comments are closed.