Have you felt the Emotional and Therapeutic Appeal of Music?

music-notes

Music speaks…it whispers sweet melodious sounds into our ears! Have you heard them?

Music attracts our attention, entices our emotions and transports us to a new world.

Have you seen that world?

Music does not need any interpretation…it can touch your heart and soul effortlessly to establish a profound connection.

Have you felt the connection?

Whatever the language or the notes, the communiqué of music doesn’t need any props. It flows like a stream…straight into our veins and mingles into our blood.

Even an infant responds to music, which provides enough fire to the speculative theories that music must have originated from the playful communication of a mother and a child.

Do you ever wonder where it came from?

Music must have been inspired by the spontaneous sounds of nature around us – the rustling of leaves, the whispering of pines, the rippling of rivers, the gurgling of waterfalls…the cooing of pigeons, the roaring of lions…

The sounds and rhythms that emanate from earth and sky, from mountains and rivers, from forests and seas must have stimulated the flow of musical notes.

First musical instrument is said to be the human voice – which can make a number of sounds like humming, whistling, clicking and singing.

“Music is the literature of the heart; it commences where speech ends.” –Alphonse de Lamartine.

I have always felt the truth of these words…music has been my most natural refuge, my beloved book of literature… I could feel its emotive effect even as a child…I could speak to it, I could drown my sorrows in its ever-flowing strains and absorb all the wisdom from the lyrics.

It has always assuaged my lacerations, brightened my hours, added glow to my little joys and given wings to my fantasy flights.

Even now, whenever I feel like dropping out of this world, I go to my favorite music. All my dreams and reflections merge into those trills floating around me and I feel at ease.

The power of music transcends beyond just entertainment:Slide1

  • It elevates our mood.
  • It educates and inspires.
  • It enhances our creativity.
  • It increases our emotional sensitivity
  • It acquaints us with rhythm and harmony.
  • It makes us happy.
  • It relaxes and calms our mind and nerves.
  • It gives solace and serenity.
  • It is a natural healer.

Music therapy has been used for times immemorial and more recently for psychiatric disorders, medical problems, developmental disabilities, substance abuse, communication disorders, interpersonal problems and aging.

It is also used to improve learning, build self-esteem and reduce stress. Even plants respond to good music and grow better.

Whether it is traditional music or modern, all age groups have felt its power since the beginning of human existence.

Which music is good music?

Though it depends on your own choice and mood but good music, to my mind, leaves an eternal effect, it becomes ‘a bliss of solitude’…we wish to return to it again and again, to experience that calming effect.

Music that is rattling and foot tapping gives momentary joy, which wears off just like the modern intoxicants.

If you meet it just for entertainment, it is thrilling.

If you approach it for aesthetic pleasure, it is ecstatic.

If you seek spiritual solace from it, it is blissful.

Which kind of music do you like? I would love to hear your views.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by clicking on: ‘Follow’.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

Image credit: examinedexistence.com

19 thoughts on “Have you felt the Emotional and Therapeutic Appeal of Music?

  1. Hi Balroop,

    I’m with you music is wonderful. even when I am trying to write if I have the music going the words just flow.

    It depends on my mood which or what music I like. I love getting in the car, driving and having the music going to sing alone with it.

    The world would be a sad place without music.
    Wonderful post and music is something that we all need. It can take a away the blues and bring on the happiness.
    Debbie

    1. Hi Debbie,

      I am so much drawn to music, such an ardent admirer of good, soft music that after finishing this article I felt I could not put all my emotions into it…may be I lack the words to say what all music can do and has done to mould me into what I am.

      Yes I agree with you, my journey seemed to be incomplete without my favorite music in my car!

      Thanks for liking this post and expressing your valuable opinion. I love it!

  2. Hi Balroop,
    I’m not a huge fan of music unless it’s dance music with a great beat of classical music – sans words 🙂 But I do have an interesting thing that happens to me. I hear music in my head, it just happens to be there, and when I take note of it I notice that the lyrics of the song are bringing me a message. I find it odd that this is a way I connect with something larger than myself, when music is something I’m not a huge fan of, but there it is.

    I’m not a huge fan of music (I should explain) because I find it takes me emotionally along with it and not always to where I want to go. Perhaps it is the radio I’m not a fan of. You never know what the next song will be and how it will make you feel. Yes, more work is needed to learn to stabilize my energy but this is where I start.

    Lori

    1. Hi Lori,

      Welcome back! I can understand when you say you are not a huge fan…but I like that you can hear music, which just makes its presence felt!! That IS what I am trying to say! You don’t have to be a fan of music to feel it, it just enters our veins, just flows into us. Good music is that, which allures the listener, even when he/she is not paying any attention.

      You understand music intuitively, without even getting entangled into it, that’s why probably it carries you along, emotionally and it seems to try to resist it?

      I grew up listening to all kinds of music, radio was the only access I had when I learnt to appreciate and distinguish the melodies…now we are blessed that we have all these modern forms.

      Thank you for your visit and taking out time to add your perspective, I truly value it.

    1. Hi Denise,

      You are right, music has an unprecedented power…it can undoubtedly relax and move all our emotions.
      Thanks for standing by and expressing your view. I appreciate that.

  3. Hi Balroop,

    Lovely post indeed, and something I can so well relate to because I love music 🙂

    Yes, I do, and perhaps my Mom and Dad loved it and it was always playing at home, right from morning till the time we slept, it’s become a habit now to listen to music, though I don’t do that when I write or work, as then it distracts me.

    I love soft, instrumental, or the old soft numbers, English or Hindi, hardly matters, as long as it makes you sway and peps up your mood. It certainly makes me happier and more cheerful, and good old numbers always bring a smile to my face. Most of the numbers I know, so humming along is something that I love to do too!

    Music IS therapeutic, and just as you mentioned, it’s used to cure many diseases too. Sometimes I wonder what a life people would be leading, those who don’t like music at all, as I know a few – must be so dull! Not for me though, and I am glad my kids take up after me there, though they don’t like the old numbers like me, but the more trendy ones, but as long as it’s music, it’s alright.

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      I am glad that you liked this post! Music is so mesmerising to those who grow up with it and like you, I too was introduced to music very early. My dad was a big music lover and he wanted that I should learn it…he did initiate me into formal training but that got snatched away with his sudden demise at a very young age.

      You are right, if you love music, it definitely distracts and I often wonder how people work with music on…may be they tune off but I pay full attention to whatever I do as I can’t concentrate…yes I can, when I cook and I feel all the melodies merge into whatever I cook!

      I am so surprised to learn that there could be such people around us who don’t like music…I know the tastes differ but living without music is SO unimaginable!
      Thanks for the kind words Harleena…I love them! You too have a great week!

  4. Inspiring post Balroop. I must admit I treasure silence. I haven’t watched TV in over 2 years and while I do occasionally play music, it isn’t very often. Generally when I’m feeling hyper or just really happy about something – but it’s enough to understand and agree with your point about how music affects us. Thank you so much for this thoughtful read.

    1. Hi Marquita,

      Thanks for the encouragement, I appreciate it very much. I know silence is a big blessing and you have to train your mind accordingly. Were you always like this or this development set in slowly? I know I lot of people who don’t like to watch TV…I have also weaned myself quite a bit as movies seem so fake to me now but this has hit me slowly with age.

      However music has got some special power, it rejuvenates and heals me miraculously. I have felt its magic.
      Thanks for your perspective, it is very valuable for me.

  5. Hi Balroop,
    I was thinking about writing a post on music, and you have just done so.
    I like most types of music, although I do not care for rap or heavy metal.
    I love instrumental music and I find that soft piano music playing in the background heightens my creativity. It is also very soothing and is also useful for meditation.

    Kind Regards,
    Bill

    1. Hi Bill,

      I will look forward to your take on music, I know it will have your inimitable style of writing like a poet. I know instrumental music really heightens creativity…perhaps that is why we have so many different genres, to touch all those chords of human senses.

      I dislike rap…I wonder who thought of this mindless chatter! Sometimes it is so jarring that I detest it.
      Thanks for your kind visit, I value it so much!

  6. I like all kinds of music that goes with my mood. I love hearing my daughter sing. (She is doing thar right now in the other room!) Love her! It energizes me and sticks in my mind!

    1. Hi Jodi,

      I knew instinctively, that you love music…your lovely smiles convey that so well! Yes, moods do play their part! If your daughter can sing, I am sure she must have picked that up from you…I believe it runs in blood, it gets embedded in genes!

      Thanks Jodi, you brought smile to my face.

  7. You totally captured what music does for us. Sometimes I crank the music up and just dance around the house (to my children’s dismay ;-)) it feels so amazing. If I’m having a down day the right music can lift me up. I even use the love frequency mixed in music when I am doing my relaxations techniques. So healing.

  8. Hi Melissa,

    Welcome to my blog! Oh yes…you remind me of those get togethers we had, where the younger members of the family would raise the volume of music to dance away to glory!! and we also would be tempted to shake a leg! Yep…music really uplifts our moods and at the same time relaxes…all depends on its genre!

    Thanks for standing by and adding cheer to the discussion, it is greatly appreciated.

  9. Hi Balroop,

    I love music although I don’t get to listen to it as much as I use to. I can’t work and listen to it because even if there are no words it distracts me from my thinking.

    I will tell you though that I’m a big fan of American Idol and it’s mostly because I love the talent of these kids. This past season that just ended, a young 16 year old girl sang an Elvis Presley song. She played the piano and made it her own and it literally brought me to tears it was so beautiful. Music can definitely do that, just tug at your heart strings.

    The young man that won it had me on my feet dancing around I loved what he sang so much. Totally different types of music but I just find the joy in it. Yep, music is very therapeutic and can really touch your soul.

    ~Adrienne

    1. Hi Adrienne,

      I agree with you, good music distracts me too as I want to pay full attention to it. It is quite difficult to think and do serious writing with music.

      Oh yes! I love watching the kind of musical shows you have mentioned and those talented kids really win my heart too. More than that I enjoy classical tunes too. I am so glad to note that this post has attracted your attention in a special way, reminding you of the lighter moments of our days…they have their own role to add some relaxation, which is so essential!

      Thank you for expressing your opinion, I appreciate it.

Comments are closed.