Father’s Day Reflections…Were You There?

Slide1I think of you again today and all those assurances come crowding.

You promised to take care of me, you said you will love me and I believed you…what could a 12 year old girl do?

They said you are all pervading, omniscient.

They said you don’t discriminate.

I was told about your sagacity, your altruism.

Was I too young to perceive it?

Where were you when I wept alone, uncared?

Were you there to caress my locks and say all will be fine?

Did you hold my hand, like a father would, when I stumbled?

Were you there to smile with me when I tried to catch the butterflies?

Were you there to gaze at the stars with me and hold my hand?

Did you share my little joys of soaking in the rain, floating paper boats with me?

Did you walk down the aisle with me, to feel the pride of a daughter?

You didn’t and you know that.

All that sham of divine blessings was not enough.

They could not sink in…didn’t even reach me.

Why do you snatch away our loved ones… what kind of test is this?

Those words reverberate…you are kind, all-powerful!?

Is this your power?

You know it all, only your kindness could have done that!

All those moments when I prayed so hard, so sincerely…they are still etched in my mind…

Those moments when you didn’t care, when you didn’t take pity on me, when you couldn’t see how little I was to bear that loss, how tiny my sister was, how helpless and heartbroken we all were.

You too seemed to be powerless! But I looked up to you!

Am I too naïve to comprehend the power of Almighty?

But I know that a dad is irreplaceable…even YOU, the all powerful, could not fill that void.

I miss you dad. I could never celebrate Fathers’ Day.

If you have liked this natural flow of emotions, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by clicking on ‘follow’.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

 

10 thoughts on “Father’s Day Reflections…Were You There?

  1. Tomorrow is a day of contemplation and missing both my father and step father, Balroop! We hope you’re having an awesome weekend, our friend! 🙂

      1. Balroop, I am sorry you lost your Dad at such a young age. It must be a deep loss you never get over.

        I’m also sorry if you misunderstood my comment. I think I do understand the tone of your pain, and the resulting void. What I can’t relate to is which Father the onus belongs to. I was trying to share my empathy with the pain and void even though mine is connected with my earthly Father and not my heavenly Father.

  2. Oh! no, Denise, you don’t have to feel sorry! We understand and interpret the feelings of the other person in our own way. The questions which I have raised here have haunted me all my life and I must have asked a thousand times from the all powerful father…why does he become powerless in some cases.

    Thanks for coming back to clarify. Have a nice day, lets bury our hurts.

  3. Hi Balroop,

    I lost my father 11 years ago and I miss him every single day but I am thankful that I had him in my life through my mid 40’s. I know that a father’s absence, especially for a daughter, can sometimes be more trying. I know he’s in a better place but I sure miss his presence.

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem with us and I hope that your Father’s Day was a pleasant one anyway.

    ~Adrienne

    1. Hi Adrienne,

      I know it is such a blessing to have your dad around, it must be such a great feeling as we can always look up to him for all our happy and sad moments of life! Home is also a much happier and balanced place with father in it.

      Thank you SO much for being such a big support! I love your presence around…I can almost feel it with your words.

  4. So brave to be so raw on here. It was dripping with realness and I think so many people can relate and find solace that someone understands the pain. Life is just not fair, is it?

    1. Hi Jodi,

      Thanks for understanding the authenticity and the pain…some pangs never heal! Who says life is always fair? Some valleys are too deep to climb up.

      Thanks for standing by and saying a word of compassion.

Comments are closed.