Do You Know What Is Real Success?

Success Cover

Success!! The magic word that defines our dreams! The potion that intoxicates! The path that seems so tempting, so inspiring, yet so challenging! The chase that is ceaseless, exasperating at times, enlivens our lives the moment we accomplish our goals.

Real success – an enigma for some, conclusive for others.

The definition of real success changes with time and place. It also redesigns itself according to the limitations, the cultural nuances and interpretations.

THE QUESTION:

During my hours of brooding, I often contemplate about success. The question that reverberates around me is: why success eludes some people? While I try to explore the answers, my inner voice speaks eloquently:

Probably they lack focus; they don’t know their potential and are hazy about their goals. They don’t have that determination, that killer instinct to push ahead.

Often we try to relate to such situations and when I think about my potential, I get an affirmation from my conscience…I never had any doubts about that… but all other words swim around, making me a bit weak and I discover the answers to all those questions that have been perturbing me.

THE ANSWER AND THE PARADOX:

  • Did I focus on my goals?
  • Did I even recognize them as my real goals?
  • Did I possess the killer instinct?
  • Was I determined to succeed?
  • Was I unfortunate?
  • Is destiny the culprit?

I have talked about all these shortcomings and possibilities in my e-book:

When Success Eludes Us…A Step – by – Step Guide to Success, which has been launched on 21 July 2014 at Amazon.com

You can click on http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LZGEG6W to look inside. You can borrow it free if you are a kindle member! You are most welcome to write a review.

Successful people follow success despite all odds; they consider the obstacles as stepping-stones. They don’t change their priorities.

IS SUCCESS A PRIORITY?

I know success was never my priority. It never is for a girl child and in that part of the world I lived in, where we are conditioned to believe that higher studies don’t qualify us to be equal, it doesn’t give us all the privileges that women enjoy in liberated societies.

Whatever I achieved despite the societal beliefs and pressures I experienced, is no less than REAL success. The biggest credit for what I am today goes to my mother who refused to be cowed down by the beliefs of the society and let me go in for higher studies despite the limited resources at her disposal.

The pride that swells her heart and the happiness that shimmers on her face when she has been told that I have written my second book is inexplicable!

Have you accomplished your goals? Was success a priority for you? I would love to hear your views.

Sharing is caring. Please share your views and tweet this post. I look forward to the support of each one of my readers.

Thank you for your support. Your valuable comments are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

 

26 thoughts on “Do You Know What Is Real Success?

  1. **The pride that swells her heart and the happiness that shimmers on her face when she has been told that I have written my second book is inexplicable!**

    I see her face. Beautiful. xx

  2. Hi Balroop,

    Congratulations and celebrations 🙂

    This is indeed wonderful, and I can imagine the happiness on your mother’s face as you mentioned in those lines.

    The meaning of success would actually differ from person to person. For some it might just be achieving small things in a day, while for others it might be seeing their child do well in school, or getting a good ranked blog, but either ways bring happiness in our lives.

    Yes, those who lack success, lack the push or are lazy or not really focused to achieve their goals, or perhaps luck just doesn’t side with them even if they work hard – it could be any reason.

    I agree with you – successful people will fight their way through success and turn their failures to success by taking them as stepping stones and learn through it all.

    Wishing you the best with your book, and I’d surely check it out perhaps over the weekend.

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thanks for the encouragement and kind words. They mean a lot to me.
      You are right…success changes its definition with each person and place. It starts with little desires and minuscule achievements and it keeps growing slowly till we realise we are capable of all that we long for, if we put in some more effort. Yes, it may bring happiness but real success is far beyond all this!

      They say if you want to know the meaning of success, ask those who have failed…”a defeated soldier can give you a better description of success than the one who took the flag”, Emily Dickinson expresses this thought in her beautiful poem: Success is Counted Sweetest. It has always inspired me!

      Thanks for standing by and sharing lovely words. You too have a nice week.

  3. Ya know, I deeply and genuinely love all of your posts, Balroop. Sometime what you write hits me quite deeply and I’m not sure what to say. Or it sends my head spinning off into thought. Re: real success. I of course consider real success to be on a spiritual level within one’s self. Nothing on a material level. As I have reached the midway to being a centenarian I’ve pondered what things I really want to and need to prioritize with my healthy years. Yesterday is but a vision, tomorrow is only a dream, therefore today is all we have. Thank you for the introspection as always. Will your book be coming out in paperback?? If so I will purchase it immediately! 🙂

    1. Hi Mike,

      I am SO touched by your nice words…they mean the world to me! You have made my day by saying that you love my posts. I am so glad to know that I could touch your heart with my words. I highly recommend that you must read my poetry.

      What a philosophical comment you have written Mike! Very inspiring!
      I have no plans at present for the paperback edition of this book. If you want, I can send you the original manuscript and then probably you will write a review! Same with Sublime Shadows – I have a print edition with me to gift but it would be easier to email my poems. Whatever seems interesting or you can ask for both, it would be a pleasure to share them.

      Thanks for your continued support, greatly valued.

  4. Lovely Balrrop. I could see the face of your mum shining. She must be so proud and you must be so proud of you too.
    Success differs, depending on how we’ve been raised and which part of the world we are coming from, how our society defines success.
    For me success is being able to achieve what is important for us, to fight for what we believe in and don’t let anybody else decide what’s good or not for us.
    Success comes from all our victories, even the smallest ones. Success does not define who we are but it gives us confidence.
    We can even talk about success when we integrate our weaknesses, when we decide to love ourselves the way we are. This is success for me, far from money, power and glory.
    Looking forward reading your book.
    Stay blessed and keep writing.

    1. Hi Marie,

      Thanks for understanding my emotions so well. I agree with you, cultural and regional background plays a significant role in deciding our success and how far one can go in accomplishing it. For some, acquiring even the basic necessities of life and getting enrolled in elementary school is success.
      There is no doubt that success lies in keeping our beliefs and freedom intact, whatever the circumstances, it also is being happy with our thoughts and actions, in taking our own decisions.
      Successful people don’t realise that small little achievements of self-esteem also constitute success.
      Thank you for standing by to share your perspective. I am glad that you are thinking of reading my book.

  5. The idea of success has always driven me, but in the end, I spent a lot of time becoming successful at teaching when what I needed to be doing was focusing on writing. Now that I’m fully immersed in the writing world, my goals have changed as I’ve discovered the writer I am today is not the writer that I pictured myself becoming fifteen years go. Success often comes with learning to let go…

    1. Hi Jeri,

      This thought had never occurred to me that success can come with learning to let go. I realised it, though accidentally, when I gave up my teaching job. It proved to be a blessing in disguise for me and I was able to discover a new aspect of my own self! I got all the time in the world for myself, which was a dream come true and I can utilise this curve in my life so well!

      Thanks for sharing a lovely thought!

  6. Your mom sounds like a very strong woman Balroop! She’s given you that gift as well.
    For me success is being able to continue growing, healing, learning to be a better person. The rest falls into place.

    1. Thanks Denise, for paying attention to the little details of this post. I am glad that you have understood me so well.
      Yes, growing out of your past agonies and learning to move ahead is the biggest success we all crave for.
      I appreciate your visits and thoughtful comments. Thanks.

  7. What a sweet honoring of your mother! She must be totally thrilled! Many blessings on this new book. Hopefully things will calm soon and I can take a look for myself!

  8. That’s wonderful, Barloop. It’s so sweet that your mom is very proud and also she sounds like a strong woman! Writing and publishing a book is such a huge accomplishment! This is your second book! I’ve accomplished my goal of writing and publishing a book and it felt amazing. Now, I know I must work on my new goals to finish 2 novels I’ve been working on and a short story collection. I’ve decided today that I’ll have to put my blog on hiatus so I can use that time and energy to hopefully accomplish my goals. Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      Thanks for the kind words and I am so happy to know that you are working on your new books! I wish you great success with them – all goals can be accomplished if we are so focused. I would look forward to your novels.

      I appreciate your standing by and commenting and hope you will continue to grace our blogs with your presence while you take some time off for completing your books. That would provide a nice change too.

  9. Hi Balroop congrats on the release of your Book “Why Success…….It has given elaborate reasoning to come to the conclusion – Hardwork is not enough for success. In my opinion, it is very important to work SMART along with being politically correct.
    S. Specific
    M. Memorable
    A. Achievable
    R. Relevant
    T. Timebound
    This book is an excellent source of guidance on how to be successful

    1. Hi Kulwant,

      Welcome to my blog, I am so happy to see you here. Thanks for the wishes and an insightful perspective. It has brought a smile to my face!
      You are SO right! Hard work is never enough as smartness over shines all. Who can know it better than us ho have seen SMART people all around us!!

      Thanks for the appreciation, I love those words.

  10. hi Balroop, yes, as others have mentioned, success can be different for each person. And success can be different for the same person. At one point in my life after I attained my professional goals and got a great job, I thought I was successful. But then when I realized all the things that the job wasn’t giving me and that it didn’t align with my values in life, I thought success was over-rated 🙂 So, I made some changes in life to tune in to what mattered to me most and in that I find happiness. Is that success or not, I’m not sure.

    I’m really looking forward to reading your thoughts on this topic further. I was looking for a purchase link but looks like it’s not made available to us here in Asia. I insist on buying it – is there a way to do so:) ?

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      You are right, the meaning of success changes many times if our success is not serving its main purpose – happiness and contentment. I am so glad that you were brave enough to quit your successful job to follow your heart!

      Thanks for showing interest in my book. I am so glad to know that you would like to read it. I have selected world-wide rights column while publishing the book. According to this, it should be available all over the world. In case you are unable to access it, I can email the original copy to you.

      Thanks for adding your view to the discussion, it is greatly valued.

  11. I loved this article, Balroop. In the last 18 minutes I have shifted my perspectives from those centric to material success (at least as defined by our societies) to living lives focused on meaning and greater significance. I’m certainly not anti-success, in fact I applaud it. But what follows success? 🙂

    1. Hi Eric,

      Thanks for your kind words.I am glad my words could influence your perspective. Material success may be essential to sustain us but that seems to be quite insignificant to those who have plenty of it.
      You have shot a very challenging and thought provoking question! I must write another article to answer this! Thanks for standing by to join this discussion.

Comments are closed.