6 Emotions That Can Guide Us Towards Success!

Success and emotions

The corridors of success are illuminated by our emotions but their role is often underestimated.

Do you know which emotions stimulate us towards success?

You have often met them but never paid much attention.

Albert Einstein’s advice is so relevant even today – “Try not to become a man of success. Rather become a man of value.”

A man of value is guided more by emotions; he knows he will meet them on the way up the ladder of success. His journey may be slow and arduous but the outcome is always more fulfilling.

Real success is determined by these emotions:

#Happiness:

Happiness may lie within, as most people say but it begins with those moments of realization when we discover our passion, our goal and our path to that horizon, which we want to reach. The moment we recognize what is good for us, what gives us more happiness, that is the moment of great achievement. Look for that moment. The sooner you discover it, the better it would be for your success.

#Hope:

Hope is that bird, which keeps humming into our ears that the success we seek, is attainable. It keeps reminding us that with perseverance and determination, we can overcome all those hurdles, which may scuttle our success. It endows us with extra energy to meet all those challenges, which may seem insurmountable; it unravels that luminous path, which enlightens all the dark alleys of our mind.

#Desire:

Desire lies dormant in our hearts; slowly it keeps getting stronger and ignites the will to be like our role models. It impels us to have faith in our capabilities; it pushes us to follow our passion. It is the desire to come up to the expectations of our parents and teachers, the desire to do as well as our peers and siblings, which makes us strive to go up the ladder of success.

#Fear:

It is the fear of failure that keeps us motivated. Fear may be a negative emotion but the boost that it provides to our instincts is definitely positive. Tell yourself…what if I fail? That would NOT be the end of life. I can always start again. What if there is competition? We can only excel if there are some challenges before us. This life is so boring without them.

#Trust:

It is the trust in those wonderful people, our first emotional anchors, our parents, siblings and friends that cements our confidence in our pursuit of success. Their valuable support reassures us that we are on the right track. If we share our dreams, worries and plans with them, they feel pleasure in guiding us emotionally as well as financially. “I’m a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn’t have the heart to let him down.”—Abraham Lincoln

#Patience:

No successful man could reach his goal in a day. It took him hours of uninterrupted work, days of planning ahead, months of slogging and years of persistent effort to become successful. Nobody can jump the bars of a ladder and reach the top. You have to climb up slowly and steadily, with patience and faith in your ability to persevere.

There is a very thin line between emotions and ethics. If we possess the capability to work sincerely, if we can maintain that much needed harmony between values and emotions, we can fulfill all our dreams of success.

If we are passionate about those dreams, if we get emotionally charged to get the results, if we possess that killer instinct, that confidence, which develops slowly; success has to bow before us!

Are you emotionally related to success? What does success mean to you? I would love to hear from you.

You can read more about success in my book. Just click on http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LZGEG6W

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by entering your email.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “6 Emotions That Can Guide Us Towards Success!

  1. I like your perspectives on this subject, Balroop! But Einstein and the quote of his that you included, have my attention and heart. 🙂 For me, and I recognize this is one person’s view, the goal is not success. It is, as Einstein advocates, about value. And meaning (my addition). They are different than success thought not mutually exclusive.

    Each of us is on our own unique journey. What matters to us and how we choose to channel our time and energy is individual. Some seek and will pursue success and in those cases, your words will resonate. Others may have different emotional connections and aspirations.

    As always, a good, thought-provoking post. Thank you!

    1. Hi Eric,

      Thanks for noticing that quote and thinking differently about it. I knew it! I thought about replacing it twice but then I wanted to focus on my perspective, more than those who don’t pay much attention to means and just push on towards their goals. Values are often thrown to the winds while we gallop towards success, some even leap the bars and knock others down, without even bothering to look back what they are losing. My book talks about these issues in detail.

      ‘A man of value’ may not meet the success that he dreams of but his real success lies in keeping his principles and beliefs intact. I agree each journey is unique but time tested emotions and ethics never change.

      Thanks for sharing your wisdom, I value it immensely.

  2. Fear has been both a motivator and a detractor for me over the past couple of months. I loved this part under Trust, “It is the trust in those wonderful people, our first emotional anchors, our parents, siblings and friends that cements our confidence in our pursuit of success…” Guess who is coming in to town tomorrow so we can have a long talk and try to right the ship in some areas for me? My aunt! 🙂

    1. Hi Mike,

      This aunt seems to hold a special place in your heart. I hope your next post would be about meeting her and sharing another hearty meal with her. Looking forward to meeting her through your words and pictures!

      Thanks for the visit! I can very well understand your fears and trust but their role is more significant when we are passing through difficult times. They are our biggest teachers! Stay blessed!

  3. Despite circumstances to the contrary in my younger life, I have somehow managed to always cultivate a hopeful attitude. It’s probably my best asset, though I try to work really hard on a couple of other emotions like fear and trust that often can get the best of me.

    1. Hi Jeri,

      Hopeful attitude unleashes the power within us, I love this emotion. Here is an extract from one of my poems:
      Hope is the moonlight filtering through the trees,
      Hope is the silent prayer that we make in distress,
      Hope is the promise that we make to ourselves,
      Hope is the happiness that we visualize,
      Hope is the horizon that we reach, if we try!

  4. Hi Balroop,

    Lovely post, as always 🙂

    What a coincidence that even we shared a post on success yesterday on our blog, and yours too is related to it !

    You are right…success means different things to different people. For some it might just be a feeling of happiness on achieving what they wanted, while for others it might be learning from their failures or overcoming the hurdles of life.

    I liked your take on the various emotions, and I think we can all so well relate to them as they are part of our lives too. Success for me would mean just a simple happy feeling on being able to take one step forward to do any small thing in life….or seeing and learning something new. Living each moment and being here is an achievement, and a way of being successful at coming this far too, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

  5. Hi Harleena,

    This post has been waiting for almost two months as I thought I could use it when my book goes online and so it saw the light of the day today!

    I have talked about more emotions in my book and I know we can relate to all those because most of our life is influenced by emotions. Where would we be without them?
    Real success for me is being myself, living according to my wishes and desires, taking my own decisions and adding some value to life.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, appreciated as always. You too have a nice week.

  6. Interesting perspective and post Balroop. I agree that emotions are strong factors in our lives, and using them consciously can help us move in directions we value.

    I would like to see love as one, if not the most important, feeling/ energy to develop. 🙂 Great reminder that fear can serve us too.
    blessings, Brad

  7. Hi Brad,

    I have seen love as a great hindrance to success. Love often pulls us back, is too demanding and expects too much! While I am looking at the negative role of love, it can contribute positively if it is selfless love but in reality how many of us actually can develop this emotion to that sublime level?

    Thanks for sharing your view, greatly valued!

  8. I can’t agree more with you Balroop. I am reading your book right now and I have to say, this gives me the boost I needed so much to make one step towards what I wish to realize, what I wish to achieve.
    Keep writing and inspiring us!!

    1. Hi Marie,

      Thanks for being such a big support. I am glad you are enjoying my book and feeling inspired to catch that enigmatic moment when we can say: yes! I have done what I aspired!
      I hope and wish you meet all those successful moments that you have dreamt about.

Comments are closed.