Spiritual Awakening – Why ‘Spirituality’ Seems A Scary Word?

SpiritualityOne of my friends, who must have read my ‘One Year Journey’ advised me: ‘Keep blogging but remain as bubbly as ever. Don’t become spiritual.’

Her observation set me thinking.

Do I sound spiritual? I have never consciously tried to be one!

I may have liked those who believe in spiritualism. I could have even mentioned them as my friends but becoming spiritual is a far-fetched thought.

Do we pick up spiritualism just like a new box of cookies?

While pondering over the comment of my friend, my thoughts veered towards understanding this term and why it seems to be scary to some.

Why shouldn’t I become spiritual? Does it take all those little joys out of our life?

I know spirituality is actually associated with our psychological growth. Isn’t that natural?

I also know that it is an accomplishment as…

  • It leads us to emotional maturity and a deeper understanding of self.
  • It acquaints us with the darker aspects of our personality.
  • We can recognize the emotions that weaken us.
  • We develop the ability to embrace pain.
  • We learn to bridge the gap between pain and pleasure.
  • We cultivate the resilience to face inner demons, which we flee from.
  • We become sensitive to disparities around us.

Spiritual awakening:

It dawns very slowly; sometimes it astonishes us with its presence in some unknown crevice of our heart.

When we start discarding negative thoughts, when we begin to understand the feelings and emotions of people around us, when we adapt to changes without any grunts, when we adopt a positive approach to life, when self-healing becomes our goal – we may be gearing towards spiritualism.

Spiritual Awakening

Spirituality, as we know today has detached itself from religion and centers around values and humanistic ideas. It concentrates on personal wellbeing and inner peace.

It emphasizes on meditation, mindfulness, tolerance and ethics.

Yes, it matures us; it keeps us grounded but it doesn’t compel us to become another Buddha or his follower.

We can still run into the welcoming arms of rain whenever we feel the urge.

The pleasure of wading into the waves doesn’t lessen.

The glow of moon appears as mesmerizing as ever.

The bubbly aspect of our personality may not hit the surface but it remains intact!

“Spirituality can release blocks, lead you to ideas and make your life artful.” – Julia Cameron.

Are you spiritual?

Many of us don’t realize when spiritual awakening sends vibes of positivity. We may still be in deep slumber. I didn’t know my leanings till my dear friend noticed and coerced me towards introspection.

  1. Awareness:

When spiritual awakening hits, you feel something is different around you. It may take some time to really understand why you find peace in giving, why you condone the little irks that provoked you earlier and why compassion is inching closer.

  1. You feel a light within you:

You become your own counselor as you can understand and experience the emotional changes in your heart. You are willing to accept those changes. Often you find yourself talking to yourself and feel a craving to forget and forgive all that has been bothering you.

  1. You feel detached:

Attachments no longer clasp you; the drift begins slowly and you can comprehend that all relationships are hollow, phony and transient. You find immense solace in detachment. The pleasure of solitude becomes sweeter and more fulfilling.

  1. You feel connected with Nature:

Your relationship with your surroundings inspire you to breathe deeply, to gaze at the sky and reach that horizon, which shines with the brightest light, you start getting answers to all your questions, you know how to calm human ego. The tranquility of Nature seeps into your spirit.

  1. You feel in consonance with your emotions:

Distress, annoyance, disappointment and all such discomforting emotions merge into the harmony of thoughts. You feel free, floating like clouds, blending in the unknown blue. Your inner voice becomes stronger; you start listening to it with greater confidence.

Let me remind my dear friend that I am not becoming spiritual but I am not scared of learning more about it. If spirituality brings me closer to peace of mind and eternal happiness, I would like to explore it further. To say it in the words of John Bradshaw, “The spiritual quest is not some added benefit to our life, something you embark on if you have the time and inclination. We are spiritual beings on an earthly journey. Our spirituality makes up our beingness.”

Do you believe we are spiritual beings? Has spiritual awakening ever nudged you? Do you struggle with your emotions? I would love to hear your views.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by clicking on ‘follow.’

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Spiritual Awakening – Why ‘Spirituality’ Seems A Scary Word?

  1. Hi Balroop,

    Beautifully written, as always 🙂

    I don’t blame your friend because you are a little spiritual, more than most of us, and I think that’s a big accomplishment – it’s like you have risen above us 🙂

    Yes, blogging is easier as you share or write your thoughts, but the inner feelings and all that you go through, as you mentioned, besides the personal growth only happens over time and very few have the power of words to convey it all so well.

    I think being spiritual happens with time and experience, and all that life teaches you or what all you might have gone through your life. I think perhaps my husband is more spiritual than me, though I keep bringing him down to add a little more spice to life – often saying that you have many years to become spiritual…lol….

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thanks for such appreciative words, I am so pleased to hear that they can touch you in a meaningful manner. You are so right in saying that the experiences of life take us far into understanding people and see through them. Each moment, each person we meet, each situation, negative or positive adds to our personal development unawares. When we look back and try to analyse, we are able to discern more than we could, at that moment.

      Yes, it is good to keep the spice shaken up otherwise people pass us off as monotonous and boring! Thanks for sharing your perspective, greatly appreciated! Have a blessed week!

  2. How beautiful, Balroop. Lucky for us (your readers) you are a spiritual person. I don’t see that spirituality and bubbly should not coexist. I have faced turmoil that has made me eventually become more spiritually aware in the way of self healing. One of the ways I did this was take up yoga. That said, I would like to work on the forgiveness aspect of spirituality!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      I share your view…a healthy personal growth calls for both the aspects of our personality – understanding people well, learning from experiences and remaining true to yourself, without changing the real traits!

      I am bowled over by the compliments of having a spiritual leanings…I have never actually thought on these lines!

      I am glad Lisa, that you have been making conscious efforts to become spiritually aware in the process of healing. Yes, forgiveness is a big boulder but I have tried hard to move it out of my way. Once we succeed in that, we find ourselves at a different pedestal.

      Thanks for expressing your opinion so honestly. Love that!

  3. Interesting discussion here, Balroop about spirituality and why we run from it. I think the word is very difficult for some. See, if you asked someone if they believed in living an authentic life, in touch with themselves and nature and in tune with their truth, almost everyone would say absolutely yes! If you say instead, are you a spiritual person, people might say, ‘absolutely not!’ SOme have associated spirituality with whacky beliefs, cults, Woodstock, hipppie life lol or religion. So, I don’t think it’s the concept that people are as afraid of as maybe the word.

    I am a spiritual person (in the most hippie-ish and religious context and in the most extreme sense of the word) I do find inspiration in nature but also see the soul of the world reflected in people, places and things. I spent time within and find spiritual people to be a bright light that I’m drawn to:)

    I’m not saying you’re spiritual lol but if you bring happiness to others (and to yourself) and find peace within, that’s a great place to be!

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      People have their own definitions of spirituality, some of them may be scary but I totally agree with you…feeling happy with yourself and understanding what it is, finding peace and harmony around you really makes us shine within…and that is more than enough!

      I am not scary of this level, I have tried hard to reach it, made great efforts to detach myself from over-attachments and trying to figure out why some people are so insensitive or just put up a facade.

      Thank you for adding so much value to this discussion with your wisdom – always welcomed.

  4. i wonder if maybe she confused spirituality with religion. to me spirituality is a big part of who I am and how I became the person that i am so far. i read a lot of positive powerful ingredients in your description of spirituality. of course she could have just meant to avoid zelatry. being a zelet isn’t just something that happens to religious people. or at least i don’t think so. I wish you all the best on your life’s path, Max

  5. Hi Max,

    Thanks for such kind words, I am so glad to know that you could pick up some positivity from my description. I agree with your understanding of spirituality – it is definitely more connected with our own self and how we develop our inner self. I believe it is very much in our own hands to add positive energy to our thoughts and emotions.

    Thanks for standing by and adding your insight, it is greatly appreciated. Stay blessed!

  6. I agree with you. I myself don’t prefer using the term ‘spirituality’ although I know that by thinking deeply about my feelings, I’m basically applying spirituality in my life. Maybe that’s because people either get scared or ridicule you when you (especially as a teen) talk about being spiritual. Besides, for me it can also be because I’m not applying all the principles of spirituality, nor do I intend to apply them at this stage, and so being wholly spiritual seems overwhelming to me.

    1. Hi Atiba,

      You are right…understanding spirituality depends on one’s perspective but there is no age for it. Gandhiji said spiritual training should begin with vocational training. I could never comprehend the reasons till I realised being spiritual is connected more with our inner self, our own happiness and embellishing our social and emotional skills!

      Thanks for your valuable comment, always appreciated.

      1. You are welcome. I totally agree with you. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.
        By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster award, I commented that on your about page, so maybe you missed it. Do check it out and let me know when you are done! 🙂

  7. As a spiritual entity having a physical experience, how can I not be spiritual? I wouldn’t know how to “be” without spirituality.

    Once I read about theories addressing the location of our souls. The “very spiritual” author shared an insight given to him: Your soul is not buried deep within; it surrounds your whole body.

    When I think about sharing about my spirituality, I am reminded not to be preachy. I know it’s possible to be spiritual without talking down to people. You see, I have people like you, Balroop, to show the way.

    1. Hi Amy,

      I like the way you weave your thoughts into captivating sentences! ‘How to be’ without spirituality comes only if we learn the real meaning, the import and nuance of living a meaningful life. Of course there are various definitions to that and people live the way they want to, that’s why preaching becomes such a detested word.

      What a fulfilling thought that soul encompasses the whole body! Thanks for your spiritual comment, love it. Thanks once again for your kind words.

  8. Dear Balroop – a little “housekeeping” item re your blog’s link. Did you know that the link that appears when you leave a comment on my blog is not complete; therefore, when I clicked on it, it doesn’t work? I hope it doesn’t discourage other people from taking the time to “find” you.

  9. What an interesting exploration, Balroop. This very thought has just been on my mind. What if I were to use the word “spiritual” to describe my writing? Who would be scared off. I fully resonate with the qualities you define as spiritual. And, I’d like to uncover my Buddha nature too!

    1. Hi Sandra,

      May I confess your spiritual thoughts have had a profound impact on me? I must have said this a number of times and I have no hesitation in repeating how much I have grown since I started blogging. I have started analysing, introspecting and understanding my real self, which was probably obscure to me.

      I am not scared, I have mentioned this word with reference to my friend who doesn’t want me to become spiritual. Thanks for adding your expert insight to the discussion. It has added so much value to this post.

  10. I am delighted to have discovered your site today Balroop. If I may say so, you write with eloquence, clarity and great insight. It will be an honour and a privilege for me to read and learn more from your writings over the coming months.

    With warm regards.

    Hariod.

    1. Hi Hariod,

      I am SO humbled by your visit! To tell you the truth, I was a bit intimidated by the mature and spiritual tone of your site…with just a hand, couldn’t follow the symbolism… and so was actually double minded to hit follow and then I thought, I must…as I felt some connection. Thank you so much for such appreciative words, they mean a lot to me!

      I too look forward to visit you and dive into those fantastic thoughts you share.

      1. Many thanks for your delightful and friendly response Balroop; I greatly appreciate it. I am both pleased and intrigued that you felt some connection to my words. When I read this article of yours I too had a feeling of familiarity with the way you were expressing your thoughts and insights, which I must say, is a rare occurrence for me.

        With warm regards once again.

        Hariod.

Comments are closed.