Why I Walked Away…

Slide1

Smooth silvery clouds of
Myriad shapes, shifting, forming
Moving, mesmerizing, merging
Into the azure blue

A new moon peeping
Smiling softly, promising
Pleasant days, a dove looking up
Contemplating…inspiring

A bird of hope soared
Eyes closed, a light lured me
Into familiar manors
A plethora of thoughts…

Flowed freely, followed by
Exiled emotions
All the connections resurfaced
All those forgotten images…

Dark, shifty shudders of cultural tones
Each one repressive, coercive
Negative… to be nudged aside
Deep chasms… to be filled

But I walked away, disregarding all
Past could never shackle me
Thoughts could never subjugate
The path of positive power

Could murderous monsters threaten?
Could they shake self-faith?
New moon beckoned
And I walked away!
Copyright:
BALROOP SINGH

You can click on http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EBLWR0A to read more such poems.
If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by clicking on ‘follow’.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

26 thoughts on “Why I Walked Away…

  1. Beautiful poem, Balroop. A poem of home amidst dark times. When there is hope, anything is possible for us and we realise our full potential. I guess that’s why it’s called the power of positive power. I love that quote by Rumi, thank you for sharing that. Nature may indeed be beautiful with sights that make us stop, stand still and watch. But each of us is unique in our own way too – and it is difference that makes the world a more interesting place.

    1. Hi Mabel,

      You are right! Hope and positivity can take us far…as far as we aspire! All boundaries cease to exist if our heart is filled with the hope of reaching the stars. I too love the quotes of Rumi and this one is so beautiful…it infuses so much of energy into us!

      Thank you for understanding it so well…from light to darkness and into light again…vanquishing all the demons that try to overpower us. Only we can do that…with that unique power we can unleash! Yep!! Love your insights, dear friend. 🙂

  2. Hi Balroop,

    Beautiful indeed 🙂

    One can get lost in your words, and when it’s poetry, all the more as you go so deep. And yes, you need to move past those dark clouds and see the positive ahead, that is the power we all need, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thank you for those lovely words of appreciation. You made my day!

      We need constant reminders and inspiration to keep treading the path of positivity. Darkness eases itself if we keep appreciating the light within us.

      Thanks for being such a support! 🙂 Stay blessed!

  3. There’s so much I love about this poem, Balroop. I read it over a few times to absorb your words. I’m a moon lover so I relate to the moon asking questions in the deep, dark night. Your strength is revealed and very inspiring with these last lines;
    “Could murderous monsters threaten?
    Could they shake self-faith?
    New moon beckoned
    And I walked away!” You walked away! YES! ❤

    1. Hi Lisa,

      Thank you so much for loving the light and the hope, which is the epicenter of this poem. I love the choice of your words to express your thoughts. You are awesome!

      Yes, we must know when to walk away in any relationship whether it is our friend, sibling or partner.
      Stay blessed!

  4. The imagery of the silvery moonlight beckoning you toward more positive thoughts and powers is striking indeed. This is the type of poem that invites multiple readings and is a joy to read each time since some new connection will reveal itself to the reader.

    1. Thank you Jeri, your perspective adds a new light and immense value to my words. Actually this poem was penned when my thoughts were ebbing down and I was looking at the new moon, trying to get out of a hurtful situation. I was myself astounded at the flow of words!

  5. You write beautiful poems dear Balroop…
    My favorite verses here are:
    ¨But I walked away, disregarding all
    Past could never shackle me¨…
    Very inspirational message. Thank you for sharing!
    All my best wishes to you. Aquileana 😀

  6. hi Balroop – it’s hard to walk away but the other choice is stand there and struggle with our past and our emotions. NOt only is walking away a good idea but regularly walking away (turning walking away into a practice) is an even better idea. I enjoyed this one along with all the other poems you share with us.

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      You are right…standing and watching if your heart is full of anguish, if the struggle is failing your efforts is quite preposterous. Wisdom hits us at such occasions and we need to heed that call.
      Thanks for endorsing walking away and liking my poems. Your views are greatly valued. 🙂

  7. This was hauntingly powerful and beautiful. This was one I would read and re-read. Thanks for this blessing and also, your kind comments on Christy’s blog to my own thoughts about being a single mother who overcame obstacles. Not such as serious as others, but still something to be proud of… Hugs, Robin

    1. Hi Robin,

      It is so nice to connect with you. Thanks for the visit to my blog and I welcome you most warmly.
      I am so glad that you have found this poem powerful, that it possesses the potential to evoke more than one reading. Wow! I am feeling good. Returning the hugs, Balroop.

  8. Balroop, I have tip my hat to this incredible piece of work… “Past could never shackle me, Thoughts could never subjugate…” the strength in your words along with this great cadence of the poem is still dancing in my head. A perfect poem to end the night with. Thank you…

    1. Thanks dear friend, your words have warmed my heart and inspired me to go further into the realms of verse…my favorite form of writing. 🙂

Comments are closed.