The Secret Of Being Alive

Self-healing

Torrential thoughts stir the ghosts of past
Throttling pain feeds on grisly graves
Pushing past away, I continue to thrive
In the rhythm of throbbing life

Life that seems scrupulously seamless
Having sustained stormy waves
Craves for calm waters and sunshine
Nurturing the hope… clouds would subside

Swaying droplets of indifferent love
Stand sprinkled all around
The charade of connection continues
Evoking detest, dissent and disenchantment
 
Sharp shards of shattered emotions
Pierce as I try to gather those sensations
Wilderness walks with me
Yet a dim, discrete light beckons…

Rise from those dumps of depression!
Bury those personal regrets deep inside!
Focus on self-healing, self-love
Only trust can keep you alive.

Minuscule moments of hope awning around
Floating like bubbles but burst without a sound
Duress of living with mixed thoughts
Flying on the wings of optimism I thrive!
© Balroop Singh.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

22 thoughts on “The Secret Of Being Alive

  1. Hi Balroop,

    Simple awesome….you are so poetic 🙂

    Loved these lines…

    Rise from those dumps of depression!
    Bury those personal regrets deep inside!
    Focus on self-healing, self-love
    Only trust can keep you alive.

    Nothing works better than leaving the past and moving on, there is no other way to move ahead.

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thanks for the encouraging words, they keep the creativity alive!
      Yes moving on, forgetting the past is the only way…that is life! You too have a nice week 🙂

  2. Another amazing poem from you, Balroop. Reading it, I was taken on an adventure, an adventure that starts off treacherous and challenging but it turns out to be one where you see light at the end of the tunnel. Love your use of the rhyming and alliteration again – wonderfully done.

    Hope is such a powerful feeling and emotion. With hope, anything is possible. But often it’s hard to stay positive when the world feels like it’s crashing down around you. Focusing on love and not giving up as you mentioned can certainly carry us through the hard times. Where there is a will, there is a way. Where there is love, there is hope. And when there’s hope, the world is at our feet.

    Thank you for such a stimulating and invigorating poem. Well done 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      Your feedback, as always is loaded with a lot of thoughts and emotions. Thank you for pondering over the post and devoting extra time to write such beautiful words.

      I have always felt exactly the way you have described the adventure, the only difference being the life that exposes us to such tumultuous paths that often confuse but a determined person emerges stronger, with the urge to approach that light you speak about.

      Yes, only hope can keep us going! Thanks for discerning the true meaning and analysing it so well 🙂

    1. Thank you Raj…trying to emulate the robust optimism of Browning but couldn’t even approach his ‘B’ and have to go back to ‘a’ 🙂

  3. Your words are simply beautiful Balroop. I like the way you allow each one to dance with the other ones. It creates a really nice poem, full of hope and love for life. Being alive is precious.

    1. Hi Marie,

      Thank you for such a lovely appreciation, I love that word ‘dance’ and I am so happy that my words can convey that feeling!
      Yes, I think it is a blessing we often overlook.

  4. This is full of optimism…how to be ALIVE. “Miniscule moments of hope…burst without a sound” love that. Moments do burst without a sound! I will think of this today: “Only trust can keep you alive.”

    Thank you for this treasure, Balroop!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      When I wrote these lines in a pensive mood, they smacked of pessimism and I didn’t like them, wondering how did they flow out! I didn’t even have a heading for them. So I tried to make them positive and then it struck me – the title! And I love it now!

      I am so pleased that you call it a ‘treasure.’ Thank you SO much 🙂

  5. Such an uplifting and beautifully penned poem. Thanks for spreading your light and wisdom Balroop!. ⭐ Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀

  6. So many great lines, but “only trust can keep you alive” really speaks to me. I know this, and even though my trust has been trashed, somehow I still want to trust again. I know it’s what will get me through this topsy-turvy life more than anything else.

    1. Yes Jeri, trust has a strange, mute power. It reinforces itself effortlessly…probably it is built in our DNA and I like the strength and the resilience that it provides us. Many storms are navigated through optimism and trust. Thanks for sharing your view, much appreciated. 🙂

  7. Beautiful poetry! I like the part about trust keeping you ‘alive’ as it really can bring back motivation into one’s life. Trust, so important! I’m glad to read your newest poem today, my friend 🙂

  8. Wonderfully written, it inspires and it forces me to think deep within. The power of words counts on us, emotions have such power that can move the entire society not just one human being…thoughts, life and love.
    😀

    1. Thanks Nihar, for such a profound analysis. You understand emotions and the secrets of life so well…it is often missing in the case of persons who are technically inclined. Stay blessed with all the virtues and happiness, dear friend! 🙂

Comments are closed.