Emotional Realities Of Life

Emotional Realities Of Life

I have just returned from a wonderful retreat, some lovely emotional moments with my niece who graduated this month, spent some superb days of togetherness with my younger daughter and then soaked in the leisurely hours in the charmingly captivating home of my nephew whose warm welcoming vibes keep the emotional bonds alive.

These few days were a living dream, a lifetime of bonding and love, which reminds us how beautiful life is!

‘Life is but a dream…’almost everyday I sing this rhyme with my little grand daughter.

Now that she is so observant and pertinent with her questions, she says: what is a dream grandma?

I keep singing, moving the little boat in my hand more vigorously to distract her but her question gets more persistent.

I realize how inarticulate I am! How do I define a dream to a two-year-old child?

As I search for the right words, another question crops up…why is it a dream, grandma!

All the analogies that are associated with life swiftly cross my mind but none is simple enough to answer an innocent question, which ignites various thoughts.

An idea strikes me instantly. I must write about it!

Life has been compared to the glowing sun as well as the moon, it has been equated with flowing water, it can be darker than the threatening clouds, it can be as colorful as the rainbow but it can never be the same.

The transient nature of life makes it real. The emotional attachments make it worth living.

Despite stormy tribulations, we all love life.

There was a time when life was very dear to me. Attachments were deeper, emotions more intense and the worries most prominent. Mental ease – a far cry!

When I was told that I wouldn’t live a long life, my only worry was my children especially the younger one who was just a little baby. What will they do without a mother…who will take care of them…I approached a dear sibling and got a promise that she would take care of my little baby.

And then the prophecy became almost true!

When I was face to face with death, strangely my mind was numb. It couldn’t think beyond the present moment. The only thought that crossed my mind at that minuscule moment was…it’s all over!

The next moment I found myself alive! I was wonderstruck at the miraculous escape I had! I thanked my stars, my God, whom I was always questioning, whose existence I always doubted, who stepped forward to carry me like flower petals and return to my dear ones!

Then there were many such moments when I told myself – I want to live, I have unfulfilled tasks.

I am happy I could complete all of them.

Life flew by. I know I have lived a happy and fulfilling life.

Was it a dream? I try to probe deeper – probably it refers to ‘letting go,’ the so-called philosophical interpretation.

However, a self-enforced detachment keeps nudging me and reminding me… ‘Life is but an illusion.’

Life is beautiful

I often wonder…is it true? How can life be an illusion when we live it, savoring each moment, directing it according to our own wishes?

Then I look up the meaning of the word – illusion… ‘something that deceives by producing a false or misleading impression of reality.’…‘a false mental image produced by misinterpretation of things that actually exist.’

And I analyze it further…life doesn’t deceive. People do, circumstances may be such that we feel betrayed, our own efforts cause disappointments but we refuse to own the responsibility for all this.

We pass on the buck to life, saying ‘it is unfair.’

Life is beautiful, it is worth living, and it is very much real if we approach it with a positive mind.

If you want to fathom the beauty of life, look at a newborn child.

If you want to understand how meaningful and playful life can be, learn it from a child. Now I can truly appreciate the observation of Wordsworth: ‘Child is the father of man.’

If you want to distinguish between the reality and dreams, ask an adolescent.

If you want to savor life, get connected with your emotional ties.

Emotions rule us however hard we may try to rebuff them.

Realities of life hit us after we have lived our dreams, accomplished them or failed them.

Sometimes I feel detachment is an illusion, a self-created snare we want to walk into unwillingly.

Life is a choice for some and a burden for others, it promises hope if we are ready to wait, it offers opportunities if we approach it with an open mind.

It is a mystery if we have the patience to explore it.

“What is life but the angle of vision? A man is measured by the angle at which he looks at objects. What is life but what a man is thinking of all day? This is his fate and his employer. Knowing is the measure of the man. By how much we know, so much we are.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson

What are the emotional realities of your life? Do they add some sunshine to your life? I would love to hear your views.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh

28 thoughts on “Emotional Realities Of Life

  1. Hi Balroop,

    Welcome back! You were missed indeed 🙂

    Is that you in the top picture? Love the backdrop and it seems like such a lovely change for you. I am so glad you took a little break, and must be feeling so rejuvenated now 🙂

    I can understand what you meant about near death experience and coming back to life again, something that I went through too when I had my accident 3 years back – it was as if He willed that I live. Perhaps so much was still undone, and I think there was someone there, my guardian angel, who pulled me out of that accident. So, yes, we need to treasure life’s little moments and live each day to it’s fullest – no two ways about it.

    Thanks for sharing, and have a nice week ahead. You returned, and here I’m taking a little blogging break, to work though, so we meet once I’m back to the blogosphere with more surprises. Till then, take care 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Yes that’s me in the picture, looking at the sunset, one of my favorite scenes of Mother Nature, which endows us with enchanting moments of joy. I find this picture symbolic of emotional realities, many of which can be savored just by looking at the ducks, the merging hues and our connection with the natural elements.

      These little moments make life beautiful, especially when they are spent in the company of our loved ones. Thanks for sharing your view and wish you a rewarding blogging break. 🙂

  2. Welcome back, Balroop. Very nice to hear you enjoyed your short getaway and enjoyed the simple yet finest things in life. Always good to get away, rest and recharge and look at life with a level head. As Harleena asked, is that you in the photo? 🙂

    “Life is but an illusion.” Interesting way to put it. Sometimes, there are things in life that seem too good to be true, and others, too bad to even believe it’s happening right in front of our eyes. In either case, I reckon it’s our mind that is playing illusions on us…the mind is one thing, and the heart is another altogether. Sometimes, it’s best to follow our heart in life and do what makes us happy keeping in mind there is such a thing called reality.

    Emotional realities in my life? Currently it’s probably writing my book. It’s bittersweet. On one hand, I feel totally lost writing my book but on the other, I know that I’m one step closer to making the dream becoming a reality.

    Lovely post as always 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I didn’t realise that this picture in which I am looking at the beautiful hues of setting sun would turn out to be symbolic of a number of emotions that can be understood by a Nature loving emotional person. Later when I looked at this picture, a host of emotions swarmed over, even the ducks lend an emotional beauty to it.

      Yes, life is an amalgamation of illusions and reality…we pick up whatever suits us according to the occasion. The illusions have so much to offer and dreams awaken us to grab those fleeting moments, which can be transformed into reality!

      I am so glad that you are so close to completing your book. I wish you all the success in this venture. 🙂 Much love.

      1. It is indeed a beautiful photo. It looks like you are appreciating the beauty of nature around you and reflecting on life 🙂

        Actually I’m just starting to write my book. So, it’s still a long way to go but it’s a start. Been wanting to start for almost a year. Progress 🙂

      2. Thanks Mabel, you are quite sensitive! Sure, ‘well begun is half done’… once we start the journey, it all becomes so easy. You’ll be soon there. My best wishes for a smooth flow.

  3. “I thanked my stars, my God, whom I was always questioning, whose existence I always doubted, who stepped forward to carry me like flower petals and return to my dear ones!***

    Lovely, Balroop. Just lovely. xxx

  4. Welcome back! love your pic at the top, Balroop. It could be you or it could be your niece? 🙂 This is a very deep post and giving me lots to think about. Your family sounds beautiful and of course, they’re lucky to have you as their Auntie and Grandmother (I’m sure they know!). I agree with all of this. Life is but a dream…and if it’s not we try again. Our emotions are always there, good and bad. Sometimes we have to let them in and out right away and try not to hang on to them. My children and my Partner all give me great sunshine and love in my life and I feel blessed to have them!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      Thank you for liking that picture, I didn’t think it would prove so useful for my post but I felt it reflects many emotions of Nature and people. You understand emotional moments so well! You are right…I am blessed with some wonderful persons around me, couldn’t have asked for more but sunshine and darkness follow each other. So I have my share of grey areas, which is a natural reality of life.

      Thanks for sharing your lovely perspective.

  5. Glad to see you refreshed and inspiring us again, Balroop. Yes, life is a dream and can be a most beautiful one when we live it mindfully, savouring all its realities.

    1. Thanks for summing up this article just in few words! Living mindfully and accepting all the realities…Yes, that is a life well lived. Wonderful insight!

  6. Life really is what we make of it, and your post brings to mind a video about the Proustian Moment I watched earlier today. It raised the questions in my mind: Is life trivial or just your image of it? “Life isn’t necessarily dull and without excitement. It’s just that one forgets to look at it in the right way. We forget what being alive, fully alive, actually feels like.” Living really is a conscious choice. I need to remind myself of that more often.

    1. Hi Jeri,

      You are right, we make or mar our life with our thoughts and actions. We can make it more interesting and exciting by shoving negativity out of our lives, embrace all that comes our way and face it with a smile. Easier said than done, I know but do we have any other choice? Flowing with the emotional realities, good or bad makes it easier and strengthens us.
      Thanks for sharing your perspective, greatly appreciated.

  7. This is so interesting. It’s exactly the part of my life where I am currently at a crossroads. I know I have to stop looking at the past, and focussing on the present, for the present is truly the only place where authenticity resides, where we care capable of seeing the moment for what it is by removing all aspects of the ego. I have been battling demons for so long, and it has only been by accepting that emotions are real but can be ruled by accepting that they can affect us only if we do not remove ourselves from the ourselves and become conscious of the chatter in our minds. I really enjoyed this piece. I feel it’s what I need in my life right now to keep me centred and peaceful, so thank you.

    1. Hi Sandra,

      Welcome to my blog. I am glad that you found this article interesting, if you dig the archives, you will find many more such pieces, which would exhort you to face life as it comes and count your blessings.

      There comes a phase in life when we find ourselves at sea, whether it is the past or the future, we forget the beauty and joy of those little moments, which fleet by without our attention. Yes, the demons do try to devor us but life goes on and if we fight them with grit, we do find our way! Chatter is good because self-conversation is essential to be decisive.
      Thanks for stopping by to share your view, much appreciated.

  8. Hi Balroop,

    That was a lovely post! Though I read it casually, it made me feel emotional as well as philosophical. I will read it again tomorrow. I too share the views expressed by your fellow bloggers and agree with them about your lovely picture.
    Most lives have too many emotional realities. Often difficult to relive them even in our mind.

    1. Hi Alka,

      I am so glad that this post could evoke both – emotions as well as philosophy. Thanks for such a lovely compliment!

      Yes, life is an amalgamation of many such moments we take for granted and wallow over those we need to forget but that is what makes life! However hard we may try, it unfolds itself, springing surprises as well as sorrows.

      Thanks for coming over to share your perspective, much appreciated. Stay blessed!

  9. Such a nice account. Life is a beautiful dream indeed, more so when we spend it with our loved ones. Really loved the way you’ve weaved your personal experiences with higher ideology… 🙂

    P.S. I just fell in love with your blog, following you… 🙂

    1. Hi Mani,

      Welcome to my blog! Thanks for such sweet and kind words. I am so pleased hat you have liked this post and could find ‘higher ideology’ in my humble words.
      Thanks for stopping over and sharing your view, I appreciate it.

  10. Powerful and deep reading, as ever, dear Balroop… I agree with you when you say that ¨Despite stormy tribulations, we all love life¨. Your post truly resonated with me, dear friend… ⭐ Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀

  11. Balroop, I so agree with you on looking for beauty in the eyes of our children. Even our teenagers see life with such promise, with such hope for the future-how can we not appreciate and be grateful for their vision?

    1. Hi Jennifer, Welcome to Emotional Shadows. It is their beauty and their glow, which keeps us ever young…their vision endows us with a new perspective. So gratitude flows naturally.
      Thanks for coming over to share your view.

  12. I cannot imagine going through this, Balroop. You are here to live and tell us about appreciating life and beauty. Wow!
    As whenever I take the time to visit and read, I come away with so much. Thank you for sharing this.

Comments are closed.