Emerging From Shadows

Speaking soothing syllables to myselfMy path
I try to form new words
Words of self-solace
Words of wisdom that are forced out
That could resonate with pain…

Love is not always revered
Sensitivity is not universal
Emotions are difficult to decipher
The spotlight never shines
If you hide behind those shadows

Shadows of indifferent past
Shadows of dreary darkness
The sheen of my dreams
The delusion of my success
Faded in that shadowy existence

I convince myself to rise, to react
To push perils that glare grimly
To satiate shadows that gloat glibly
Positive light is just round the corner
The hope is beckoning bright

I refuse to remain tied to false promises
I would choose my own path
Path that is luminously lucent
I need freedom from the clutches
Of guile, of hypocrisy, of servitude

I know my journey is arduous
But I am ready for new challenges
I have abandoned fears and tears
A new life begins now!
© Balroop Singh.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

20 thoughts on “Emerging From Shadows

    1. Yes Lisa, pain and wisdom learn to be together as they get great support from each other. Actually it is pain that welcomes wisdom as it can assuage the hurts. Both are an essential elements of life!

  1. What a beautiful poem about languishing in the shadows and darkness, and eventually finding the courage to break free the shackles of our misery and soar. Inspiring indeed. My favourite line is, “Emotions are difficult to decipher”. That is so true because for all you know, someone might be pretending to be happy when they are actually sad or vice-versa, or simply putting on a persona. As you alluded in the comments above, pain and wisdom compliment each other: when we feel pain, often we feel challenged and learn a few lessons, and that is usually how wisdom is derived too. Great write, great read.

    1. Thanks Mabel, such a wonderful analysis! I am touched. There comes a stage in everyone’s life when we have to deal with shadows. The choice lies with us…recede into their darkness or emerge wiser. I have seen a few getting lost in those shadows, unable to see the light till somebody persuades them.
      Thanks for understanding the emotions so well! Have a wonderful Sunday.

  2. Very inspiring piece, mrs Balroop. From beginning till end, I can relate myself with every word. So many times we all face and struggle through varied difficult situations and circumstances. However, during the painful moments, we all seek courage, gain wisdom and move on fearlessly.
    Such an indepth connection of pain and wisdom put in such beautiful and inspiring words. Great!!!

    1. Thank you Jaspreet. Welcome to Emotional Shadows. Your name reminds me of more than two persons I know so well, it carries a fragrance of my most treasured memories…moments spent with them have suddenly become alive! I jumped off to your blog to see more if I know you but couldn’t find any ‘about’ page.
      Thanks for words of appreciation, I value them greatly. You will find many more such pieces if you dig the archives. Happy reading. 🙂

      1. Hello Balroop ji
        Thanks for your reply. I would consider myself very fortunate if I will be one of the precious Jaspreet’s of whose memories you still cherish. I haven’t uploaded my personal details or any ‘about ‘ information on my blog. I sent you a message on your facebook messages bank. Could I please request you to read it as I’ve mentioned my details in it.
        I will continue to read your blog, not only for emotional satiety, gratification or information but also for the fact that you have been one of the most amazing, inspiring and guiding light in my life.
        Will wait for your reply on fb messenger to be in touch with you.
        Thanks again.

  3. Very inspiring piece, mrs Balroop. From beginning till end I can relate myself with every word. So many times we all face and struggle through varied difficult situations and circumstances. However, from the painful moments, we all gather courage, seek wisdom and move on fearlessly.
    Such an indepth connection of pain and wisdom put in such beautiful and inspiring words. Great!!!

  4. This is awesome Balroop. Shadows only exist cause of darkness and light. There is always hope on the road. And when we are ready to challenge ourselves, everything is possible. A Great Lesson for us all.

    1. Yes Marie, there is always hope and in that hope lies the happiness…waiting for us to clasp its hands and move on! Who has not seen darkness! Real achievers are those who emerge sane and prudent, learning every minute and accepting the realities of life.
      Thanks for taking time to share your view.

Comments are closed.