I Have Understood…

Relationships

 

I have understood
The value of each tear
The pain of every reprimand
The depth of every sigh
Which deepens a relationship.

I have understood
The care of each moment
The delight of growing wiser
The sharing of those secrets
Leads to bonding of emotions

I have understood
The desire of birds to fly
The pride of perching high
The pain of separation
The joy of reunion

I wish I could also understand
Why relationships sour
Why friends turn hostile
Why emotions die
Why efforts to save them prove futile?

I know the day is not far
I know I have to explore more
Yes! I can see the mist retreating
My wisdom tooth is also almost upbeat
The weary wait is over and I retreat

My emotions have carried me too far
Its time to emerge from those caverns
And share what I have learnt…
Please wait!
© Balroop Singh.
This is a prelude to my next scheduled post, which I am holding till Friday. I know I don’t post on Fridays but you will understand when I share it. I am keeping the suspense and sharing this poem, which sums up my thoughts so succinctly about my next venture.

This is one of my earliest poems when I was just experimenting with this genre. You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.
Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

12 thoughts on “I Have Understood…

  1. Another great poem, Balroop. Mixed emotions are certainly entwined in many relationship we find ourselves in. It is sad when certain relationships and moments come to a stop in our lives – sometimes it feels like a waste of time with some people we have spent with. But I suppose there is a lesson to be learnt in each moment we walk and make memories from. I really liked how you incorporated wisdom tooth into all of this 😀

    Very excited to see your upcoming post. Looking forward to it.

    1. Hi Mabel,

      Emotions and relationships have a bitter sweet association, which keeps oscillating between love and hatred. While we try to understand them, they remain elusive. It is only when we embrace both that we learn to keep them balanced.

      Yes, we learn from each interaction, even those who get left behind in the melee do make us wiser. Thanks for your support. Hope it will be extended in my next venture too. 🙂

  2. Hi Balroop

    Your posts make me think deep. Probably, in one life that we have, it is necessary to experience myriad emotions that your lovely poem encapsulates. Actually we all do end up experiencing them at various stages of life, but most people run away from sadness and think this was not needed at all. They do not know the ‘value of each tear’, ‘the depth of every sigh’. Then there is a ‘delight in growing wiser’ – delight is the best word for growing wiser, for it is neither joy nor happiness but simple subtle delight. That’s what life is all about.

    We’ll look forward to your next post for more of such emotional experiences.

    1. Hi Alka,

      I am so glad that my posts are thought-provoking. Thanks for sharing your kind thoughts.
      You are right, we try to run away from those moments of life, which are unpleasant. We try to avoid such people who remind us of negative emotions but only time tells how much we learn from them, how resilient do they make us and we find delight in those moments of pain! It takes a lot of time to understand these realities.

      Thanks for such a beautifully worded feedback, much appreciated.

Comments are closed.