Pain…My Antidote

Nearer to thee, my pain
Nearer to thee…Pain
Now I have embraced you,
Conquered you!
You have become my antidote,
You can no longer break my spirit,
You were my constant companion,
Now I have befriended you,
Made you my dearest confidant

You have always mothered me,
Rocked me, pushed me around
Sometimes pricked me
In the form of a sibling,
Made fun of me,
Challenged my capabilities
Many times you have
Surrounded me with
Selfish, self-centered,
Incompetent, insecure people.
You have flattered me
In the form of fair weather friends.

You have made me suffer in silence.
As a child, I could not confront you
But growing with you
Emboldened me, enriched my life,
Made me realize
You cannot even touch my soul.
I have emerged stronger,
Kinder, perceptive, forgiving
To embrace you with all the humility.

© Balroop Singh. (All rights reserved)

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.
Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

26 thoughts on “Pain…My Antidote

  1. To control the circumstances or the people who inflict pain on us is not possible, but as you say in the poem it is possible to control our reaction to it, and that develops only with time as we grow the wisdom to deal with it.
    I agree it is easier said than done, but not impossible either. The same pain that could once agitate may start acting as an emollient and help us to grow stronger once we embrace it and conquer it.
    Thanks for sharing this wonderful piece of wisdom Balroop.

    1. Hi Somali,

      Thanks for sharing such a wise and mature view, pain acquaints us with the realities of life, some of which are inevitable. We have to learnt o overcome them, sooner or later and the results are very positive.

      Wishing you a nice week 🙂

  2. Liked your poetic depiction of the truth that pain is tempering, purifying, edifying and ennobling, bringing out the best in human spirit. No pain, no gain…best wishes.

    1. Hi Lisa,

      Thank you so much for your support. I hope you enjoy reading my book, which is an amalgamation of sad and happy moments of life and people, some of whom I remember with a strong dislike!
      Happy reading. I would love you to share your view or review at Amazon.

  3. We can’t control others, but definitely we can control our emotions. Though it’s easier said than done, but at one stage of life, I think, wisdom makes it possible…at least to some extent…

    Beautiful words as always, Balroop… 🙂

    1. Yes Mani we can control our emotions but we have to learn to do that. Writing helps a great deal in doing that. I feel so light after sharing my emotions with the word.

      Thanks for standing by and sharing your view, much appreciated. 🙂

  4. wonderful poetry, and it was only through my own pain both emotionally and physically that I grew and followed a path that made me grow and become stronger, It made me who I am today 🙂 🙂

    Loved reading Balroop.. Love and Blessings Sue

    1. Hi Sue,

      Thank you for the love and blessings 🙂

      Emotional pain lurks longer and leaves only after bestowing life time lessons. While physical wounds get healed, emotional ones keep festering in the form of poems!

      Thanks for standing by and sharing your insights, much appreciated.

  5. Hi Balroop,

    Good to be back after a long break 🙂

    Love your poems, and if it’s all about pain and all that most of us go through, it’s always worth a read. I think pain only makes us stronger in the long run and brings out the best in us.

    We don’t realize it, but we are the strongest when we are going such a phase, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Welcome back, it is nice to see you. I missed you, dear friend. Hope your extra assignments are over and you are going to be around…it was indeed a long break!

      Thank you so much for hopping over from your bust schedule to appreciate my humble efforts at writing poetry. I am glad you liked it.

      Yes, this emotion definitely brings the best out of us, awakens us, a lets us and makes us learn with its rod! 🙂

      You too have blessed week.

  6. Pain. Such a relatable point of discussion and I found this poem very enjoyable and engaging. Pain, it’s both a friend and foe, and we can either choose to let it bring us down or help us soar. So true when you say that we suffer in silence when we feel pain – often we feel pain is something to be ashamed of as society generally sees pain as a sign of weakness.

    However, pain is a sort of reminder to us to not get complacent. Not everything will go our way in our life and the least we can do is accept it and roll with the punches. In the end, when we accept pain as a part of our life, we learn to be so much more humble. Great read, Balroop.

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I marvel at your understanding of varied topics, your prudence and maturity! Thank you for being such a loving friend who brings so much to the discussion dais.

      Yes, people abandon those who are always talking about pain, that is why it is better to suffer in silence and learn from both. Often society forgets that pain visits unawares and can come at any time to anyone! So there is no need to feel ashamed or weak.

      The strength and resilience that comes from first hand experiences is indeed matchless. Thank you so much for adding so much meaning to my ramblings.

      1. Pain is part and parcel of life. Accept it, learn from it and then we can enjoy the fruits of life when the time is right.

        I would never call your writings ramblings. Often the things we say on the fly are the most intriguing and honest opinions.

  7. How powerful Balroop!
    Pain transforms us. When we know how to set boundaries pain reveals us, pain can be a friend that shows us that there’s more to life to discover and get.
    Stay blessed my friend and thank you for your inspiring words.

    1. Hi Marie,

      True, this is one emotion that possesses the power to change us! Only when we befriend it, accept it, embrace it do we realise its power.

      Thanks for understanding this emotion so well and sharing your view.

  8. I like this poem very much because it echoes so many of my thoughts to a tee. The struggles we face really do embolden us. Pain does indeed make people stronger, and when bad things happen in the future, those who have been hurt and felt extreme pain know they can get though it. That it will get better and no feeling is permanent.

  9. Hi Jeri,

    I am glad that this poem resonates with you. Pain is such a universal emotion, it has drowned many in its deep waters but those who talk about it emerge victorious and resilient. Hope and positive thinking pushes it to the extreme corner! 🙂
    Thanks for standing by and sharing your view, much appreciated.

Comments are closed.