Idyllic Hours

Calmness, peace

Oh! The bliss of leisure
Long hours lengthen,
Crumble at your feet!
All the time in the world…
 
To look at the sky,
Feel the movement of clouds
Inhale the magic of raindrops!
Soar smoothly with the rainbow!
 
Sunset colors gently wane
Sprinkling on you, numerous tones
Swooshing leaves whisper weird words
Flowers dance with you as you gaze 
 
Butterflies lend their color to your dreams
Happiness and harmony in your eye gleams
Birds sing sweeter with joy
Earnest to share their melody
 
Oh! The blissful sounds of nature
Sink deeper into your heart
Give eternal elation
All anxiety melts away.
© Balroop Singh.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

29 thoughts on “Idyllic Hours

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thank you for your kind words, you made my day! I am glad my poems are inspiring you. I am sure you will experiment with this genre too.

      Hope you are having a blessed week 🙂

    1. Hi Diana,

      Yes, nature possesses a mesmerising power. Would you believe that when I started writing this poem, I had leisure in my mind and wanted to glorify it but look at the way it turned out…completely hijacked by my surroundings, where I was thinking of blissful hours.

      Thanks for the appreciation.

  1. You just breathed some welcome fresh air with the beauty of your poem into my lungs dear Balroop and you brought such peace and a sense of tranquil calm with you.. Nature does that, and you captured her mood so well.

    Love and Blessings my friend ❤
    Sue xxx

    1. Hi Sue,

      What a glowing tribute! Love your choice of words, dear friend. I am so happy that my words were welcomed as ‘fresh air’!

      As I have just now told Diana, the mood was very different from what my words finally convey and I am astounded at the power of Nature!

      Thanks for your lovely wishes. Stay blessed!

  2. “Swooshing leaves whisper weird words” That was my favourite line of this soothing poem, Balroop. You certainly connect well with both positive and negative emotions. I felt like I was lazing away reading your poem 😀

    Sometimes to feel happiness all we need to do is to just stop and look at what we have around us and appreciate that. Anxiety melts away when we feel that we don’t need to rush and when we don’t need to stress about the small things around us. Things will fall into place 🙂 Hope you are having a good week.

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I sometimes do feel that leaves are trying to speak to me…then I laugh off my imaginative intuition and try to breathe in the freshness and tranquility they offer.

      Wow! you have caught the wave of my reflections so well! This poem intended to convey how leisure becomes a blessing but the vibes of Mother Nature carried me away and the real thought got drowned. I appreciate your discerning eye!

      It is indeed true that little moments can add immense bliss to our lives if we take care of those joyous minutes, which fleet by, unnoticed. Thank you for analysing my thoughts and emotions so well. Love you for that. You are a valued friend. Stay blessed. 🙂

  3. I love your words, the beautiful images they create in my mind Balroop. When in nature, its mesmerizing beauty takes all the pain, doubts, worries away. We do feel secure, safe, and at peace.
    Thank you for sharing such a lovely piece of poetry.
    Stay well and blessed always.

    1. Hi Marie,

      You are right, nature has that power to soothe, to take away the pain and endow us with hope.
      Thanks for understanding the vibes of this poem so well.
      Sending you love and best wishes 🙂

  4. What a lovely picture of the magical moments of bliss you have painted Balroop ! When mind is at leisure, sunset spreads its colour, flowers dance, breeze caresses the hair, leaves whisper sweet nothings. The feeling of oneness with nature prevails. Can there be a better picture of happiness and harmony? Loved it. Thank you for sharing.

    1. Hi Somali,

      Thanks for your kind words, they are resonating so well with the feelings of this poem. Those who absorb and understand all these little joys can never complain of lack of happiness or harmony.

      I truly appreciate your views and thoughts. Stay blessed.

  5. Love this line, Balroop Butterflies lend their color to your dreams. Yes, I want them to:) and that’s exactly how to make my dreams come alive.

    A poem that takes us into nature and if we’re not there, encourages to go into nature and appreciate the colors, sounds and silence. Thank you for sharing this piece.

    1. Oh Yes Vishnu…not just butterflies, the changing colors of the sky really inspire me, give me utmost hope and faith. Words flow spontaneously when I look at them.

      Thanks for standing by and sharing your view, much appreciated.

  6. We are all well-served to get out in nature as much as possible. With the cold weather coming, I start to get a little sad and wish I was into skiing, but I’m not. Still though, even a foggy winter day has its own allure.

    1. Hi Jeri,

      I have always liked all the moods of all the changing seasons and colors. Their beauty is mystical in all the forms. The cold, foggy winters, the white landscape of the hills, breathing serenity, add special charm to my days. Yes, skiing definitely adds adventure but even watching those who are adept at this sport is fun!

  7. So compelling and beautifully penned… your poem really resonated with me… thanks so much for sharing, dear Balroop… Love and best wishes to you. Aquileana ★⭐

  8. Beautiful poem from a positive thinking nature lover! It makes us value little joys of nature that we can avail without any cost.
    Hours seem long when we have too much time, and often this is not a happy state of mind for those easily bored. But when you say “Long hours lengthen, Crumble at your feet! All the time in the world…” you are making these long hours become so long that they fall at our feet and crumble helplessly… as if we rule time rather than it ruling us as it always does. You refuse to be enslaved by short or long hours. Wow!

    Today, it’s raining here and after reading your poem, I went out to enjoy little droplets falling while birds try to get shelter here and there. Life’s little treasures!

    1. Thanks for a beautiful compliment Alka.
      This poem was written in those treasured moments of blissful leisure, soaking in the bounties of Mother Nature and you know how mothers are…they overwhelm you with their embrace!
      Rain drops…another bliss, to be absorbed lovingly. Stay blessed.

  9. I recently posted a favorite and leisurely activity of looking up at the sky and clouds. It was not very poetic, just playful. This Poem embraces many aspects of Nature’s soothing whispers, Balroop. Simply beautiful. Balroop, may you have a tranquil weekend, full of special moments. ~ Robin

Comments are closed.