…And I Was Alive!

Refulgent rainbow in my garden
Stood with open arms
Eager to embrace me
Mesmerized by its glowBlissful moments
I gave in…

It carried me far
Into the land of unknown
A wonderfully brilliant world
Of clouds and colors

A magnificent monolithic arch
Spreading colorful confetti
Ecstatic I looked around
To ensure that I was alive

Blithe Breeze ruffled my hair
Beckoning me to joyously join
The realm of shimmering love
Of boundless freedom and fun

Moments of celestial bliss…
The fetters of attachment fell
The masks melted instinctively
Prejudices tumbled out of hearts

I wish I could stay longer
I wish I could carry some glimmer
Some sparks of light, love and harmony
To enhance the beauty of my planet.
© Balroop Singh.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

29 thoughts on “…And I Was Alive!

  1. Hi Balroop, This is so beautiful! It is a matter of how we look at it. An attitude of gratitude reflects through the poem, in the way you describe the happiness of being alive to experience the bliss of nature and life.
    Have a wonderful week.

    1. Hi Somali,

      Thank you for such a beautiful analysis. Gratitude can be learnt very well from Mother Nature who just knows how to love and give without any discrimination.

      Such blissful moments remind us that living according to our wishes, without any compulsions and prejudices can usher in happiness and there is no need to chase it.

      Stay blessed and have a nice week 🙂

  2. Love how you described and talked about the wonder of the rainbow in this poem. That really is how I feel when I see a rainbow in the sky after the storm, “magnificent monolithic arch, Spreading colorful confetti”. Such a vivid sight in my mind. It’s lovely how rainbows often make us stop for a moment and take in nature’s beauty. Just like the sky, sun, stars and moon, often we can see the same rainbow from different places far and wide 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      You are absolutely right…the wonder of rainbow, moon and the changing sky is so mesmerising, so inspiring that a nature lover can spend hours watching them.

      I have seen silver confetti a number of times, so no imagination here! You just have to concentrate looking at the clear sky, when the sunshine is not very bright, to see it.

      Thanks for endorsing and adding your love to the beauty of nature. Have a blessed weekend 🙂

  3. Hi Balroop,

    Beautiful lines, as always 🙂

    Your poems have so much of depth in them and are always a pleasure to read. Thanks for sharing them with us. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

  4. Following your lead, I too am tempted to give in to the embrace of refulgent rainbow (as it is currently raining here I can see from the window)…for it will take me to a realm of ‘love’, ‘freedom’, ‘fun’ and ‘celestial bliss’…never mind that these are going to be momentary joys.
    Actually you did carry back from there what you wanted…that is why you made all your readers enjoy your happy experience. You made us fly up there. Thanks for the experience and the inspiration 😉 Now I too will go out and enjoy the rain…

    1. Thanks for following the fantasy Alka…it is indeed exhilarating, it acquaints us with those natural joys, which we tend to miss…
      These joys are not momentary…I am reminded of Wordsworth who said:
      “For oft, when on my couch I lie
      In vacant or in pensive mood,
      They flash upon that inward eye
      Which is the bliss of solitude;
      And then my heart with pleasure fills,
      And dances with the daffodils.”

      1. Yes, Wordsworth…and his popular ’I wandered lonely as a cloud’.
        His lines “The music in my heart I bore, Long after it was heard no more” also convey the same lasting effect of nature.

        Balroop, so many times I stopped short of writing here…that I sense some Wordsworthian touch in your writing. Possibly he is your favorite.

      2. I have been inspired by the poetry of all Nature poets but your thought is far-fetched! What a big compliment Alka…Even if I have a grain of this great poet’s touch I consider myself inspired…I haven’t even reached his shoestrings!
        Thank you so much.

  5. “A magnificent monolithic arch
    Spreading colorful confetti”

    Oh! These lines have mesmeric effects on me! As if I’m in a trance…
    The wonder of rain, rainbow, dreams and reality. Just loved this poem, Balroop..wonderfully penned… 🙂

Comments are closed.