I Learnt To Be Positive On The Way…

Positive thinking

I have always dared, dared to speak out my mind, dared to take my own decisions, dared to quit whenever I wanted to.

It was not easy and it wasn’t permitted. Yes! Permissions have to be taken… sadly at each and every aspect of life!

People like to hold you back because they want to control you; they could be insecure or jealous. They restrict your decisions to remain all-important in your life. You like to listen to them thinking they could be right, they could be your well-wishers but the reality could be quite different and you may never even know what made them hold you back from pursuing your own dreams, taking your own decisions and acquiring confidence.

Self belief:

There was a time when I didn’t trust myself but a strong self-belief kept me going till I discovered all the distrust factors were external, that they were not my own fears, they were created. When the realization dawned, I was amazed at my strength and conviction.

Intuition:

There is no doubt that it built over the years but all those controlling factors endowed me with an intuition beyond imagination. They contributed to my fortitude and determination to forge ahead.

Decisiveness:

I dared to resign my first job out of my own desire to set up my home and look after my child. I did that for my own happiness but it took me far beyond…I could spend blissful moments with my child, nurturing her impressionable years, adding joy to her infancy with my presence and those memorable moments stand before me now and smile at my scoffers who condemned my irresponsible decision of quitting a very secure job.

Candor:

I could never wear a mask to please others; I could never pay a compliment if the words didn’t emerge from my heart; I could never be pressurized to follow the crowd.

I would reiterate that it is not easy. You get disliked and judged, people assume you are arrogant and may even shun you. My mettle steered me through those challenges and I could find some gems in the form of loving friends who understand me and admire me for what I am.Dare to be different

Resilience:

I was never ashamed of my critics. I learnt from them not to judge without really understanding people.

I didn’t flinch when people picked on me; tried to bully me into believing what they think was right. I learnt to be kind and empathetic.

I refused to show my tears to the world for treating me harshly. I learnt to be resilient and shared my agonies with the trusted few.

I poured my heart into poetry and got acquainted with another aspect of my own self, lying latent within me.

I emerged stronger than my own self and was amazed at the power we have within us to deal with the tribulations of life.

All because I dared and I am proud of that.

Balroop Singh.

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “I Learnt To Be Positive On The Way…

  1. Traits of self belief, decisiveness, intuitiveness, candor, kindness, empathy and resilience infuse positive thinking. Though it takes time to inculcate these traits but once we start imbibing them, we emerge stronger by the day.
    Thanks Balroop for sharing this lovely post that roots for the spirit of positivism.

    1. Thanks Somali for appreciating all these virtues, which take away a lot of time and effort and are sometimes looked down upon by modern competitiveness and get lost in the fast-paced life. Positivity needs nurturing despite all the negative vibes around us and I have always tried to respect it. 🙂

  2. Interesting sequence of your developmental path, Balroop. Indeed life is all about daring and doing, learning through failing steps pushing backwards, while resolutely moving ahead through subsequently successful attempts.

    1. Thank you Raj for sharing your insights about life, which is indeed a continuous learning…the path may be rockey or turbulent but it offers amazing opportunities!

  3. Well said. Life lived without regrets is a life well lived. What we get is our destiny and what we make out of it is our determination, will power and endurance .

    1. Hi Baldeep,

      Nice to see you here! Yes, life without regrets is a beautiful life…it is not that regrets don’t come our way but we have to accept them as a part of life and move on. Learning from regrets is the only way to make our life worth living. 🙂

  4. Balroop! Excellent write up.
    It’s nice to read about your journey and perspective. I completely stand by you when you say that you cannot don a different face. it’s important to be yourself. I like your point of view.

    1. Thank you arv! I am glad you enjoyed reading about my journey…a long one, just a little chunk shared here.
      Yes, dear friend, being yourself infuses great confidence and fortitude. 🙂

  5. What a confident piece of writing, Balroop. You certainly drew on the challenges of your past and learnt from the, and today are proud of who you are and how far you have come. As you said, others will bring us down because they might be jealous – or they simply don’t want to work to get to where they want to be. Being happy and positive doesn’t happen overnight. Often, it takes a series of steps and a lot of repetition telling ourselves to move forward and do what makes us happy.

    It is so inspiring to see you as a confident writer, and I mean it. You have books published and very encouraging to all of us writers and artists who hope to achieve the same goal some day 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I am so happy to note that you found these random thoughts worth appreciation. Thank you so much.

      Yes, being positive takes days and days of nurturing self-confidence in the midst of judgmental society…people try to discourage, warning us of the possible setbacks but only if we wade into water do we learn to swim (which I never could!)

      However I have kept myself afloat and I am more than happy with my achievements. Thanks for boosting my confidence. Your words come as breath of fresh air. Hugs and love!

  6. I’ve never looked at the word “dare” as you have used it here so eloquently, it is so very true. I believe society (and well meaning mothers and fathers) often wish “us” (people, sons & daughters) to follow a path to success that they have predetermined “us” to follow, and only when we dare (“dared to speak out my mind, dared to take my own decisions, dared to quit whenever I wanted to”) do we find the right path for us.

    It is essential to dare, otherwise, we will be living an unauthentic life, or worse yet revolting in was that destroys not only ourselves but those around us (especially the ones we love). Great post Balroop.

    1. Hi Randall

      Thank you so much for sharing your perspective. It is not very easy to dare in closed societies, in which all decisions are taken by elders and we become mute spectators, suppressing our dreams and desires, longing to break free. I dared and in my situations got disliked but that didn’t deter me from following my path.

      I appreciate your standing by to read and write words of wisdom. Stay blessed!

  7. I appreciate your candour dear Balroop, and the picture I have of you in my mind seems to chime along with your words here somehow. As others have said: an excellent article, for which many thanks.

    1. Hi Hariod,

      Thank you so much for the kind words. I really appreciate your sagacious thoughts and look forward to your analysis respectfully. Stay blessed. 🙂

  8. Positivity is something that has to be maintained at every step of our life. There are always cross roads with numerous choices, and it is then that we have to look positively and rejoice at whatever good comes out of our decisions. Mothers compromise a lot for the sake of their children. A woman’s education and knowledge never goes waste as it is passed on to the next generations. Moreover, it finds expression in one form or the other. Women writers, poets and artists are more sensitive 🙂

    1. Hi Alka,

      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on positivity, I absolutely agree with you. Positive thoughts steer us towards better decisions, many of which mild us into better human beings. 🙂

      Sensitivity too contributes to positivity as we are able to put ourselves into the shoes of another person before judging.

  9. Thank you for sharing so nicely parts of your life and thoughts about it Balroop. We all learn from our ups and downs.Being ourselves is key. Loving ourselves in even more important.
    Stay well my friend. You are inspiring us every day.

    1. Hi Marie, thanks for endorsing my view of moving ahead with positivity. Yes! life is the greatest teacher…only if we are ready to absorb its lessons.
      I appreciate your good wishes and kind words. Much love. 🙂

  10. Wonderful post dear Balroop. So often standing up for one’s self is taken as rebellion when we do not conform to their needs..
    This took me along a longer route of discovery, for it took me a while to learn to say No in my working world..

    But by daring to stand by your principles and be true to yourself, you have even though I am sure it has not always been easy steps, you have emerges a wonderfully strong woman with a heart that reflects love for all she does..

    I am pleased our paths have merged in this point of our lives..
    For you inspire me greatly.. Thank you Balroop
    Love and Blessings Sue

  11. Hi Sue,

    I love your choice of words and really appreciate the way you express your thoughts…so candid and translucent!

    I don’t know when my Principles took form but I am glad I chose to be upright and straight-forward, without caring for the hypocritical world around me. I love the way I am and a number of times I have told myself…why should I change myself just because others want me to be like them!

    I am so delighted to know words leave some impact. Thank you so much for looking at them kindly. I am also happy to have met you. 🙂
    Love and hugs.

  12. Great Post Balroop, the pots has so much to offer and you have done with so little words. The three words that you have picked up makes all the difference in our life are “Self-Belief”, ” Intuition” and “Resilience.

    Indeed you have touched the three most aspect of life in a very subtle but with a profound message. Yes, in those times of difficulties and challenges where nobody comes to support you, it is the self belief that comes to your rescue. In situations where we don’t have any answer to a problem and we have to take decisions, the best source to tap is our intuitive power silently sleeping within us and finally when we face the hardship and we have no options to escape we have to bear it and in life in such situation it is our resilience that takes us through the pressure and makes us come out of the force of distress and destruction.

    It is such a pleasure to hear your life story and how you have managed to wade the waves and craft your own story with your own voice.
    Very inspiring post indeed.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    😀

    1. Hi Nihar,

      Thank you so much for sharing such a profound view. I must apologise for not visiting your site for a while as I have been traveling and attending to my home in Delhi, which needed my attention. My next post will talk about it.
      I hope you can understand my state of mind as I have not been able to concentrate and creativity demands all the attention. I look forward to the support of friends like you who always take out time to visit and inspire me. Many thanks for that. 🙂

      1. Not at all Balroop , I can understand the challenge in travelling and able to keep with the creative engagement, not easy and I keep going through ordeal, so no apologize and I fully understand the disengagement we go through. Not to worry at all. True friends truly understand such situations and appreciate such changes in life.

        Hope you had a good trip back home to Delhi. Yes, eagerly waiting to hear your wonderful perspective as always and so much intriguing insights.
        Take care!!!
        😀

  13. I couldn’t agree more, Balroop. So much so that my favorite poem is Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken,” the final stanza of which reads:
    “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    Great post, as always! 🙂

    1. This poem of Robert Frost has always inspired me.
      Thank you dear friend for endorsing my view on taking ‘the less traveled road’…I am happy it led me to what I am today. 🙂

Comments are closed.