The Amazing Power Of Relationships

Scattered memories

It’s been almost 20 days since I have been away from my new home in U.S…the one I don’t love as much as I do this one, where everything is lying scattered now, not just my dreams and memories but even books, clothes, curtains and sundry other articles I had collected with panache…

I am in the process of salvaging my old treasures, which I had buried in this home, thinking I’ll live here forever till my last journey into the oblivion but could never imagine life could turn tables on me like this!

Once again relationships have won. Love for material possessions and homes we build by putting our heart and soul into decorating them according to our taste crumble in front of relationships.

Once again I chose love, love for my grandchildren proved to be more powerful than all my possessions…once again I have taken a bold decision, once again I am broken inside as am leaving this home too, so dear to my heart.

I left my first home when I got married and I have written about those overwhelming emotions. With time I reconciled with the hurricanes of life and found happiness in putting together strings to build my own nest, this home, which I nurtured with love.

Why don’t we give a thought to the realities that all nests get frittered away with the tide of time? Mine was no exception though I gave all I had to it.

The vibrations of my home have been reminding me of those blissful days I have spent here. What fills me with delight is that I can only recall the happy times. Probably my home was always filled with positive vibes. I let them float around; I wish I could close my fists to hold them but I let them go and they carried me along into alien lands.

It is time to move on. It is time to do away with superfluous possessions. It is not easy…I have been talking to myself for days, trying to convince the emotional aspect of my mind Ah! Mind (my dear friend Hariod made me understand the enigma of thoughts)  …

6c27c6c3eebee0e42fd5da20e7baa45c
Image source

All things are transitory…stagnant waters don’t allure…flowing water is fresh and exciting…flow! flow… I tell myself, life is like that…detachments and attachments are old pals, they love to meet, embrace and soar with the wind.

My family portrait stares at me…wont you carry me along? Too big, I say.

The books and trophies won by my girls remind me how much I love them…’too many,’ I say and put them in a trunk in the hope that my grandchildren would find them one day and share the pride of their grandma.

20 more days left for sorting out and leaving, hoping to return to feel and touch those few priceless things I am leaving behind, locked within the confines of four walls…for home is where love is and right now my most loved possessions are my grandchildren. I am happy my husband agrees and shares this sentiment.

Hope is the key…hope is the only solace, it keeps us thriving.

Thank you for reading this. Your support is immensely appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

45 thoughts on “The Amazing Power Of Relationships

  1. It is frequently time to move on, Balroop, is it not? The alternative, to me, suggests eventual stagnation, the status quo and simply not experiencing change, newness and the possibilities that accompany stepping into the uncomfortable. But that is me. I hear and empathize with your experience. Here’s to your thriving, however you choose to. 🙂

    1. Thank you for sharing your thought Eric…change is undoubtedly an inevitable part of life, however hard it may be. Also, stagnation stifles me, I like to move…sentiments should not slow us down.

  2. Hope you are having a good time traveling, Balroop. It certainly sounds like you’re finding it hard to let go of some of the things you’ve accumulated over the years. I sympathise – I have a collection of stuffed monkeys and I don’t play with them all, and can’t bear the thought of giving any of them away because they all remind me of a moment in time. Good to hear that you are reliving some nice memories. It is a good way to unwind, and therapeutic at times 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I have always been an emotional person, they have ruled me, pulled me and their force is gravitational. Here too many emotions and memories are struggling to get prominence but I am glad I have been trying to balance them out despite the agony.

      I know we have to let go…I have been doing so but with a groan!! 🙂
      Thank you for understanding and empathising. Love you.

  3. Hi Balroop,

    Oh dear! Are you moving? Where to? Or have you moved already? I was just wondering if all is well and this post came up. I can understand how tough it can get – letting go of those attachments is the toughest – it’s always been for most of us who value sentiments, and that includes me, my friend. Not all of us adjust to change soon, but it gets alright over time, so keep the faith and be well.

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      I had moved four years ago but the real pain and realisation is dawning now because I had just locked my home and left everything in the way I had kept. I had closed my eye to the fact that a home is a home only if you live in it. It loses its beauty and shimmer the moment we leave it. So I have been winding up…a long and painful process…

      Thank you dear friend, kind and loving words do provide some solace and I appreciate your wishes. Stay blessed.

  4. It’s very hard to move home Balroop, to let things that we love, even only material things, to leave some memories and possessions that mean a lot to us behind. It takes time to adjust, to find our balance again. I hope that this change in your life is not too hard to deal with. So many other things matter, you are so right. Till then, may you stay well and safe.

    1. Hi Marie,

      Thank you for endorsing my view…memories and little things seem very valuable but when we have to choose, it becomes quite challenging. It also depends on one’s temperament. I know it is foolish to be too emotional but I am like that and why…I keep questioning myself! 🙂

      This change has been very hard, impenetrable…words fail me and I have not been able to convey my sentiments but life is like that…
      Thanks for the kind words and good wishes, I truly appreciate the support of friends like you. 🙂

  5. Truly emotional. Tears just rolled down naturally as I read it. Why so? Obviously because I was transported to the past when i was part of that house. Where I could go anytime uninvited and was always welcomed and loved. I have innumerable memories there …my loveable nieces, my children running around playing, all of us having fun . I’v spent some of the best days of my life in this house ..But life moves on. Nothing is constant. Change is the law of the universe! Jeevan chalane ka naam chalte raho suboh sham…

    1. Hi Baldeep,

      Tears didn’t well up in my eyes when I wrote this but your reflections did bring them…your thoughts are no less emotional. If you feel so attached to this home, you can very well understand what I have failed to convey through my words, which seem hollow in front of emotions that are buried in this home.

      I know…we have to move on and so I did! Thanks for sharing lovely words, they are therapeutic. 🙂

  6. Stagnant waters don’t allure…flowing water is fresh and exciting…flow! flow…
    You couldn’t have explained it more beautifully Balroop. As we stay in a certain place, it becomes a part of who we are, but then we need to pick our priorities and stand by those. I admire your decision to give priority to relations over material possessions. Wish that with time your new home becomes as dear to you as your old home and you build more happy memories there.

    1. Hi Somali,

      Thank you so much for your pearls of wisdom…they have the power to uplift my mood and thanks a ton for appreciation.

      I have always taken emotional decisions even when I knew I would be losing…the solace of being able to take such decisions and being supported by my dearest hubby is the biggest blessing, which keeps me happy and moving despite all the pain, which is an essential part of life.

  7. I was nodding my head while reading this, Balroop. You’ve expressed my feelings when I moved after my divorce, so acutely. In other words, I can totally relate to what you’re going through. I think possessions will always fall away from the importance of people in our life. Sounds like although this move is difficult, it’s for a good reason and you will find joy in your new home (is it temporary?). Letting go is how we gain new love and joy. Beautiful post!!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      I feel blessed to have friends like you who share my sentiments, shaking me out of emotional slumber and making me understand acceptance is the key…painful moments are realities we have to deal with… Thank you so much for providing moral support. I truly value it.

      I have been deluding myself that this change is temporary but I know deep down…the realities are different…I know I would never come back for a long time…I know once I wrap up I won’t be able to create the same aura in this home, which I loved so much…I know one phase of life is over…yet I am hoping, giving myself more time to accept and move…

  8. Touched by your emotions, Balroop! It seems as if you lived in this house for a considerable length of time. The longer we stay the greater the memories, and then material things are not just concrete, plastic or wood. They are a token of all that was once ours…walls, windows, wardrobes, laundry, grass. Then we disown them while we carry the treasured memories.
    Actually I’ve moved out many times, and I wrote articles on my sentiments but haven’t posted them here. I agree…’home is where love is’.

    May you have smooth sailing during this changing phase as you move towards life full of greater love!

    1. Hi Alka,

      I am glad I could reach your heart, to me the words seemed hollow, I felt I couldn’t find the right words to pour out my emotions.

      Yes, dear friend! 26 years in a home, which I had build bit by bit with my love and devotion is crumbling before me. A major chunk got chipped off when my girls flew away and soared to alien land to fulfil their dreams. What was left seemed meaning less as material possessions lose their sheen without the loving people…yet those walls and wardrobes hold you, it is quite difficult to hold or let go.

      Many thanks for such beautiful thoughts and wishes…hoping to find happiness in my new home.

      1. Balroop, although I never got to live in a single house for so long, I can understand how you feel. In a way you can take it like this…your daughters too must have felt bad while leaving the same house, after all they too spent years there. Now you all will be together, that is if you are moving close to them. Material possessions are certainly nothing in front of near and dear ones. Letting go of things is a loss that will be more than compensated by what you are going to get. I’m sure you’ll be very happy in your new home. It’s a matter of time.

      2. Thank you so much Alka for understanding the emotions that lie dormant in this post…yes, being closer to my most loved relationships is the attraction and inspiration to walk away from this home…letting go is the unwritten law…who can flout it? Love and hugs.

  9. I can relate to Lisa’s point here, Balroop. It was that same period in my life where I actually evaluated everything I owned, and ended up giving things away. I minimized my life but the circumstances were different, many of my belongings brought up sentimental memories but also pain so it was easier to give up. Wishing you the best with this next step in your life journey and hope you find solace in the decisions you have to make about what to keep and what not to..

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      Thank you so much for sharing your reflections…we all have some such situations which are hard to accept yet life goes on…strange are the ways of life! We try to control it but get controlled by the circumstances, resistance is futile…we learn as we move on!

      I appreciate that you have emerged stronger, wiser and mature after all those travails life thrust upon you. Stay blessed dear friend and keep inspiring. 🙂

  10. Hi, Balroop

    We just moved to a new place few months ago.
    I can relate to your feeling. It is really hard to leave some things we love,
    and physical things that mean a lot to us behind.
    It takes time and patience to adjust new place and to settle in again.
    I sincerely hope that this is a good change for you.
    Meanwhile, take one day at a time.

    Love and Hugs to you!

    -Stella Chiu

    1. Hi Stella,

      Thanks a ton for such kind words! You are right…patience is an important part of acceptance and acceptance is the key to all changes…
      I appreciate your good wishes and yes, I am taking ‘one day at a time’…when we take some decision, we must stand by it with a smile 🙂

      Love and hugs back to you too. Stay blessed dear friend.

  11. “All things are transitory…stagnant waters don’t allure…flowing water is fresh and exciting…flow! flow… I tell myself, life is like that…detachments and attachments are old pals, they love to meet, embrace and soar with the wind.”

    I just love that, Balroop. So beautifully expressed. It is really hard to separate from the memories from the things that evoke them. I too have moved for my grandchildren, and though it was hard, it was the right choice. One I’d make again. Best to you on your journey.

    1. Hi Diana,

      Thank you so much for your wishes, I value them greatly. I am glad my thoughts resonate with you and you have taken a similar decision, which turned out to be right. Your words have infused new hope and solace, I appreciate your standing by and sharing your thoughts.

      I apologise for the late reply, I know you can understand my state of mind.

  12. Often we are nudged to move on, and leaving behind so many items which bring so many fond memories I know can be hard to sort through.
    Yet our memories are being created in the now.. It sounds dear Balroop that you will make many more alongside your Grandchildren and at the end of the day we take none of our material possessions with us on our final journey in life..
    Only the memories created through the ‘relationships’ of our hearts.. These are the most precious none can take.. Even though over time some may fade.. I truly believe we carry them through the ethers to be part of all we have become..

    Change is constant.. like our Earth Mother flowing, ever evolving.. So too we grow learning to sift through the debris we gather around us.. We hold onto the material often as a substitute for what we lack..
    Love needs no container to be packed in.. It needs no labels and strings..
    And that dear Balroop is what most of this journey is about..
    Relationships with others and our relationship with ourselves..

    You are showing AMAZING Power in your strengths dear Balroop.. and I thank you for sharing your wisdom as you move yet another mile in our ever expanding journey through Life..

    Love and Blessings dear Friend..
    Sue ❤

    1. Hi Sue,

      Thank you so much for such encouraging words, I am glad you have understood my emotions so well…yes, when we are nudged by emotions, it is hard to resist, we have to flow with them…memories do have incredible power…yes, I have been gathering them just like petals, little moments of joy breathe into my ears, assuring me…all shall be fine, you are on the right track…follow love…embrace it for that is all, which we require.

      I admire your pearls of wisdom dear Sue. Your words come as a breath of fresh breeze that carries along the fragrance of bonding we create around us… Many thanks for sharing such profound reflections. Stay blessed. Much love and hugs 🙂

      1. Bless you also Dear Balroop.. I am pleased some of my words add a little pearl or two here and there.. I often feel those of us who work intuitively as we do within our emotions are guided to speak and talk with words I find are often prompted from our higher source.. I can say many a wise word to others, yet often fail to adhere to its wisdom within my own learning curves 😉 Such is the lessons we learn as we grow.. But I know all will be fine, within your world.. This I do know intuitively 😉 😀

      2. Thank you dear Sue…words that come from friends like you are like an oasis and bring much awaited solace. I am glad our learning curves ran into each other 🙂 Thanks for passing on the vibes of intuitive learning 🙂 Much love!

  13. I take it that you are relocating to be nearer your grandchildren, and I salute you for making such a momentous decision. I, too, am faced with such a choice, and I can affirm that it is not an easy decision. In the end, I imagine my physical limitations will make the decision for me. I envy you for having already made the choice. All the best as you move forward in your life. I’m sure you’ve made the right decision. 🙂

    1. Hi Joe,

      It was not an easy decision and even now I have my doubts about it…I wish I could peep into the future to see where I would be and whether this relocation would continue to give me love and peace as it gives now…

      Many thanks for the wishes and encouraging me with such positive words. Stay blessed and I wish your choice should make you happier. 🙂

  14. So much emotion hear, dear Balroop… I hope you will be surrounded by happiness when you are closer to your grandchildren. It certainly must have been a big decision but I think moving to be with family is such a wonderful reason to relocate. I send love to you as you pack and move to a new place to be with family ❤

    1. Thank you so much dear Christy for lovely words of encouragement. Yes it was not an easy decision…hope it turns out to be the right one.
      I appreciate your standing by and sharing your thoughts about it.

  15. Hi Balroop,

    This piece is so beautiful your words resonated with me as I read them; I love your writing style!

    I hope that whatever it is you’re going through, you’ll find more joy and may it spread upon those around you.

    Take care,
    Ethan

    1. Hi Ethan,

      Welcome to Emotional Shadows, I am glad you liked my thoughts and style of writing, many thanks for that.

      I appreciate your initiative and would soon visit your site once I am done with my urgent commitments. 🙂

  16. `All things are transitory…stagnant waters don’t allure…flowing water is fresh and exciting…flow! flow… I tell myself, life is like that…detachments and attachments are old pals, they love to meet, embrace and soar with the wind´…

    That was a compelling statement, my friend… `The best things in Life are not things´, as the saying goes…
    A very nice reading, dear Balroop… thanks so much for sharing … Sending love and best wishes. Aquileana ⭐️

Comments are closed.