Looking Beyond

Looking beyond the roadblocks

Our path may lead us to make us unique
Yet we have to bridge that distance
To find our sacred space
A space that springs solace
So that the weary traveler finds a place
To rejuvenate, to reflect, to race…
 
The roadblocks may scare us
Yet we have to revive
The art of wisdom within
The light, the insight, which only gleams
When our heart aligns with our head
 
We learn to see beyond little achievements
We learn to know ourselves
We discover the harmony only
To fathom the depth of our aspirations
Our dreams, which lingered…
 
If they have waited behind the drapes
Are they worth pursuing?
We need to ponder…
If they couldn’t ignite the light within
Are they pertinent at twilight?
 
When afterglow lingers long…
The emotional capital that demands debt
The fading glow that yearns for upsurge
The frozen emotions that crave to thaw
The weary eyes that ache to sleep!
 
Sleep…the eternal bliss, the only antidote
Sleep…the delightful dreamy domain
Of all apprehensions, of all detachments
Sleep…the inevitable reality of life!
 
I’ll wake up in another land… of hopes
I look forward to living again
This time with renewed fervor and freedom
Promising myself to follow unfulfilled aspirations.
© Balroop Singh.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please share your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

Image credit

 

 

47 thoughts on “Looking Beyond

  1. Another lovely poem from you, Balroop. Always enjoy reading them. I felt that this one took me to many places. At the beginning, I felt a sense of constraint: there is the need for searching to find what’s important to us so we can head in the right direction. There will always be roadblocks, but they will ultimately make us stronger and wiser.

    Towards the end of the poem, I really liked how you brought in the idea of sleep. I smile, because I like sleep a lot 😀 With sleep comes dreaAming, and that brings about the feeling that anything’s possible.

    “We learn to see beyond little achievements” This was my favourite. Achievements can make us feel good and rightfully so – we have come some way and learnt. Then again, it is important to not let ego take over. Hope you are doing well and you enjoyed your trip 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I have been in this state of mind…trying to look beyond where I am, trying to awaken hope that I am on the right track. At the same time, my thoughts veer towards what more do I want from life…aspirations, if any can wait for the next journey…so you could pick up my moods so well…shifting reflections are so clearly drawn in this poem…I am myself amazed at how much I have compressed into it!

      Sleep here is symbolic…a step into an unknown land, if any that awaits us.

      I am in the final stages of my visit, few more days to bask in the glory of most loved memories. Thank you for a wonderful analysis 🙂 Love your way of looking at this poem. Stay blessed.

    1. Thank you Diana. I appreciate your visits, love your thoughts.
      Yes, the mysteries of life remain unraveled despite our introspective endeavors…just a humble attempt to give voice to mixed emotions. 🙂

  2. Life’s road map, the exploration and the journey within are neatly captured here in a poetic expression. Those weary eyes aching for sleep eternal, in the expectation of waking up in another land, into new lease of life to work on unrealized dreams are another neat reflection of a larger aspiration that drives all life.

    1. Hi Raj,

      Many thanks for a wonderful synopsis of scattered words and thoughts. I am delighted at your philosophical thoughts that also convey a veiled appreciation 🙂

      The complexities of life drive us towards the path of reflection, which are guided by myriad emotions…mingling into each other, producing this mishmash! I am glad you liked it. Your view is immensely valued. Have a blessed day.

    1. Thanks for the meaningful advice dear friend. 🙂 I appreciate and agree. When you flow with the words of poetic form, nothing seems significant 🙂

  3. The journey of life with all the ups and downs. We learn as we proceed forward, we open our eyes not only to see but to observe 🙂 And, then comes, one day, the ultimate- “Sleep…the eternal bliss, the only antidote
    Sleep…the delightful dreamy domain
    Of all apprehensions, of all detachments
    Sleep…the inevitable reality of life!”

    I simply loved this interpretation of death…
    Wonderful poem, Balroop…:-)

    1. Thank you Mani, I am glad you liked the journey into the dreamy domain…it is endless and challenging at times but very beautiful indeed. 🙂

      Love your reflections. Have a wonderful week.

  4. You might find this interesting. Seems related to the subject you address here: The Prompter Room
    For Saturday, March 19, 2016:   “Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars.” Kahlil Gibran “A little talent is a good thing to have if you want to be a writer.  But the only real requirement is the ability to remember every scar.” Stephen King Oh, […]
    writing, characters, suffering, daily prompt, scars, Kahlil Gibran, Stephen King
    https://magiclampedits.wordpress.com/2016/03/19/the-prompter-room-164/. Aloha, Balroop.

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thanks for the appreciation, it is much valued.

      I am delighted to have transported you into my world of fantasy, with its foundation firmly rooted in the realities of life. 🙂

      Thanks for standing by. Have a blessed week.

  5. Beautiful, Balroop! This poem seems to really reflect where you’re at right now in your journey with your move. I love this: “We learn to see beyond little achievements
    We learn to know ourselves
    We discover the harmony only
    To fathom the depth of our aspirations
    Our dreams, which lingered…”

    1. Hi Lisa,

      Yes dear friend, you are so intuitive…my thoughts convey what is my state of mind right now…in the mode of letting go what I had been holding, detaching myself from material possessions, still clutching the memories…

      Thank you so much for understanding me so well, you are an awesome friend.
      Love and hugs 🙂 Stay blessed.

  6. The journey never ends Balroop (unless of course until it does 🙂 ) While we are on the path, our own wisdom is always available and guide us as light. And even when we don’t get things right the first time around, we can continue striving, continue moving forward to live the life we are each capable of. Thank you for your uplifting and motivating words.

  7. Hi Vishnu,

    Your pearls of wisdom always come as a breath of fresh breeze…always meaningful, loaded with profound lessons of life. Many thanks for that!

    Striving is a way of life and yes, it goes on just like water…perpetually flowing, merging into the unknown 🙂

    Stay blessed and happy.

  8. Beautiful poem… And such a deep perspective, loaded with inner wisdom. Here’s to Life as a journey of discoveries! … Love and Best wishes, dear Balroop, Aquileana 🔆🌟☀️

  9. Hi, Balroop

    Beautiful poem. We begin our journey by searching, moving forward. There are road blocks along the way. At the end of the day, we dream during our sleeps. New revelation comes in during our dreams.

    Love to read the poem over and over again.

    – Stella Chiu

    1. Hi Stella,

      Thank you for the appreciation. It is our search that makes our journey interesting and our life worth living…obstacles are actually stepping stones to learning and moving ahead with renewed confidence to accomplish all that we crave for.

      Dreams are beautiful assurances and keep us on the right path! Thanks for reading this poem and sharing your insights. Have a blessed day 🙂

  10. I feel like you are on the road Balroop, getting ready for a new life. You need to adjust and find your place.
    “I look forward to living again”. Absolutely Beautiful my dear.
    Wishing you the best in this new life. And may your words keep embodying the glory of life.
    Sending you love and prayers.

    1. Thank you for the loving wishes Marie…we all try to look beyond and find new avenues, which take us forward…that is what life is all about!
      Sending you too all the wishes for happiness and solace. Stay blessed.

  11. This is indeed a beautiful poem Balroop, and the message that you have weaved in it is powerfully profound. The metaphor of journey of life and the road we travel, the space we want to create for ourselves.

    We all look for that little space, the zone of solace where heart and mind aligns. The journey is not easy and journey has its ups and down and the destination has the distance to cover. We need to bridge the distance through our efforts, aspirations and persuasion. It is a challenge and overcoming the obstacles needs the thoughts and yes it needs the break in terms of sleep.

    You have wonderfully brought this aspect of life and half the life we sleep and that gives the energy and a fresh round of thoughts that can change our life’s journey and we take new decision and we have new beginning everyday we wake from our sleep…

    This following stanza really touched me and I’m forced to contemplate more and more on the deep thoughts you have encapsulate into it…

    The emotional capital that demands debt
    The fading glow that yearns for upsurge
    The frozen emotions that crave to thaw
    The weary eyes that ache to sleep!

    Happy Holi!!!
    😀

    1. Hi Nihar,

      Many thanks for delving deep into my thoughts and words to discern the messages embedded in this poem…you are an awesome reader, I appreciate the way you have pulled out the synopsis of the journey that is being talked about in these lines.

      I also like the extract that has touched you, loaded with so many thoughts I have tried to gather and keep veiled for the readers to interpret in their own way. When the thoughts flow naturally, some of them seem obscure at that time but slowly unfold themselves as we let them move at their own pace…that is what I did to these reflections, which yearned to burst open yet I kept aloof, leaving them hanging…I am delighted you could pick them up to contemplate. Thank you soooo much!

      Looking Beyond was written at an earlier time but aligns so much with my present state of mind that I had to share it and I have discovered some new meanings to these lines. Strange are the ways of life and our notions!

      Stay blessed and have a nice weekend. 🙂

      1. Life is such wonderful journey and the reflections en-route to the final destination and the musings make journey more engaging and strikingly intriguing…the irony is that we don’t live to reach our final destination in our life, we all live to live the journey and the moments in the journey that is memorable and the little moments that inspires us for a better life for tomorrow. We live in hope and aspiration.
        Not easy to pen down such beautiful thoughts and with such ease, the flow, the lucidity matters and you have wonderfully crafted that aspect of the thoughts and yes, the choice of words makes a big difference and you have profusely and perfectly embedded your thoughts…
        Always a pleasure reading such lovely thoughts…
        You too have a beautiful weekend.
        😀

  12. We often block our own roads and find many obstacles to litter our path.. This poem seems to have you delving deep to fathom what lays beyond.. I hope as you allowed your ” Sleep” to wash over you, you awoke to new hopes and new dreams as you trusted you are now where you are meant to be..
    Sometimes its best if we do not look too far in front.. And savour instead the moment of where we are right now..

    A beautiful insightful poem dear Balroop.. I hope you are feeling more settled in your new surroundings as you let go of so many things to be where you are today..

    Love and Blessings to you my dear friend
    Sue ❤

    1. Thank you dear Sue, your reflections reveal roads of clarity and a clear path is what we seek, hoping to make our journey easier!

      At present I have been trying to convince myself that looking beyond what seems more comfortable is the only way…I have almost wrapped up all those memories of the past…my flight will hopefully land happily as I have willingly and slowly detached, giving myself a lot of time, choosing what seemed better…new surroundings will not be totally new as I have been adapting myself to them, testing my patience and positivity…I am quite ready now yet emotions do keep drowning me in their sea.

      Many thanks for your love and blessings dear Sue, I value them immensely and send the same to you. 🙂

      1. Yes those emotions are only natural that they should flood and I know from experience how they can then ask us to question.. But I know you know deep within your being that what is not put into place is meant to be.. So keep looking forward along your future path and give thanks for all of those gifts the past brought you so that this new journey can unfold smoothly and effortlessly..
        Sending my love and Blessings.. For all is well in your world.. ❤ xx

      2. Thank you dear Sue for the encouragement…future path may be uncertain and unknown to us yet positivity meets the curves to hug them and smile.
        All the gifts of past are the blessings I cherish and hope to meet more.
        Love and hugs, I agree with you. Positive thoughts keep us upbeat. 🙂

  13. Balroop, I believe in no regrets for paths chosen. You have achieved much, between writing, teaching, counseling and sharing wisdom I cannot imagine any lingering sadness of unfulfilled dreams. I admire what you have written. Very beautiful and a powerful message to try and discern our talents to choose our paths clearly. Hugs, Robin

  14. I absolutely agree with you dear friend…regrets don’t let us move ahead, I keep them away and flow…yet some thoughts do linger to remind, some dreams do peep in to brighten our life, lurking around us till we address them and this is my way…give them life through a written word!

    Thank you Robin for your beautiful reflections, much appreciated. 🙂 Hugs back to you.

Comments are closed.