Why Are Some People More Emotional And Lovable?

Emotional intensity

Emotions rule the world…all emotional fools think so and I considered myself to be the one till I stumbled upon the research that recognizes ‘emotional intensity’ to be an authentic part of human brain.

These reflections are a consequence of tumultuous emotional phase that I have crossed successfully… emotions have been reigning over me for over a month now and I have understood why this space that I call my haven has been named ‘Emotional Shadows.’

However hard I try to push those shadows away, they keep on lingering, they come in various forms and always win me over to look at each situation from an emotional angle.

Probably I am born with a special streak, emotional aspects move me more than others albeit I am always searching for the reasons, which seem to be embedded somewhere in my DNA or my past.

Why are some people more emotional?

Why do some people get emotionally charged and others remain tranquil in the most challenging situations?

Scientists have found an answer to emotional intensity and responsiveness. Highly sensitive people are not abnormal and immature as they are dubbed to be! It is a ‘pattern of brain activation.’

They are extremely tuned to their environment due to an inherent trait called sensory processing sensitivity. (SPS) This trait is associated with their behavior and reactions.

Emotionally sensitive people are:79d1f6557a2f422c620a53a19e785a4b

  • More aware
  • More understanding
  • Self-motivated
  • Highly expressive
  • Intuitive
  • Instinctive
  • Easily perturbed

They experience the world in a different manner. They could be gifted with some special qualities, which surface when they feel loved.

They are extremely endearing and engaging. Only those who come closer to understand them can really appreciate them.

They are loved because of their emotional intensity, which can be discerned in their demeanor and conversation.

They find joy in little events:

Since emotions rule them, they can derive delight from insignificant events like running into an old acquaintance or a visit to their childhood home. Their attachments define them and they love to spend time in the past, reliving those moments and refreshing the memories.

They possess a passion for learning:

They dive headlong into every new activity that interests them. Age doesn’t dissuade them as they ride on the emotional wings of hope. Whatever they take up, they put their heart and soul into completing that task, without caring for the perils that they might encounter.

For them, all dreams are real:

They can never get deterred by the warnings and hazards rather get stimulated by them. They focus on their dreams with the same emotional intensity as their love for relationships, which are extremely important for them. They offer their best and expect the world to be good and kind.

Positive power drives them:

They may be having their dark moments but they don’t get frustrated easily as a unique positive energy within them makes them ride those dark horses to gallop away into the world they love to dwell in. Positivity is the hallmark of their personality. They possess the power to inspire others.

Emotionally sensitive people exhibit their emotions with pride and that eventually becomes their strength. They do not believe in hiding their sentiments and that is why they are lovable…only if you appreciate emotions!

Emotionally strong

“Never apologize for being sensitive or emotional.
Let this be a sign that you’ve got a big heart and aren’t afraid to let others see it. Showing your emotions is a sign of strength.” – Brigitte Nicole

Are you emotionally more sensitive than expected? I would love to hear your views.

Thank you for reading this. Your support is immensely appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

30 thoughts on “Why Are Some People More Emotional And Lovable?

  1. I think I may be privileged (or guilty) of being in this group of humans 🙂 Sometimes I over react and have to stop myself and ask why I have certain feelings. I’ve also been told by sarcastic people that I’m too sensitive—when they’re taking a dig at my expense. I don’t fall for that trick anymore and don’t listen to B.S. from such people. I love this post because you’ve pointed out all the positives of being a sensitive soul. Thank you, Balroop for this refreshing perspective on emotions!

    1. Hi Lisa,

      I would call it a privilege as all people are not blessed with such sensitivities…being kind, loving and empathetic, which comes naturally to emotionally sensitive persons is indeed a special trait.

      Who cares about sarcasm! It is all around us and it is better to ignore it. Life is full of more beautiful things than getting upset over such digs. Positivity is such an asset and therefore we need to nurture it. Thank you for being such a support 🙂

  2. A very clear and balanced analysis of emotional people, varied from negative portrayals of emotional people that abound in social discourse. I can see myself in many of the aspects described here. A high and sensitive emotional state connects to sharper perceptions, clearer perspectives, and astutely intelligent and innovative approaches serving as the bedrock of creative architectures. It is, therefore, not surprising that the field is populated by most of the creative and scientific minds. Also, the world today speaks about IQ being balanced by stronger EQ and SQ. Thanks Balroop for the post.

    1. Hi Raj,

      Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you found this analysis ‘balanced’ though I have kept the negative aspect out and rightly so because emotionally sensitive persons possess the potential to handle negative emotions quite well. They emerge out stronger and resilient. Probably because of their EQ and intuitive farsightedness.

      It delights me to note that you could feel connected with my reflections about emotionally sensitive people. No wonder we feel an affinity with our perspectives about life and people. 🙂 Stay blessed and have a nice week ahead.

  3. I have some of these emotional and more sensitive characteristics. I get hurt feelings, cry or sob when others are afflicted or senseless incidents happen. I hope this is a blessing to others since I feel I am empathetic to their pains. You seem quite warm and loving, Balroop. I appreciate your warmth and our acquaintance! Hugs, Robin

    1. Robin I knew you would feel connected with my observations. Your writing clearly reveals that you are immensely emotional and empathetic. Yes! It is indeed a blessing to understand emotions so well as they empower us to grasp them better. Thank you for such kind words dear friend. Hugs back to you.

  4. It is so nice to hear the meaning behind your blog title, Balroop. Very nice that you have a positive take on being an emotional person. There is no shame in being this kind of person, and all those traits you pointed out are valuable traits one can have.

    I especially agree on the being more self-aware point. I see myself as a highly sensitive person and like to observe other’s body language and facial expressions, and I feel concerned when I sense that they are feeling bored or unhappy in my company. Also, I feel disturbed easily, especially when something changes or doesn’t go right. What can I do but adapt to changes as best as I can when the changes present themselves. Hope you are well, Balroop. Have a good week.

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I am glad to hear that you too are sensitive to emotions in a special manner. Being aware of bodily gestures and the ability to read faces definitely points towards understanding emotional signals better. I have experienced such situations time and again and have even been asked how I manage to read the minds. Often my answer is the cliche…’face is the index of our mind.’

      I feel such traits are innate and get embellished with experience. Intuition too helps and guides us out of those disturbing moments. Thank you for sharing your perspective, such discussions are great learning experiences. 🙂 Have a nice week.

      1. “face is the index of our mind.’ I have never heard of this cliched phrase before. I think I will remember it now. Always love our discussions, Balroop. You have a good week 🙂

  5. I must say I feel we all are emotional beings, Balroop, so the distinctions are perhaps more to do with the degree and timing of both inner and outer expressions of emotive forces, it seems to me, and think this is perhaps what you are also implying in any case. Exceptions would be those leaning towards psychopathy, and the attendant lack of empathic intuitions, in which the nervous (specifically, Limbic) system is atypically functioning. A fascinating read, for which many thanks!

    1. Hi Hariod,

      We are emotional beings but the dimensions and intensities vary widely, that’s why some people feel it hard to let go and some don’t feel much attached and scoff at those who are emotionally distressed at little upheavals. To my mind the exceptions are not extended as far as ‘psychopathy,’ which could be the other extreme and a totally far-fetched thought.

      Thank you for sharing your insights, much appreciated.

  6. Hi Balroop, Thanks for explaining in details about what it entails to be emotionally sensitive and for listing out the traits. All the traits are worth developing except for I guess the last one. This also means that emotionally sensitive people need to take extra care not to get too perturbed in stressful situations. An interesting and meaningful read.

    1. Hi Somali,

      I am glad that you have liked this humble analysis of emotionally sensitive people. These traits may appear to be good but are often scoffed at by those who can’t understand and appreciate the limitations of emotions. For them it is a dramatic presentation, which needs to be curtailed!

      Thanks for sharing your view, much appreciated as always. 🙂

  7. Never apologize, no. Except perhaps to that child that resides with you for not understanding her sooner. Or at least that’s how it works for me. I have no regrets, only a tinge of sadness that I didn’t honor my own sensitivities, so frowned upon by the outside world, itself unready and unwilling to bear them. And I did so try and fit in, ultimately to no avail and with much pain and suffering on my part.

    As for shadows, Jung believed them to be integrally part of human existence. To deny or push them away pushes not only the discomfort aside (which surely rears its head in another form), but pushes away that womb of possibilities. All creatures on earth, and even galaxies are birthed in darkness. It’s the realm of possibilities.

    1. Hi Bela,

      You are absolutely right…regrets serve no useful purpose and I am glad you have understood what lies within our heart. When we follow our heart, we know what we want, without caring for what the world expects from us…frowns fade once we stop caring for those useless demands, pain and suffering eases and we start enjoying our emotions. It may take some time to realise what is more important but once it hits us, life becomes smoother.

      Yes! welcoming all kinds of shadows is much healthier than pushing them back into dark crevices. We learn the lessons of life from those dark corridors, we start appreciating the streaks of light only after we get pushed into those dark corners. Thank you for lovely insights. Stay blessed 🙂

  8. Balroop, your question “Why do some people get emotionally charged and others remain tranquil in the most challenging situations?” well, that’s where most people differ. Some people can take any nonsense from others, or go through any number of bad experiences without ever taking things to heart. Likewise, they will say anything to anyone and then forget the very next day as if those words have no meaning. But deep down it’s the emotional beings, those who feel everything deeply live life to its fullest. They feel things more as they do when there is some major change…they cry over things but move on as a healthier being rather than keeping things subdued as if nothing matters.
    But being ‘easily perturbed’ can be trait that has to be watched out…

  9. Hi Alka,

    That is just a little, insignificant error. I often come across many glaring ones! Thanks for pointing out.

    I agree with you that many people are unaffected by all the nonsense…I wonder how they can take it! If it is between siblings, it can be sorted out with a smile but some people are quite insensitive to emotions. Probably they were raised in such an atmosphere or were never exposed to finer emotions!

    There are another kind of people who never share their deepest emotions! Suppression makes them superficial and untrustworthy. You can never understand such people. Pent up emotions prove to be unhealthy for loving relationships. So it is better to be emotionally sensitive! 🙂

  10. Interesting piece, Balroop, and it makes perfect sense that people who are more sensitive to the environment would not only be more emotionally reactive but better able to pick up on emotional cues. I consider myself emotionally engaged with life and recognize that emotion is the impetus behind most of my thoughts, actions, and reactions. At the same time, I’m pretty even-keeled – probably partly a result of getting older and mellowing 🙂 I think, if we can turn our emotional sensitivity into empathy, our responses to the behaviors of others can be softer and invite greater understanding, which also facilitates forgiveness and the ability to let go and move on when that is called for. Lovely and thought-provoking post, my friend.

    1. Hi Diana,

      I agree with you, emotionally sensitive people have a lot to share, emotions form the basis of all their writings, provide a boost to their imagination…fiction or fantasy…they can weave a web of words around emotions.

      Thank you for taking such a broader view of the values that emotions can evoke. Lovely thoughts! 🙂

  11. Interesting as always, Balroop. I am more emotionally sensitive. I think it was difficult growing up in a culture that wasn’t so open to emotinally sensitive people. Patriarchy, cultural values and the society I grew up wanted nothing to do with emotions:) Much of my life I took this to heart and cut myself off from my emotions. I think today I’m more awakened to my sensitivities, have a better understanding of emotions and embrace them more (instead of suppressing them) It took time, introspection, therapy 🙂 and more. One place that emotions are welcomed and celebrated are right here on your blog.

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      I can understand when you talk about such a culture, which expects us to keep away from emotions…it is so oppressive and many boys are confused why they need to hide their true emotions. Some of my students would confide their fears when they felt there was a helpful ear to guide them.

      I am glad you have learnt to understand and express emotions…cultural constraints do take a lot of time to wear off! I don’t remember when did I feel the need to celebrate emotions but I have always carried them on my sleeve even at the peril of being scoffed at. Even when I tried to suppress them at the suggestion of getting mature, I felt stifled and therefore let them flow as always.

      Thank you for sharing an honest view 🙂 Loved it.

  12. I consider myself an emotionally sensitive person… at least if I am going through good times I am… I guess it is good… but it is true that you could find yourself to be easily perturbed.. and when someone hurts you feel very vulnerable and sad… I think I take my time to truly open up to people because of the fact of being among this group you have made reference to on your post…
    Great reading, dear Balroop… love and best wishes to you, my friend. Aquileana 😉

  13. Thank you for this Balroop.. Reading your words helps me greatly understand my own emotional journey. Whereby we have struggled to overcome our wounds to find deep within that core of inner strength.. It was a while before I understood that part of my own journey was coming to understand my emotions..
    It took a total breakdown of them, in a nervous breakdown before I could align them and see why it was I needed to enter my own tunnel of darkness before I emerged into the Light and start to love myself more..
    Thank you for your words Balroop.. They are good reminders
    I shed tears easily.. For I sense like you the wounds of others often as if they were my own…
    I would much sooner ‘Feel’ than be uncaring.. Your last Quote helped me see myself as being stronger.. 🙂 thank you xxx

    ” Never apologize for being sensitive or emotional.
    Let this be a sign that you’ve got a big heart and aren’t afraid to let others see it. Showing your emotions is a sign of strength.” – Brigitte Nicole

    Many thanks.. Love and Blessings Sue xxx

Comments are closed.