When You Meet An Author And Discover A Paragon Of Friendship…

Friendship quote

I have always been an introvert, probably because of the protective environment in which I was encased as a child and a teenager. I have been never good at making friends and after a particular age I just gave up!

My earliest memory of trying to make friends is that of trying to help everyone with their homework. There were many shirkers who would come to our class without doing their homework and I would offer to do it for them!

Then I had to change my school and was at sea, sitting alone in one corner when this girl (who later became my best friend) approached me with a question…friend, what is your name?

What an easy way to make friends, I thought but I could never learn it.

I have a very limited number of friends and I can count them on my fingers but I can proudly declare that they are my true friends; I can fall back on them and they would respond immediately.

Digital world has been a blessing for me! I found it so easy to make friends online and I have made some wonderful friends. Thinking of meeting them has been out of my imaginative expanse.

Sometimes reality knocks at our imaginative ingresses louder!

One such doorway opened last week when I met Joe and his vivacious wife Becky.

IMG_3044
Joe with his lovely wife Becky

Joe Perrone Jr. met me through his blog and I liked his witty style of writing…more so as he took pleasure in laughing at himself.

I didn’t even know where he lived till I happened to mention that I would be visiting Asheville. A few instant clicking of our digital devices and there we were…face to face, shaking hands, sharing lunch and ice-creams along with never ending conversation, which was as vibrant as dear Becky!

Joe asked me are you ba..roop, I replied BaLroop, with a stress on L! And the laughter that cheered our hearts still encompasses me.

Earlier, when I told my husband that we were going to meet one of my blogger friends, he said ‘what would you talk’…oh we would see, said I, almost to myself and convinced him that it would be fun. Indeed it was!

I didn’t have to think what to talk as the conversation flowed so spontaneously that we forgot we had met for the first time…it was like meeting old friends after a long time and catching up with all the stories we had to share.

Never was there an awkward moment, which we often face when we meet an acquaintance. Not a word appeared out of place. I give all the credit to my dear friends Joe and Becky and their art of conversation.

Many topics were discussed, the most interesting being how he met his wife Becky, the prettiest and the most charming face, having the brightest eyes behind those spectacles.

That day I carried some profound lessons in my heart:

  • Friendship is not counted in the number of years we spend together but the mirthful moments of delight it offers us.
  • Friendship evokes your inner virtues through honest conversation.
  • Friendships can never diminish by distance.
  • Some gifts are such, which only we can give to ourselves.

friendship

Thank you for reading this. Please share your valuable reflections about your friends.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

 

 

43 thoughts on “When You Meet An Author And Discover A Paragon Of Friendship…

  1. This is such a perfect story to showcase the beauty of life ~ every day offering an opportunity, something that can have such a strong and powerful impact in life. There is something about key moments, “mirthful moments of delight” is a great way to put it, when they arrive there is not a better feeling. Nothing quite like a friendship ~ new or old, it makes us grow in a positive way. Beautiful post Balroop!

    1. Thank you dear Randall for liking the story, which is such a natural expression of delight that one experiences after meeting wonderful people…far away yet so near in feelings and emotions! Some of them are probably destined to meet us!
      You are right, friendship makes us grow and positivity always gleams around the word ‘friendship’ 🙂 Stay blessed!

  2. So nice that you got to meet fellow blogger Joe and his wife Becky. That is such a lovely, humorous and happy shot of the three of you. I love it. Looked like all of you had a great time together, and it sounds like a moment none of you will forget. Agree with you. Friendship is about the moments spent together. It’s not about how long we’ve known each other, but those who say and will be there for us in both good and bad times 🙂 Honoured to have connected with you, Balroop. I’m not one for making friends, since i like to keep my guard up but thank you every so much for being such a great friend and supported in the blog world to me – and also to so many other bloggers here 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      You have a quick discerning eye! How well have you described our picture. Thank you for catching the happiness that our pic depicts! Indeed we had a memorable time together, enough to last till the next meeting!

      I am glad we can connect so well from far off lands…words are wonderful as they can create lasting bonds and I love to read all those multifarious themes you share. I appreciate your candid confessions…that is probably the secret of our friendship. 🙂 Stay blessed!

  3. What a lovely story Balroop! It must have been a wonderful moment for all of you. I can’t agree more with you, friends are special. I met some very good ones with both of my blogs. With some, it’s like “love at first sight”.
    I am glad you got this chance to meet. Look at your faces, you are shining!
    Thank you for being such a true and kind person. Stay blessed.

    1. I am glad you found this story ‘lovely’ but this is just half of it. You have to hop over to Joe’s blog as he has given more details and more pics.
      Thank you for being such a wonderful friend dear Marie. Have a nice week.

  4. How wonderful, Balroop, and it only goes to show how friendships online can readily translate into so-called ‘real world’ friendships. I have met some exceptionally warm people through blogging, a handful of whom I can now count as those who I deeply care for, just as I would were we to meet in person each day, and just as you describe above in being totally dependable and supportive. Lovely!

    1. Thank you dear Hariod, for understanding the emotion behind this story. You are absolutely right that many blogger friends we interact with exude warmth worth appreciation…I wish I could meet them too!

      All this validates the fact that words are extremely powerful, they can create fantastic connections, which remain invaluable. Many thanks for sharing your perspective, which I greatly admire.

  5. How could 4-1/2 hours pass so quickly? That is the question I asked myself as Becky and I drove home from our get-together with Balroop and her delightful husband, Jatinder Pal. So often, a face-to-face meeting fails to live up to our expectations, but not so with Balroop. It was as though we were old friends who hadn’t seen one another for a long time. We had so much to say that the time just flew by. As Franklin D. Roosevelt said, “We have nothing to fear but fear itself.”
    The rewards are infinite when we can set aside our fear and just be ourselves. Life is so short, why limit our experiences? Thanks, Balroop, for having the courage to take a chance. We’re both richer for it! 🙂

    1. Many thanks for those beautiful words, dripping with warm benevolence. There was absolutely no fear Joe since I have moved much beyond it…there was just a little apprehension of meeting a new person but I brushed it aside, keeping your smiling portrait in mind, that picture with a cap at your blog 🙂

      Time fleets only when we are most happy and that’s why I had to eat the melted portions of ice-cream in between the clicking and the laughing! I agree we walked away much ‘richer’ 🙂

  6. A delightful post, Balroop. I think many writers are introverts and blogging allows us to have the best of both worlds – friendships without having to leave home. But I do think face to face connections would be great fun when the stars align. It sounds like you had effortless fun 🙂

    1. Thank you Diana for being one such friend ‘who has the best of both the worlds’…it is indeed an exhilarating experience. 🙂 Have a wonderful week.

  7. I don’t know about this, Balroop – it only tells half the story, so I guess I’ll have to tell the other half, myself.

    I am the one who had the incredible experience of meeting YOU and JP. When Joe told me that we would be meeting in Asheville, I thought it would be nice, meeting a fellow author/writer. We’d have a bite to eat, smile a bit, and then go home. Just a couple of hours…

    Long before we passed the four and a half hour mark of our visit, I knew it was one of the most special experiences anyone could have. Would we ever have met had it not been for the Internet and the blogs both of you write, thousands of miles apart? What if Joe had been on time, mailing you his book? You never would have mentioned the trip to Asheville, and “we” never would have been. It was meant to be for all of us.

    Your face radiates every bit of who you are – intelligent, caring, ebullient, introspective, and just plain FUN! I enjoyed every moment of the time we spent together, and yes, a new friendship was born that afternoon. I am so happy about it, and will enjoy knowing you as the years pass. Oh, by the way, there is no picture in the group of all the pictures we took, that truly shows your beauty. The glow that radiates from your face is something the camera is not equipped to capture, but the heart does.

    1. Hi Becky,

      I am grateful to you for coming over to Emotional Shadows and warmly welcome you here. My gratitude doesn’t end there…but I have no words to respond to your observations! I am humbled by your choice of words! No wonder you could make those moments we spent together so memorable! You possess amazing communication skills and your eyes…they breathe eternal positivity. I could catch those positive vibes the moment I saw you.

      I absolutely agree with you…we were destined to meet! Many thanks for making it such an unforgettable experience. I am delighted that I could touch your heart in such a special way. Hugs and love dear friend. Have a nice week.

  8. Oh, that is so cool that you got to meet your blogger friend!! Sometimes I think it would be amazing to get all of my blogger friends in one room and have a big party. Now, I must go to Joe’s site and check out his work. If you love it then I’m sure I will, too. You’ve given such a lovely description of friendship, Balroop. 🙂

    1. Hi Lisa,

      What a terrific idea! When are you hosting that BIG party!! 🙂 Love you for being such an awesome friend, you are one of those friends whom I would love to meet.

      Thank you for being here all the time, that shows our bonding. I am glad you liked my description and hope you enjoyed reading more about our day. Stay blessed!

  9. OOOOOOO, how wonderful to meet!
    Especially when the conversation flows so easily.
    It’s always a bit scary, don’t you think?
    You are beautiful, BaLroop. WOW. x

    1. Yes Jeri, the pleasure is doubled when you find that such a friend lives up to your expectations! Wishing you such an opportunity at one of those writer conferences you attend. 🙂

  10. I stumbled upon your site through Mabel Kwong’s blog.

    I have read some of your posts. You are deep! You have the foresight and insight, Balroop.

    I am glad you had a great time with your blogging friend. Peals of laughter in the distance! 😀

    Over the years, I have established different type of friendships. People come and go in your life. But the people who have had made a profound impressions on me have been people I met on a professional level and complete strangers in foreign lands. When the goings get tough, I think about the kindness, support and generousity that I have had received. It leaves a lump in my throat and I am forever grateful.

    1. Thank you dear traveller for making an effort to stand by Emotional Shadows. You are most welcome. I appreciate your encouragement and interest.

      I am glad to know that your experiences with people have been so good. I too have some wonderful friends who have enriched my life in various ways, bringing out some of the best aspects of my behavior with their benevolence and love. Blogging has widened those horizons as it is teeming with the most supportive and wonderful writers! 🙂 Stay blessed!

  11. I can understand how it feels, Balroop. Friendship is not just a word, it’s a feeling. And, the best part of blogging is making wonderful friends. It feels great when we meet them in reality. I happened to meet some blogger friends and felt in the same way as you did… 🙂

    1. Hi Mani,

      When we connect with each other, sitting thousands of miles away, the joy it generates is immeasurable…friendship gets a new definition and yes, only the heart can feel that emotion! Meeting such a friend is beyond the dream world!

      Thank you for sharing the same emotion…stay blessed!

  12. Yesterday I left my comments but as I checked now, I could not see anything. I used my phone to type so that could be the reason.
    Lovely post and pictures, full of warmth and radiance.

    1. Hi Alka,

      I have checked the spam folder, your comment is nowhere! I think your phone ate it up! Lol! Thank you for revisiting and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  13. Just like I met a couple of my blogger friends during my trips to India twice in the last few years.

    Such wonderful memories we create ☺️

  14. Hi Balroop….yes blogging allows us to have a diverse group of friends from different places, on the basis of some common interests.There’s a certain amount of excitement when you get to meet blogging friends in person.Understandably you had a wonderful time meeting Joe and Becky. 🙂

  15. HI Balroop – it’s interesting how many of my blog friends are my friends in real life. I was going over some of my friends of late – some who I keep in touch with via phone, others in person and others online and many of my friendships seem to stem from my blog. We know so much about each other when we read out inner most personal thoughts 🙂 Could blog friendships be more substantive than real worships 🙂 ? Thank you for sharing your lovely experiences and friendship.

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      That is awesome! I have just this one blogger friend whom I have met and we seemed to know each other quite well. Yes, bloggers who really read each other’s posts get to know many thoughts and understanding keeps growing.

      Thank you for your continuous support, much appreciated. 🙂

  16. Hi Balroop; This was a heartwarming post. Its so cool seeing you find such a great friend and get to meet in person all because you liked his writing style. One of my favorite authors tom sullivan wrote in his book if you could see what I hear that the most beautiful words he ever heard were when two neighbor kids came over and said want a play. hoping this online world continues to improve your in person one. Many blessings, Max

    1. Thank you Max for reading this fantastic experience and sharing your view. I am glad you found it ‘heart-warming!’ Blogosphere is such a wonderful platform to connect and make like-minded friends. Sometimes you feel you have so many friends who really care! Such a bliss!
      Have a nice week!

  17. This was a true pleasure, dear Balroop. I would be thrilled to meet you or a handful or more of friends through blogging I have met. You look great in the photo, as do your friends. It is always delightful to hear of laughter and mirth lightening so much of our nervousness and sweeping your inner introvert out of the conversation! 🙂
    Ohio is where I live, not that far from where you were, but one day, our paths may cross. 🙂

    1. Sure! I would wait for that day when our paths would meet! Thanks dear Robin, I am delighted to know that you would like to meet me! Yes, even introverts open up when they meet the right people. 🙂

  18. What a beautiful meeting you had with Joe and his charming wife.. It is wonderful when we click with others in every sense of the word. 🙂 as I type from my virtual world right now 🙂
    And I was so pleased that you all had lots of laughter and wonderful conversation together..
    Many thanks for sharing Balroop.. Hugs Sue.. xxx

    1. Yes Sue, it was beyond my dreams!
      Joe and Becky are made for each other and we didn’t feel we were meeting for the first time…some connections, unknown to us probably! 🙂 Thank you for your lovely reflections. Hugs and love.

Comments are closed.