It Was Not Just An Emotional Decision!

Not just emotional

Why I chose United States of America after retirement?

When people ask me why did you relocate to U.S.A, I have a very ready and simple answer…‘Strange is pull of your loved ones.’ Love is a dramatic driving force, the most powerful potion that we drink willingly.

When they ask how do I feel, I think about my blessings…I am nearer to my children and can meet them whenever I want.

My grandchildren don’t have to travel thousands of miles to hug me and then wonder why they live so far away. They would be having nice memories of their grand parents when they grow up.

I don’t have to wait to meet them and that too after a year or two.

Was it just an emotional decision? NO!

Emotions did play a significant role but little things do matter and so I would like to talk about those.

I admire my new surroundings for various reasons.

Healthy and fresh food:

I don’t know much about economic, health or security issues, which are universally relevant but I do know that the food which we buy here is much healthy and fresh, with all the nutrition labels, giving you the information what all you are going to consume. If I buy organic food, I don’t have to think whether it is actually organic. All kinds of cooked and ready to eat food are easily available for every pocket and palate.

DSC02277Landscaping and green cover:

When I look around how each and every empty space is aesthetically planned, kept clean and green, I get a reassurance that I have taken a good decision. Nature has always inspired and soothed me. Landscaping here doesn’t just look pleasing to the eyes; it also enhances our positivity, psychological and emotional well-being. I couldn’t have got better surroundings anywhere else. I just have to look out of the window to change my mood.

Discipline and courtesy:

People greet you with a smile, good morning or a hello when they pass by, instilling a feeling of goodness. Nobody stares or ogles at you! Nobody pushes you, the queues are most organized and people stand at a distance from each other. Nobody bumps into you and apologies are instant even if somebody happens to be in your way.

Road safety:

I-80_Eastshore_Fwy
No aggressive driving

Driving is stress free and most organized. People follow the rules and wait for their turn. Nobody drives aggressively, nobody gets into your way and lane driving is the norm, which is never flouted. You don’t have any fears that somebody might overtake or almost bump into your car from the side lane and scare you out of your wits.

Respect for pedestrians:

All vehicles stop for the pedestrian even when there is no intersection or zebra crossing. No driver expects you to stop and let him pass as the first right is given to the pedestrian. On busy streets, special road crossing devices have been installed to let the pedestrians take their turn to cross the road.

Respect for each other’s opinion:

People don’t shout you down and impose their own opinion on you. What you eat, wear and how you live is not anybody’s concern. Nobody intrudes into your privacy to comment on your body weight or sexual orientation. Peace and respect is a way of life here.

Peace:

Nobody honks. Even when you don’t happen to see within a second that the light has turned green. Nobody parks illegally. Handicapped parking is earmarked clearly in all parking areas and nobody flouts that rule. The dogs are well trained not to bark unnecessarily. No DJ’s, no loud music disturbs you at any time of the day or night.

Zero tolerance to littering:

You wont see even a little piece of paper anywhere in the parks, on the roads or anywhere near your home. In some areas where people don’t seem to bother, you could find a warning: $1000 fine for littering. Everyone respects the laws here or has to pay the penalty.

I have made some wonderful new friends. What more can you ask for? There must be more countries with such splendid amenities but this one suits me.

photo 2
Sky line from my window

Thank you for reading this. Your views are welcome. Please share them.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

38 thoughts on “It Was Not Just An Emotional Decision!

  1. It’s great to know that your option to live in US has resulted in – happier you. In the end, all that matters is your happiness. unfortunately we all get into rights and wrong, good and bad, moral and immoral which in reality is relative. It’s much more important to live happily rather than to be tied with forced limitations. I’m happy to know that you are happy.. stay that way! Always!

    1. Yes arv! when we keep on thinking about rights and wrongs, we easily get influenced…the decisions keep hanging loosely. Our own happiness is more important so that we don’t have look back and regret at lost opportunities.

      Thank you, wish you all the happiness dear friend 🙂

  2. It sounds like a lovely place where you live there in the States, Balroop. Moving for family. When you feel the love, then that is usually a great feeling and that is all that matters. It must be a nice feeling for you to see your grandchildren grow up and be there for them when they need attention 🙂

    It is nice to hear that everyone from drivers to neighbours are so nice over there. It sounds like people respect each other for who they are and everyone is welcomed. Here in Australia, it is sort of the same – people rarely honk, there are always trees and plants around and people take pride in having good health, good food, and a comfortable place to live in 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      You are right…I am around my grandchildren whenever they need me and feel blessed to be loved. When they wrap their little hands around my neck and say those little sentences…’I love you’…my day becomes heavenly. Rightly do some people say heaven can be seen here on earth!

      I am glad you too are at such a nice and friendly place where health and nature are the main concerns. If we have both, we can make the best of everything and be happy. 🙂 Thank you dear friend for sharing your side of the story. Stay blessed!

  3. Hi Balroop!

    I loved your fresh viewpoint on things that I am ashamed to admit I often take for granted.

    That being said, coming from the New York metropolitan area, some of the negative behaviors you do not come across in your part of California were mother’s milk to us in New Jersey, and just life as usual. (However, I have lived in Los Angeles…enough said, especially with those freeways!)

    It is much better where we live now, ensconced in the mountains of North Carolina, but each area has its quirks. The thing is, we are free to show those quirks, to embrace them or to discard them. There are always people who will do whatever it takes to get what they want, irregardless of who they hurt along the way. These people are found in every country in the world. What is not found in every country is the freedom to be who you are and to exist in a system of government which, for all its flaws, is of,by and for the people.

    I am a first generation American. Both my mother and father escaped the massacres in Armenia as children and met twenty-some years later half way across the world in the United States. I am a flag waving, uber patriotic American. I know I am so very lucky to be here, and to be able to freely voice my opinions re how our country is run on social media, to friends, and in the election process.

    We are lucky that you and JP have chosen to be here with us. How rich we are in our freedoms and friends.

    1. Hi Becky,

      Thank you for the visit and please remember what I told you…you can make an amazing blogger!

      All those things you take for granted are lacking in many parts of the world Becky, you have to see them to believe the chaos…the traffic, the unhealthy conditions in which people live and eat, the ruthless and apathetic attitude towards environment, the poisoning of soil with indiscriminate use of pesticides, lack of respect…the list is endless!!

      I have lived in Buffalo (New York) for a short while and found that city more beautiful than New Jersey or New York itself. I have seen that the suburbs and small towns are far more peaceful and lovely, same is the case here in SF. Thank you dear for being so loving and understanding. Yes, I feel blessed in many ways. 🙂 have a wonderful week.

  4. Ah…so your move was to the US. Welcome. Welcome. It’s not all peace and courtesy and beauty, Balroop; there are a few litterers and honkers and grumpy crabs out there, but the good outweighs the bad. And being close to children and grandchildren is awesome!! I’m glad you are finding it a positive move, my friend. Be well. 😀

    1. Yes Diana, when I moved here few years ago I kept my options open to move back but the attractions far too outweighed and I thought it is good to be here. So early this year I have wrapped up much of what I had left in my precious home in Delhi but I have left the window still open to give this some more time.
      Thank you for such beautiful words dear friend. 🙂

  5. These are all great reasons to have made the move, Balroop. Also, we take for granted some of the things you’ve mentioned like organized traffic control, pedestrian safety, shorter cues and polite people. Plus, the clean green spaces. Yes, all the same reasons I love Canada. Although there are corner of dirty, polluted and unclean areas of the city as well. What State are you living in? I love the view you have from your living room window! it’s gorgeous.

    1. Yes Lisa, things you take for granted may be little but they are big issues for those who care about environment and detest noise pollution. It is a big blessing to have organised traffic especially if you have driven in chaos.
      That fascinating view can be seen everyday from my French window, though colors and shapes keep changing and I have captured many such moments. This is sunset and my bedroom window shows sunrise as beautiful as that one! I am in California. 🙂

  6. It’s always great to get perspective from another’s experiences. Travel is my reality check, whether to the mainland US or abroad. Always makes me appreciate what I have at home. Glad you’ve found contentment in your US environs! ❤

    1. Thank you Bela for sharing your take on interactions…they do add a wealth of knowledge to our experiences. Home is always sweet, wherever it is and if it happens to be near the people we love the most, it is an added advantage. 🙂 Stay blessed.

  7. It’s so easy to take such things for granted, and your post here today is a great reminder not to. I lived on the East Coast for two years, but am happy to be back West now where the skies are much bigger and the people a bit more spread out.

    1. Hi Jeri,

      It is only when you look at the other side of the globe that you can appreciate your own side. Those who grow up in an open country with free skies and tolerant people can never understand what is freedom like Emily Dickinson says :
      Not one of all the purple Host
      Who took the Flag today
      Can tell the definition
      So clear of Victory
      As he defeated – dying…

  8. The decisions that we make are mostly based on emotions …and then we justify our decisions with logical reasons. It is very important to do so, because it is a reaffirmation to ourselves that we have made sound decisions. Happy to read about the reaffirmation of your decision Balroop. 🙂

    1. I agree with you Somali, reassurances are important as doubts keep coming back during weaker moments but what is more important is the family especially when you are moving towards the twilight. Some decisions may be hard if we base them on logic but emotions make them easier. 🙂
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  9. Dear Balroop, I like your view from your window and all the positive reasons you chose to live in the U.S. I especially can relate to wanting grandchildren to know me, as well as I knowing them! Being a parent is so responsible and valuable, while being a grandparent is a treasure. Such a joy!
    The good, fresh food, fairly organized traffic as well as the green spaces found in landscaping, parks, preserves and farms make me happy, too. 🙂 It is fantastic to not feel crammed by people, which is hard on our souls. Freedom is very special, which I have felt by talking to visitors or immigrants, they feel more relaxed here. The world holds beauty everywhere but I am hoping you stay here and continue to feel welcome, dear. ❤ ❤

    1. Hi Robin,

      The views from my window keep changing everyday and are more fascinating to the naked eye. I get great delight from those views to step out and spend some memorable moments in the lap of natural beauty. Walks have a calming effect with greenery all around even on sidewalks. We often overlook such blessings but I have the tendency of looking around every single day to admire the trees, the plants and the flowers of various kinds…even fall is so beautiful! If you add the company of grandchildren to all this, the exhilaration doubles! 🙂 who can understand this better than you!

      Thank you for being so understanding. Stay blessed!

      1. Oh, such wonderful expressions of appreciation for the natural wondrs. So glad you see the plants and trees, along with flowers. Your flower poem (next post) was beautiful and I also understand the excitement of grandchildren. They are certainly precious and our being here in their lives adds comfort and extra love, since we aren’t as rushed to get things done. Take care and keep on enjoying and hope the U.S. will never disappoint you. Hugs, Robin

  10. There is nothing like a location or a relocation, Balroop, other than right-locationing. And you seem to have done just that with the way things are for you in cool California, where you currently are, amidst near and dear ones, salubrious climate and host of other goodies. Without these, there is no need for a person to be tied to a particular geography all his or her life. Best wishes…

    1. Hi Raj,

      True! Right location is the right word…I have lived in a crazily busy city all my life, which is now groaning under the weight of migrants from all the states, coming in search of better opportunities…the most polluted city at the mercy of dirty politics, shrieking for full statehood! It has been a blessing in disguise to get this opportunity albeit I agree with ghalib…”Kaun jaye dilli ki galliyan chor ke”…detachment is always painful but there is the other side to every coin 🙂

      Thanks for standing by to share your view, dear friend. Stay blessed!

  11. What is so great to hear, is that it is clear what you admire about the USA are things you also practice ~ which makes melting into a new culture and area so much easier, exciting and educational (for both yourself and those you meet). Great post, and of course, having your family close by is the best 🙂 Cheers to a great day.

    1. Hi Randall,

      Thank you for delving into the finer and practical points…yes, it is not easy for all kinds of people to get into the mold. A flexible temperament and the willingness to adapt are very essential to feel comfortable in a culture, which is free from all formalities and compulsions of any kind.

      I appreciate your far-sightedness dear friend. Stay blessed. 🙂

    1. I have been espousing similar sentiments…I hope all women vote for Hillary. 🙂 Women can be outstanding rulers…history is a witness to this fact.

  12. I agree with Rajagopal. Location, location! I have never been to the States. California sounds wonderful. Are you in San Francisco?

    I have lived in London for a very long time. In the last couple of years, I have lived in different continents. I am about to sign a contract with an employer in the Mediterranean in Southern Turkey. I currently live in S.W Turkey. Both are small places but I will be able to get on high speed trains to Istanbul, Izmir, Iran etc. I intend the see more of Turkey, the beautiful mosques in Iran etc and live more outside my comfort zones. More importantly, I have maintained contacts with forward thinking Turks. The world is a small place. When one door is closed, another door will be opened.

    Personally speaking, good health and inner peace are key to my contentment and satisfaction. Money is important too because it buys one comfort.

    Enjoy California! A good choice, Balroop. Good food, weather, lifestyle, family etc 😎😎

    I am glad you are happy in California.

    1. Thank you! You seem to be exploring the world and at this pace you would be able to gather a host of experience about people and places.
      Yes, where you can find peace and happiness that is the best place on earth 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  13. I love the way you are looking at things Balroop.It’s never easy to make such a decision but I believe it does make a wonderful difference for you and your loved ones. And writting down all the positive points of your new surrounding is clearly a sign of wisdom. .
    May you stay blessed and in peace.

    1. Thank you Mary…positive thoughts do bestow us with more energy and enthusiasm. Thanks for joining in the discussion. Stay blessed and happy. 🙂

  14. Balroop, your observations are invaluable to those who have not had the privilege of traveling the world to see conditions for themselves. I’m just happy you chose to land in our wonderful country and that we are friends! My only regret is that, sadly, our own nation is digressing rather than progressing (after all, water seeks its own level, and apparently so does society). But we have a relatively short journey remaining, and I know we are determined to make our respective input count for something. Let’s commit ourselves to keep on having a positive influence for as long as God allows us to. Keep up the great work, my friend.

    Hugs,

    Joe

    1. Yes Joe, ask the underprivileged and the oppressed around the globe who live in constant fear, who can’t have their own opinion and not even the basic facilities of life! Lets count our blessings and thank God for what all He has given us. Thanks! I appreciate your concern. Little efforts do make a difference to the humanity at large. 🙂

Comments are closed.