My First Love

Love For Books

For Book Lovers Day
I stepped back into time
To meet my first love
Whom I could see only in the library
Who slipped into others’ hands
And smiled at my impatience!
 
Who gave me many competitive hours
To keep pace with friends
Whose love seemed greater
Who devoured books, binging blatantly
While I chewed calmly
Hugging my luminous love
 
Drifting into those days
When nobody ever read for me
When craving continued to haunt
Promises with self, multiplied…
‘I would always read for my kids
I wouldn’t miss the bliss!’
 
When I could actually read
Really read and soak in ecstasy
As there were eager faces
Looking at me
Expecting me to put emotion
Into each word
 
Snuggling and sharing
The love for little stories
Feeling all important
Forgetting all worries
Immersing into the pleasure
Oh! The joy of reading together!
 
And then the hours flew
We didn’t even notice
Love for books deepened
But cuddles turned to momentary hugs
Tide of time swiftly carried them away
Now my grand kids share my first love!
© Balroop Singh
All rights reserved.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

 

 

39 thoughts on “My First Love

  1. Yesterday itself I was at B&N store looking at books for somebody and was thinking how they love reading. I am not much into them now.

    Your poetry shows off your love and that of your grandkids too ☺️

    1. Hi Alok,
      It is such a blessing to be surrounded by books…my love for them could never fade and multiplies when I look at the faces of my grandchildren, who help me travel to those corridors of blissful hours I spent reading to my kids and nephews! 🙂

  2. Love in human relationships may be there today and gone tomorrow. To put it differently, it is subject to change and lacks permanency. But not one’s relationship with great minds delineated in the pages of volumes in bookshelves or in kindle, always standing by for hours of silent interactions. So the first love of yours, Balroop, will always be…

    1. Well said Raj! Books never betray, never hurt, never judge…it is a blessing to have them around and I have never found them silent. They talk most eloquently, most lovingly…they don’t even complain if you dislike and drop them half-way!! Isn’t it amazing?

  3. It took me a surprisingly long time to love books — not until I graduated from college and no longer saw them as a burden but as something that opened my world.

    1. I had a few friends and students who considered books a burden. I introduced them to my kids when they were in their cribs and the relationship has thrived beyond expectations. 🙂

  4. What a lovely poem dedicated to reading, Balroop. “When I could actually read” This line took me back to the times when I was a kid and learning how to read. I remember those moments when I wanted to read “harder” books of fiction – those with longer words, longer sentences – but was still struggling to read books meant for my age 😀 At school, I remember the teachers got me and my class to read aloud books so we could all visualise and immerse in stories together.

    Although these days e-books have become popular, there is no replacing hard copy physical books. I’m guessing you give your grandkids the latter, and hopefully they will learn the appreciation of them and how they books came to be, some day 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I can understand when you say reading ‘harder’ books. I have struggled a lot with Shakespeare and James Joyce and all those poets of Victorian era but I had to try harder as I had to pass the exams! Sometimes I wonder if I had not chosen Literature, what could I have done…Nothing! nothing interests me more than those books, which had to be read to pass the exams but they defined my passion.

      I agree with you dear friend…e-books may be convenient but real feeling of reading can only be experienced through physical presence 🙂 I am so much used to turning the page that my hand moves unconsciously even when I am reading from my Kindle!!

  5. Beautiful, Balroop. I always think books as our most faithful and earnest companions. Nothing else can replace the joy of holding a good book and exploring it. And, the smell…I love that typical smell of paper wafting around me. ❤

    A thousand 'like' for this poem of yours… 🙂

    1. Thank you Mani…your thoughts are going straight to my heart! I was almost transported to my own little library for a while, which I had to leave behind when I moved here. Kindle is my new companion now and I tell myself…’we have to move on!’
      But I love those books, which I have rediscovered with my grandchildren. 🙂

  6. My first and enduring love, as well, Balroop. Now I’ve discovered our library carries a ridiculous trove of audiobooks, and I’m ecstatic. Like you, I read to my kids, and to be fair in a large family of readers, I was also read to. But oh, the delight in being read to once again, all these years later! I am gobbling up books in this fashion when I ride my bike, when I must be in the car for any length at all. So wonderful! My bedside stack is still a stack and probably always will be, but such is the life of the reader 😉 Cheers!

    1. Hi Bela,

      I am glad we met! Love the way you have expressed your passion for reading…’gobbling’ is indeed an interesting word for the audio books 🙂 Good for you!

      I still ‘gobble’ up music when I put on my ear devices, so the time for both the loves remains well defined. 🙂

    1. Jeri you belong to digital generation and it is natural for you to love e-books. Love for real books has to be nurtured just like we learnt to use smart phones and iPads with an effort! 🙂

  7. Oh I so connected to this poem dear Balroop.. Books were my refuge and sanctuary.. At one time I struggled at school to read.. A wonderful English teacher of mine when I was aged 11 changed my world for me.. As she helped teach me the Love of books and what magic could be held between their pages..

    I am so pleased my Granddaughter also loves books and is a wonderful advanced reader for age 5.. I think she reads better now than i did aged 12.. and that is the truth.. 🙂

    Wonderful poem..
    Sending love and Blessings Balroop
    Sue xxx ❤

    1. Hi Sue,

      I am glad you met a teacher whom you still remember! Such teachers can really inspire in the right direction…the love for books that is inculcated in childhood is the best gift we can give to our children, a gift that is cherished through out life.

      Isn’t it blissful to see our grandchildren doing so well! Thank you for sharing such a happy thought. 🙂
      Love and hugs dear friend. Stay blessed.

  8. Love it, Balroop. YOur grandkids fell in love with your first love. When will you write about your new love? You know – the one of writing these books and blogs now:) You have gone from a merchant of words to the alchemist of words 🙂

    1. Hi Vishnu

      Your thoughts make me smile and feel good! Thank you! I have written about my new love more than once…in fact there are many topics…Unknown Love, Eternal love, What is Love, Ignorance is Bliss…
      Still struggling with my new love but won’t give up!! 🙂

  9. It must be a great treat to share the passion for reading with your grandchildren Balroop.
    I love books too and discovering new stories with my little one! It’s a precious moment.

Comments are closed.