Where Should I Begin?

bg3

Last night
An angel of forgiveness
Woke me up…
I was wonderstruck to see
Blue and purple light
In my room
 
She sat by my bedside
We had a cozy conversation
Caressing my locks, she counseled…
‘Forgive them dear,
Forgive them all
Don’t carry any affliction’
 
Abrasively I looked up
The pain in my eyes dwindled
With the promise – ‘I will try.’
A strange light spread around me
Immersed me completely
And my Angel smiled.
 
But I don’t know where to begin
Should I begin with childhood robbers?
Or devils I encountered
While growing up
Or tyrants
Who tried to snatch my freedom of speech?
 
Or those hypocrites
Who took me for a ride?
Or those who feigned friendship?
The list may be long
But the purple light of forgiveness
Is all around me, encompassing all.
 
© Balroop Singh
All rights reserved.

You can click on Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.
Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

42 thoughts on “Where Should I Begin?

  1. Lovely poem. It’s true that we should not carry unnecessary burden in our soul and mind. For this extra burden does nothing good for us. Forgiveness is good act, necessary for us to move ahead. At the same time, forgiving is not easy. Therapy to forgive might help us to do the same. it’s great that you write such wonderful things that helps our soul.

    1. Thank you arv for such a nice compliment, much appreciated 🙂
      I agree with you, forgiveness is the most difficult act. Even when we tell ourselves to forgive, heart keeps denying it. I have written an article also on this topic and the link is there if you hover over the highlighted word ‘forgiveness.’

      1. That’s right! Your heart is longing for forgiveness but it’s difficult for mind to let go!! I have read that post on forgiveness earlier! How can I miss that? 🙂

  2. It is so hard to forgive but once you do, a weight is lifted up off your shoulders! I feel bad for some of what you mentioned, Balroop. Hugs, Robin xo

    1. We all meet such persons who try to let you down, hurt you intentionally or unintentionally and we have no control over those situations. The best option is to move on, forgetting all. Easier said than done! Do we have a choice?

      Thank you Robin for your kind words. Love and hugs back to you. 🙂

  3. Childhood robbers. Love that line, Balroop. As kids, when we dream anything that goes bump in the night can be scary 😊 But I think as we grow older we learn to be more forgiving and ask more questions, and incline to believe more. Well written once again 🙂

  4. Do a favour to yourself at all times. In forgiving, one is doing just that, whereby it becomes the great enabler that takes life rewardingly forward. This poem is like a benediction, Balroop. You are blessed in writing it…

  5. Shakespeare, of all people, has been a great teacher for me with regards to forgiveness:

    The quality of mercy is not strained;
    It droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven
    Upon the place beneath. It is twice blest;
    It blesseth him that gives and him that takes:
    ‘T is mightiest in the mightiest …

    ~ from The Merchant of Venice

    Our bodies, at least in my past life as a Medical Intuitive, do not forget. Which I think is a good thing, if we can be mindful. History doesn’t tend to repeat itself with that mindful awareness of past wanting to bleed into present, at least we don’t blindly continue visiting our own wounds upon others. What I have forgiven in those who wronged me is their Own inability to live with the consequences of their Own actions, due to their Own deep wounding. Loving those who have wronged one is powerful medicine, and frees one up eventually. But it takes what time it takes, and I think one must be gentle with oneself in the process.

    Looks like you’ve cleared some major hurdles, that way in your life.

    Aloha, and blessings, Balroop ❤

    1. Hi Bela,

      Thank you for sharing such a wonderful perspective. When I read those lines from Merchant Of Venice they didn’t sink in as we don’t believe in such virtues when we are young. We just dismiss them with a scorn and pride…’who can hurt us’!!!

      Slowly life unfolds and acquaints us with its turbulent curves and challenges, we realise people are not what they pretend to be and even our own dear ones can hurt! Yes dear friend, crossed a few hurdles, hopefully the major ones! 🙂

      Stay blessed and have a nice week.

  6. Purple light and forgiveness are two powerful tools to have. Robbers come in different form. Often the accused are sad people with issues , problems and lack the the peace in their heart.

  7. Learning to forgive can take time.. Yet the moment we do it frees us.. And like the glow in which you speak of in your poem that your angel surrounded you with.. It then allows us to take one step closer to understanding of Unconditional love..
    While I forgave, I find it more difficult in forgiving myself.. learning to channel that love inwards has been a difficult path for me.. But slowly over time, learning to read the signs the Universe points out to me.. I see how this One thing Alone is so important for all of us to try and achieve..

    And try… is all we can do.. to do our best…
    As your poem said
    “Abrasively I looked up
    The pain in my eyes dwindled
    With the promise – ‘I will try.’
    A strange light spread around me
    Immersed me completely
    And my Angel smiled.”

    And I too am smiling…. for we both now see so much more … as we learn to let go, forgive and love and nurture ourselves..

    <3<3 Sue xxx

    1. Hi Sue,
      I love my Angels who keep inspiring but only if we listen to them and respond in a positive voice.
      I agree with you forgiving ourselves is equally hard and that keeps us awake, reflecting as well as judging…eventually we have to talk ourselves out of that maze and those are the moments of success, of self-love and healthy living.
      Thank you dear friend for sharing such beautiful thoughts, much appreciated. Have a wonderful week. 🙂

  8. Angels are showing us the way Balroop. Forgivness is setting us free. It’s a gift to ourselves and the world.
    Glad to be back and read you again. xoxo

  9. Lovely poem. The questions heaped up at the end show so clearly the difficult road. Freedom from the past is worth the struggle in the long run, especially since there is nothing we can do to change it. We have to trust those angels 🙂

    1. You are right dear Diana, we have to trust, it is such a wonderful word as it steers us through all kinds of situations. Thank you for your kind words.

  10. What a lovely poem. An angel of forgiveness – everyone needs to remember they have one! Along with an angel of compassion and goodness, too. Cheers!

Comments are closed.