How Good Teachers Can Get Inspired To Mold Personalities

Personality development

I didn’t realize the effects of a teacher on personalities till I stepped into this profession. Probably I didn’t have any such teacher around me whom I admired ardently or who could touch my heart but I do remember a few who emitted an unseen light, which could brighten the path of an average student.

When I stumbled upon the profession of a teacher, which I didn’t plan to follow, I was very keen to teach high school students. I thought it was easier!

I was told I needed a professional training.

Despite a teacher’s training degree in my hand, I hardly knew what makes a good teacher. I learnt it from my students, from my daily interaction with them and listening to their opinion and complaints.

Slowly it dawned upon me how much a teacher can give. I was amazed at the expectations of my students and I had to work very hard to come up to their beliefs.

I noted that a teacher is trusted more than a parent probably because a teacher really listens, is non-judgmental and supports the pupils who choose to confide in him/her.

Now I started grasping the real meaning of “Nation Builders.”

Now I knew that Good teachers are not born.

“I am indebted to my father for living, but to my teacher for living well.” – Alexander the Great.

I was humbled by this profession, which I didn’t want to join because people looked down upon it, it was so lowly paid and only those “who couldn’t find a better job became a teacher,” was the perception!

I found it immensely satisfying. The dividends it paid could not be counted, could not be seen because they could only be felt.

They stand before me now in the form of most successful human beings who value the contribution of teachers. Their one word of gratitude is the biggest bank balance for me.

My pupils showed me what is patience and benevolence; they revealed the value of hard work; they taught me how emotions are knitted into the fabric of values to make them more effective.

Once I had been molded by my students, it was my turn and this is what I learnt:

Children are like clay in our hands. Like a sculptor we can chisel and carve their personalities with our behavior.

“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.” ― Henry Adams.

Teachers appreciation

Teachers inspire the desire for learning:

True learning is the one, which is self-accentuated. A good teacher understands this basic principle and lays bare all the possibilities before the students. Curriculum may be binding, it may limit the potential but a real teacher focuses on igniting the minds to go beyond those limitations. Carl Jung has rightly observed, “The curriculum is so much necessary raw material, but warmth is the vital element for the growing plant and for the soul of the child.“

Make them discerning individuals:

Students look up to their teachers for guidance and path-breaking initiatives. When they meet an inspired teacher, they start believing in their own dreams. It is only with the much-needed encouragement that their aspirations get a boost. Classroom discussions play an important role in giving confidence to new thoughts and developing their own perceptions.

Make them absorb the values of discipline:

A disciplined teacher can convey the need and significance of discipline to become self-disciplined. Children may take pleasure in breaking the rules, they may scoff at the reprimand and punitive actions but what they see in their teacher eventually gets absorbed. An upright teacher doesn’t have to organize discussions on this topic.

Inspire positive thoughts:

Little disappointments seem gigantic to children, especially teenagers. Teachers can convert those moments of disenchantment into stepping-stones by talking them out of negativity. A good teacher can also become a counselor, as she/he understands students better than parents. Teenagers feel more comfortable in sharing their problems with their teachers or friends.

Values are learned effortlessly:

Good and conscientious teachers can touch the students with their kindness and patience. Little children learn more through observation and image. When their role model exemplifies the ethics enshrined in the rulebook, it is easier for them to imbibe them naturally. I have often heard my outspoken students complain about double standards, which confused them.

“Everyone who remembers his own education remembers teachers, not methods and techniques. The teacher is the heart of the educational system.” – Sidney Hook

They make an eternal impact on students:

I was surprised at the influence of my own child’s teacher on her when she refused to share the little secret of her school function with me saying, “it is a surprise for the parents and will be revealed only on the day the function will be presented!”

My own heart swells with delight when I meet my old students and can see a spark of brightness in their eyes while they talk about those ‘golden’ days.

Whether it is sharpening their speaking talent, acquainting them with their potential, or honing their social skills, a teacher can truly mold the personalities of students.

Did you meet any such teacher who made a difference in your life? I would love to hear about her/him.

Thank you for reading this. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

37 thoughts on “How Good Teachers Can Get Inspired To Mold Personalities

  1. A noble profession indeed, Balroop. And yes, there was one teacher who I shall never forget, a gentleman originally hailing from the North of England by the name of Stanley Dryer. He taught me mathematics close to 50 years ago, yet even as a young teenager I knew he was a great teacher, and a wise, humane man. Because of the kindly way he treated me, and solely due to that rather than my own innate capacity for what he taught, I excelled at the subject.

    1. Thank you Hariod for taking interest in this post and sharing a story about your own teacher, who must be really outstanding for leaving such an impact on you!
      I have always believed that students really know the difference between an average teacher and the one who puts his/her heart and soul into this profession. They may not share the truth but do carry the impressions in their heart till they live.

  2. Well said, Balroop.

    A well educated Turkish woman said to me recently that students will not always remember the grammar but the values etc instilled in them will always remain in their thoughts. That is what makes a good teacher.

    I was fortunate to have very good teachers in my school days. They were state schools. The teachers were strict in my class. Values, good manners, sitting upright in our chairs were some of the things that were instilled in us. Although we didn’t have as many resources as a good state school would be in London, we always had dentists who were trained in the UK in my primary school. The teachers in my secondary school were caring, too eg one of my teachers asked the trainee teacher to take me
    home in her car as I had a very high temperature. On another occasion, the headteacher took my friend and I to the hospital when a rusty nail went through my school shoe. On our return to the classroom, we found that neatly written notes had already been written in our history books.

    These experiences have shaped me into the person I am now.

    1. I am glad you had good teachers dear friend and yes, little gestures of benevolence really get embedded in our minds. Thank you for sharing your experiences. Stay blessed.

  3. When I was at school, Balroop, I loved learning, but can’t say that I had any teacher who really inspired me. I had favourite teachers, but sometimes even with them I felt I was more in the way than being part of the class… only on occasions, I must add, it wasn’t all doom and gloom! I excelled in some subjects, and didn’t do very well in others. I’m now wondering if things would have turned out differently had I had the type of teacher you write about here. An inspiring post, however.

    1. Tom, if you loved learning, I am sure it must have been inspired by your teachers or the classroom ambience, which is created by them 🙂 or was there some other source of inspiration? It is natural to excel in some subjects and I am sure English was one of them! 🙂
      Thank you for finding this post inspiring!

      1. Thanks, Balroop. Maybe in the infant school the teachers were inspiring, and set me off on the track as it were, but through later school years no one really stands out, I’m sorry to say. I’ve always loved learning new things though, still do today – although now I tend to forget more than learn it! 😀

  4. A couple of things come to mind:

    1) I have subbed K-12 a few years ago and it taught me that teaching wasn’t a profession I wanted to engage in, full-time. It wasn’t my calling, though I was most welcomed into their fold. I’ve known many teachers, and I bow deepy to the daily sacrifices they make in their profession. One is never compensated enough to teach (or to nurse). Both are ‘giving’ professions where one must source immense reserves of strength and nourishment from deep within.

    2) From a child’s viewpoint, they get to ‘know’ someone they don’t have to be concerned with personally. So different from family, and the stress of having to determine their place in the maelstrom of that dynamic, whether fraught or mostly peaceful. One is a student and simply must show up in class. Do their homework. Participate when called upon. End of story. Though some kids are so troubled they can’t embrace the learning process, they still know the expectations which do not shift with the wind nor are muddled by emotions and unfulfilled parental expectations.

    3) For me personally, I absolutely loved to learn, and had fabulous schools, back in the day. (Great teachers, too – many I still think about from time to time. A few played pivotal roles for me.) In the 50’s and 60’s, kids were largely well mannered and teachers had few of the overarching problems they have today. I loved learning about everything, do to this day, and my schools all provided fertile ground for this. And I loved to write – it was my salvation on so many levels. (I know many kids don’t.)

    4) I wish more kids wanted to learn and appreciated the environment and opportunities inherent in education. I wish schools facilitated the means by which teachers could tease out each child’s needs and desires and offered broad enough curriculums to handle them, including the trades, once kids reached high school. (Sadly they don’t – and one must consider, among other things, the huge increases in population over the years and the problems inherent in that.) So many countries do not have these opportunities and American kids are more spoiled than they know. But that’s for another discussion.

    Good post, Balroop. And bless you for loving to be a teacher. Many are beaten down by the profession, so kudos to you. Aloha! ❤

    1. I absolutely agree with you Bela…nursing and teaching are undoubtedly most demanding and thankless professions yet they are the most satisfying and noble. Only those who step into them can realise the challenges and the sacrifices they require.

      People told me oh, you are free by 3 o’clock and get a paid summer break but nobody acknowledges that a teacher’s day starts at 5 o’clock and they have to be in their classroom by 7.30, ready with the best of smiles and lessons!
      Thanks for sharing your insights and adding so much value to this post dear friend. 🙂 Hope you are having a wonderful weekend.

  5. I agree, Balroop! I’m sure that you have these essential qualities as a wonderful teacher. I still remember a couple of my elementary school teachers who had a positive impact on me. I like how you describe learning from your students! Good for you. That makes you the best teacher possible. One of my favorite movies is To Sir, With Love.The best teacher movie ever. I loved it as a child. (although it’s probably dated now ).

    1. Yes Lisa, I too remember that movie ‘To Sir With Love.’ We saw it with our students and had a great time! There were some profound lessons too, which we learnt while watching it. In a classroom too there is a two-way traffic and the lessons learnt from students are most memorable.
      Thanks for stirring some lovely memories. 🙂

  6. Wonderful post, Balroop. A noble profession and so inspiring to young minds. I have some favorite teachers that I never forgot. I love the way you interspersed the quotes. Congratulations on finding a vocation that you love 🙂

  7. Happy Teacher’s Day,Mam.Going back to memory lane I remember learning English from you in 8th or 9 th class.I passed 12th in the session 1990-91.As students we admired your graceful personality & your meticulous way of teaching .Love you Mam.

  8. Appropriate subject to reflect on, Balroop, as Teachers’ Day is celebrated in India today in honour of Dr. Radhakrishnan, India’s former president, whose birthday falls today, 5th September, and who himself was also a distinguished scholar and teacher, in addition to his eminence as one of the most authoritative interpreters of Indian philosophy. Do I remember my teachers who made a difference in my life? For sure, yes. From the first Anglo Indian teacher who tutored me in English from the alphabetical stage onwards to other great souls who guided the way forward at various stages in school and college. India contributed the word ‘Guru’ to global vocabulary to mean the high esteem in which the person who removes the darkness of ignorance is held. To recall an incident in Dr. Radhakrishnan’s academic career, the story goes that once he was getting transferred out from Mysore University. As he stepped into the horse carriage (we are talking about the India of 1930s) to leave for the railway station, his students pulled out the horses and tugged the carriage themselves all the way to the station to the adoration of the public en route; the railway station was specially decorated with festoons and banners in honour of the departing professor. Indeed, every dedicated teacher in India, and also other regions of the world, will have such fulfilling events in their lives that serve as glorious hallmark of the profession.

    1. The word ‘teacher’ brings such cherished memories! Thanks for sharing your own experiences, Raj.

      I appreciate the way you have shared your thoughts on this memorable day, which is also a day of gratitude and love. Even those students who passed out years ago and are at the pinnacle of success in their lives look back fondly to say a word of thanks to their teachers who touched their lives in some way. So the tradition of honouring continues…I have many such glorious and unforgettable moments sealed within my heart. 🙂

  9. Such an insightful post on what makes a good teacher, Balroop. I most certainly agree with the point that teachers inspire the desire for learning. As kids, so many of us want to play and basically have fun all the time. A good teacher will make learning fun for us. I remember in primary school I had this science teacher who would do just that – she would look us in the eye, and never criticised any responses we gave to her questions. When our responses are wrong, she would point out the funny side to them and the whole class will laugh along in good humour.

    So happy you found joy through teaching. I think a good teacher is also one that loves their job of teaching, in particular sharing their thoughts and not afraid to be positive and spread as you mentioned. I am sure you are a teacher who does just that, and also a patient one too 🙂

    1. Hi Mabel,

      I am delighted to know that you had one such teacher who made learning fun! I don’t have any such precious memories. I was not at all patient to begin with, that’s why I give all the credit to my students as they made me respect some of the finer nuances of being a teacher. 🙂

  10. This is such a wonderful post on the Teacher’s day Balroop. Your quote “Children are like clay..” is so apt. Teachers have the immense power to mold and shape the beliefs, values and personality of children when they are at an impressionable age. Good teachers leave an everlasting impression in the minds of children. I vividly remember that whenever I liked a teacher, my interest in the subject grew by leaps and bounds. In my primary classes, there was an English teacher who read out stories very beautifully. So much did I relish listening to those stories at school that at home I wanted even my parents to read out those stories exactly in the same manner as her.

    1. Thank you for endorsing my thoughts Somali. Yes, some teachers do enhance our interest in the subject they teach and it is so obvious that their efforts leave an impact on the pupils. 🙂 Both feel blessed and learn more from each other.

  11. Good teachers are gifts to the world ~ I’ve often been surprised at how often I think back on not just the lessons of life I’ve learned, but the people who helped shape who I am… Young minds need the great influence of their elders in order to understand and pursue their potential, and a good teacher can bring this out. Wonderful post Balroop.

    1. I agree with you Randall and we need more such gifts to make learning fun as well as meaningful. The role of teachers is very challenging as pupils look up to them with all their dreams as if they would be delivered by them! A good teacher is the one who helps them discover their true potential and gives them the freedom to make the best of it. 🙂
      Thank you for sharing your view. Have a nice week.

  12. I didn’t know you were a teacher Balroop.. What a wonderful profession. If it were not for the encouragement and support of a beautiful English teacher when I was 12 who nurtured and cultivated me to enjoy reading books, I doubt I would have had the confidence in later life.
    So all you write about here are so important, how you help students over come their disappointments with encouragement and show them ways in which they can develop themselves and progress..
    And yes we need discipline and rules too, but as you say a good teacher draws that respect towards them.. And when that is attained harmony of the class is reached.

    This was an excellent post Balroop.. Loved reading it and it brought fond memories of my own school years..

    Love Sue ❤

    1. Thank you Sue, you made my morning more pleasant! I am glad you remember your English teacher with love and respect…I can feel the bonding. The connection with this post is very natural as we all have some fond memories of our teachers.
      I miss those days…my students made my days so pleasant and satisfying but time flies and pushes us forward into new phases. Thank you for the visit dear friend. Love and hugs. 🙂 Have a wonderful Sunday. Love your new pic.

  13. Such a beautiful post Balroop! I hold teachers in high esteem, as they are the builders of a nation. They mold children today, who will be leaders of tomorrow. I pray that the education system improves and we have more passionate teachers taking up the noble profession!!

    1. Thank you Radhika. Welcome to Emotional Shadows…an island of dealing with emotional upheavals.
      I agree with you, we need better teachers who come to this profession with greater zeal and are paid as well as other professions.

  14. I have little doubt that you were a fine teacher who is well remembered by your former students.
    It is a tremendous responsibility to be presented with a tabula rassa, and to have the wisdom to not overdo it as you inscribe your message upon it.

  15. I think teacher is the most difficult profession, i don’t really want to be a teacher because of the big burden that they should carry. Now I am the student of teaching and education majority, and people think that I will be a teacher someday, but I am still wondering what will I be. So far I think that teachers are not only teach knowledge but also they have to bring student into the real world, but Iam still wondering how to be a good teacher, cos so far I don’t think I have a teacher that can be my own role model and make me want to be a teacher…

    1. I absolutely agree with you. Teaching has become more challenging in modern times and it also requires a lot of patience and preparation to be a successful and popular teacher. Only an upright and devoted person with all the values of discipline can face ever-inquistive and observant pupils to become their role model. Anyone with a positive mind and determination can enter this profession. Wishing you all the best!

Comments are closed.