Could You Please Guide Me?

5906190028_c05b0eccb5_b

A long road…Empty!
As I walk through the road
Strange fears confuse me
I stare into wilderness
Straining my eyes,
Full of expectations….
I trudge on.
Is this journey endless?
Is there no destination?

I took this path
I knew it was thorny
I stumbled, I moved on…
Enduring all the pricks, the pain
Undeterred, hoping….
We’ll surely meet…One day….
You will recognize my face
You will acknowledge my contribution
You will welcome me to my destination.

I reached…I waited…
When will I enter?
I wondered…
‘Keep the baggage out!’
I looked around
‘But I don’t have any!’
Confounded, I looked around
The door didn’t open.
I waited………
When will I enter?
‘Have patience’,
A fleeting thought…

So I stood at His door.
I looked around
Why am I alone?
I couldn’t find anyone familiar
A sea of faces,
A whirlpool…kept pulling me
‘Calm down’
I told myself.
Could you please guide me?
I asked a stranger
A smile, a pat…
The only reassurance!
© Balroop Singh
All rights reserved.

One of my earliest poems, this is an excerpt from my book Sublime Shadows of Life by Balroop Singh. Please click on the link to read more such poems.

If you have liked this poem, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

 Image credit:

32 thoughts on “Could You Please Guide Me?

  1. Beautiful!
    We all have to complete this journey called life – alone. we meet many strangers who become our friends and dear ones. Well written poem.

      1. In last few years, I have met many new…and wonderful people. It’s always great to meet & come across new people. That’s how your lives get enriched. Thanks for good wishes. You’re so kind… 🙂

  2. Lovely poem, Balroop. I am in agreement with your other commenters. To me, the journey itself is the point and part of that is turning the strangers met along the way into friends.

  3. Love the uncertainty you captured there, uncertainty that we feel when we feel lost and don’t know which way to turn. We don’t have all the answers in the world, and one’s path may be another’s territory.

    I liked how in the end you brought in a friend. A helping hand, a simple smile or touch, can go a long way. That small gesture can be so uplifting and it can be what makes us walk on 🙂 Beautifully written as usual.

    1. Hi Mabel,
      I am so disappointed with this poem because it failed to convey the true spirit…I thought I would use the symbols and let them convey all. It seems they have failed miserably!! 🙂

      1. Certainly a lot of symbols in this poem, Balroop. No matter how alone we feel on a journey and no matter what we leave behind, often the voices around us – or even the voices in our heads – are the ones that keep us company and keep us encouraged 🙂

  4. The journey finds realisation when traveller transforms into a pilgrim. We are all travellers, Balroop, so we will continue journeying till we are able to shed our accumulated baggage and become nondescript pilgrims as realisation awaits us at that destination.

    1. Thank you Raj, I am so glad that you could catch the idea! We have to wait for a long time to shed the unnecessary baggage, which we carry within…to reach that ‘real destination.’ 🙂 Many thanks for the interpretation.

  5. Wonderful poetry Balroop.. Yes the road is indeed long with many twists and turns.. and around each corner a new discovery we find.. As we peel away more layers to leave unwanted baggage behind us.. As we journey forward we see how easier it is to travel light!

    Loved your poem and travelling such a road is never easy, but the destination once we leave our baggage is so worth all of that patience.. ❤
    Love and Blessings Sue xxx

    1. We all have to travel the same road…the adventures may vary and till we leave earthly baggage, we can’t move into the next stage.
      Thank you Sue for understanding this journey so well! Love and hugs back to you. 🙂

  6. Somewhere, someday, the journey of life ends. But, as it is said, we still cling so dearly to our earthly feelings and emotions (moh, maya). The way to the next world becomes only visible only when we can free ourselves from those attractions… others can help us, can show us the light, but we have to make the journey alone…

    Wonderful poem, Balroop… 🙂

Comments are closed.