Dealing With My Dearest Buddy And Reprimanding Bully

creativity

The hangover of travel still lurks around me though I am back on my favorite couch, trying to wake up my creative critter, which seems to have gone into hibernation. Having failed to fuel my imagination for almost a month, I know I can’t pass on the responsibility to my dearest muse who responds spontaneously to stimulus.

When I struggle with self-doubt, Maya Angelou’s words reverberate around me
“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.”
Lately I have been spending too much time with the antagonists of creativity, seeking pleasure in the festivities, lounging around with family and friends and gathering some golden moments of delight.

‘Do you want to stay in your self-obsessed boundaries?’ I ask my creative buddy.
She just looks at me irately and closes her eyes.

‘You are my only love, my solace, my dearest confidant.’
She eyed me with a sneering satisfaction and dug deeper into its acrimonious abode.

‘Please come and sit with me, I have some interesting escapades to share.’
‘You have been selfish and unkind. You got mired in self-doubt. You are a procrastinator.’

I was taken aback but I knew she was right. I nodded a little, refusing to agree whole-heartedly with the indictments, trying to keep my vacillating valor intact within me.

‘Your complacency irritates me, your attitude is so annoying and your priorities are paradoxical. I have failed to understand you.’

‘But I love you. You are my only island of amity and tranquility.’
‘Love is not enough. You have to be consistent. You must know that love means ‘loyalty’, ‘obeisance’, ‘venerating’ and ‘eloquence.’

‘If you are not loyal to your words, they become elusive. If you lack obeisance, reflections fritter away. If you don’t revere your ephemeral ideas, they lack coherence and if you are not eloquent enough, your touch with your subtle self becomes feeble.’creativity-quote

The daunting discourse didn’t die down till I agreed to hold the hands of my reprimanding bully, nodding to all her diktats and flying away with her to cross the boundaries of horizon.

She reminded me…‘You have to be intrepid to jump off the cliffs, quit rational thinking and develop wings whenever wanted. You have to keep the fire burning and redefine your priorities.’

I didn’t like her preconditions because family has always been my priority. I have never looked beyond my practical responsibilities but I agreed, as I wanted to win her confidence. I know she is just cross. I know she too knows me well. She appreciates space but when it starts creating wedges, she possesses the potential to bridge the breach.

I sincerely hope I would come up to the expectations of my dearest buddy.

Have you ever been admonished by your creative self?
Thank you for reading this amalgamation of emotions. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.
Balroop Singh.

37 thoughts on “Dealing With My Dearest Buddy And Reprimanding Bully

  1. Of course, Balroop. My muse gave me an ultimatum not long ago. Funny how demanding they are and how they know what we want and need. But balance is a necessary challenge, isn’t it? Family and friends and festivities have a place – after all, we must fill the creative life in order to draw from it. Happy Writing!

    1. I agree with you Diana, balance is not just a challenge, it is essential to live a healthy and satisfying life. It is fun to get back to our creative self after celebrations. 🙂 Thanks for reading and sharing your view.

  2. Your creative self sounds like a reality check, but don’t be too hard on yourself, Balroop! Sometimes we have to walk away for a little while to recharge and come to feel dedicated to being creative again. This year I decided to put doing my book away for a bit as I did not feel motivated…but now I do and hope to get back into it after seeing places for a while now 🙂 As your creative self said, you have to keep the fire burning. That is always easier said than done. Life throws curveballs to us and we have people to see and love. Balance can be hard to find, but at some point the time will be right. Good luck my friend 🙂

    1. Yes Mabel, I too can’t compose anything if the inspiration is lacking. Sometimes it can be very frustrating! I am glad you have the motivation now to complete your book. Wishing you all the best, I hope you would complete it soon.
      Creativity is spontaneous overflow of words and when they sprout forth, we love the aura they create, the pleasure they provide and the glow they spread! 🙂 Happy writing dear friend.

  3. I think we all have our rhythms, and for each of us, it’s a bit different. I’m more like Mabel, in that if I’m not inspired, I just don’t write for whatever time it takes to recharge, regroup, recommit, I guess. I don’t worry about it, because I’ve written my whole life and know at this point in time the spark will always return, sometimes in an altered form, which can be fun. It’s never too long a wait. Aloha, Balroop – here’s to inspiration! ❤

    1. Thank you for the inspiration Bela…we have to wait for the spark to return as we don’t have a choice. 🙂 Love your support dear friend. Stay blessed and have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Hi Balroop,

    You are trying to wake up your “creative critter, which seems to have gone into hibernation”. Your creative force seems to have had a powerful argument with you. But I am with you about the limitations in life, as festivities and family time can be demanding.
    But I do agree with your buddy too ‘Your complacency irritates me, your attitude is so annoying and your priorities are paradoxical’. Which means we can find time if we want to…

    Your post reminded me of the confusion I expressed in my post “Life or Muse, Hard to Choose” goo.gl/m28xPz … where I had talked to my personified muse, telling it to ‘come hither hither hither ’ and sit. But in my case this hibernation became very long.

    1. Yes dear friend, that’s what I have been trying to tell my muse that finding time is not the issue…we just get out of touch, we keep postponing and there is no limit to convincing ourselves that ‘we need a break’…this break can keep extending itself if we don’t come back to our thoughts and ignite our inspiration.
      Thank you for the link Alka, I checked that I had met your muse, which had almost dragged you along when it thought of going into hibernation! 🙂

  5. It is either a torrent or a drought I guess Balroop and igniting the dying embers is really tough. Loved the concept of having creativity as your muse/sidekick!

    1. Drought is the right word for me as words have never been so kind to me, sometimes drizzle irritates me and I decide to let them soak me to my skin. Believe me, the joy is heavenly! 🙂

      1. Ha..ha..i think you are being too humble and down to earth, you have a fine repertoire of words and phrases that enchant the readers to their hearts’ content!

  6. I guess creative self also needs a break at times …but then yes as always your words of wisdom win. Love for words means encompasses ‘loyalty’, ‘obeisance’, ‘reverence’ and ‘eloquence.’ These are the words to be remembered forever.

    1. Thanks Somali for giving the flag to ‘words of wisdom’…they are a part of our creative self, which really enlighten and steer us through challenging storms. 🙂

  7. Um, yes. All the time. 🙂 She isn’t quite as eloquent as yours, Balroop. I love this: “…quit rational thinking and develop wings whenever wanted.” I will try!

    1. Oh yes…when we fly on the wings of fantasy do we understand the ‘c’ of creativity, the clouds around us start disintegrating and we can meet our real self…that has been my endeavor. 🙂

  8. I think our muses like to give us a swift kick sometimes to keep us in line. But after all Balroop, we all need a time out and time to take in things that fulfill us , which rejuvenates us and in turn can fuel our creativity once we plant ourselves back into our writing. 🙂

  9. It’s all about balance Balroop. We ought to take time for us, for loved ones and maybe we let aside her muse, we let inspiration drift by for a while. Sometime it’s just fine. And sometime we need a reminder to go back to creative mode and start writing again, full of all the things and beautiful moments we shared and experienced.
    Take care sweet Balroop.

    1. I love your outlook Marie…’sometimes it is fine’…I too keep telling myself…it’s ok, I am in no competition and I don’t want to be! Yes, balance has to be maintained. Thank you dear friend. Hugs and love. Stay blessed 🙂

  10. I so agree about quitting rational thinking. That’s when the best creative stuff tends to come our way, but once in a rut, it can be hard to find that spark again. The important thing is the on-going conversation we have with our Muse.

    1. Oh yes Jeri…the on-going conversation does reveal some more layers of ourselves…some of my poems were written in that mood. 🙂 Thanks for adding your view to the discussion.

  11. Well put and well written as always Balroop. Even when she’s cross at you, you deliver 🙂 I need to spend some time away from my muse every so often and I give myself room and space to breathe. The muse is always close by and always ready to inspire but sometimes we both need a break from each other. A little time apart allows both of us to rest up and come back inspired. ha 🙂

    1. Thank you for the reminders Vishnu…we all need a break and space and be grateful for the inspiration we receive from each other. 🙂 Stay blessed and have a wonderful weekend dear friend.

Comments are closed.