Which Is More Enchanting…Sunrise Or Sunset?

Winter Sunset

I have always found sunsets more alluring as I could watch them without making any special effort and I had some time to spare in the evening. I saw most of the sunrises from the windshield of my car, while driving to work and that too only in winters.

When I rummage through my childhood memories, none of them is connected with sunrise but I remember walking with the moon and wondering how it could accompany me everywhere!

While on a vacation I have always found the warmth of my bed and early morning sleep more charming than stepping out to see the sun!

The first real sunrise that I saw at Kasauni (a hill station and village situated in Bageshwar district in the state of Uttarakhand, India) is still embedded in my memory.

It is the most memorable one not because we were told that we must visit Kasauni, “the Switzerland of India” and watch the sunrise and inspired by the exuberance of our youth we took it more like an adventure!

It is memorable because of getting up before dawn in freezing cold, with a little baby of six months in my hands, all bundled up with a cute cap and watching the panoramic view of snow-capped Himalayan peaks, slowly changing color seemed like a dream in those days. One of my albums holds this beautiful memory but it belongs to that era of cameras, which were not digital.

“Saw the sun rise. A lovely apricot sky with flames in it and then solemn pink. Heavens, how beautiful…I feel so full of love to-day after having seen the sun rise.” – Katherine Mansfield

sunset

Despite that heavenly view none of the vacations to picturesque places could impel me to move my butt out of my balmy bed to watch the clouds turning soft pink to peach.

It is blessing to catch an early morning flight because the hues of yellow, ochre and orange reveal themselves with all their glory, which can be watched effortlessly from the window seat, I love to occupy.

I may whine a lot about why is the flight so early but all those words melt and merge into the hues of spectacular sunrise.

Sun peeping into my living room
Sun peeping into my living room!

But I love sunsets and nature has conspired so lovingly to place me here. Now the direction of my little abode is such that the sun peeps through my French windows before going down.

The golden hour extends as the orange and the golden glow lingers longer for me to capture its mesmerizing charm and I watch it from my couch everyday, deriving unfathomable pleasure of lifetime.

The window of my bedroom presents the view of sunrise. Since I befriended eight, I hardly ever see it.

Colors of sunset
“A sunset is the sun’s fiery kiss to the night.” ― Crystal Woods

All the pictures of sunset have been taken from one place, the patio of my home. I have many more!

Do you like sunsets? Do they evoke any memories?

Thank you for reading this. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

Sunset hues
Sunset hues!

 

42 thoughts on “Which Is More Enchanting…Sunrise Or Sunset?

  1. Like you, I prefer sunsets though I think sunrises are equally beautiful as well. I suppose it comes down to the fact that I am a night person and staying up late is always no problem for me. Such beautiful photos of the sunsets here, a stunning collection and what a show. Whenever it approaches evening and I see clouds in the sky, I usually get excited because there’s a bigger chance of a colourful sunset 🙂 Many more sunsets to come for you, Balroop. Oh, and maybe a sunrise too…. 😉

    1. There is one difference though…a sunset suddenly paints the sky whereas you have to wait for the sunrise a little longer to lend its hues to the sky and then it becomes piercing for the eyes whereas the sunset calms down the atmosphere. I think very few people notice this.
      I have a few pictures of sunrise but they are not as beautiful as these. Thanks for your view. 🙂

      1. Such a good observation, Balroop. True. Sunrises can be harsh on the eye and it can make us look away…but you can also think of it as incredibly striking beauty that you can’t even take it all in 😀

  2. Both sunrise and sunset paint a beautiful picture across the horizon. Watching them makes your day so much more beautiful!! I have watched plenty of both, and believe me, each time it looks more mesmerising than before!

  3. It is a difficult call, Balroop, to choose between sunrise and sunset. The dilemma is reflected in your admission of being a late riser as the factor influencing your preference for the evening phenomenon. Being an early bird, I love watching the sun rise and set and have enjoyed these glorious sights from mountain crests at places like Lonavala and Mahabaleshwar, and strolling across sandy beaches at Kovalam, Goa and more specially at Kanya Kumari, the converging point of Arabian Sea, Indian Ocean and Bay of Bengal.

    1. It could be a difficult call for those who watch both frequently and an early riser takes pride in admiring the sunrise whereas those who love to stay in bed till late think ‘grapes are sour!’ Though an early riser all my life due to the compulsions of work, I could hardly get time to watch the blessings of nature, having too many inside the home to attend to!
      Thanks for sharing your lovely experiences of watching those splendid sights! Stay blessed. 🙂

  4. Like Rajagopal I too am an earlybird so often enjoy our sunrises, especially watching them over the sea. Sunsets can be a bit clichéed, whereas the sunrise is slightly harsher and sharper. I likeboth, but I love the dawn of a new day and the promise it holds.

    1. Just now I have told Rajgopal why I have been an early bird all my life and therefore trying to balance it out now, taking full advantage of these blessed years of life. Sunset are more serene as they invoke vibes of calming down naturally, spreading lovely hues around us, which convert into stars!
      Thanks for sharing your perspective dear Roughsea. Stay blessed!

  5. How can one fail to appreciate the rising or setting of the sun? Is it purely an aesthetic thing, I wonder? Perhaps both also impart a sense of our continuance in the world, an orderliness and fittingness of our presence within it? I suspect there are some deep-rooted, evolved emotional responses at play, from times when the sun dictated the entire structure of our day.

    1. I am awed by your thought-provoking philosophical insight Hariod…I am trying to decipher the connection of sun with humanity, which has been mentioned in mythology. Apparently sun has been evoking emotions and aesthetics quite naturally since times immemorial.
      I appreciate your interest in this post, entirely motivated by emotions. Many thanks dear friend for standing by and sharing your pearls of wisdom. 🙂

  6. while it’s very difficult to compare sunset with sunrise since the result we see with our eyes has many natural “components and factors”. I have been capturing both sunrise and sunsets over the last few years, some of which have been shared on my blog under the skywatch. Frankly, I have very less opportunity to capture sunsets since I work till late. It’s almost impossible to capture either from the urban concrete with so many buildings all around. Sunrise affords me an opportunity to drive away from the city to some vantage point, from where I can capture and enjoy its true essence. What i enjoy about sunrise is that it brings up positive energy….of a new day! But in the end, I think both are magnificent. By watching a sunrise or sunset, you can have a powerful spiritual experience. Would love to see you posting pictures of sunsets, which you experience! 🙂

    1. I had all your pictures in mind arv when I was posting these, wondering how a photographer would view these amateur images taken with a mobile. Often I am dissatisfied by the image as the real colors that we see with our eyes don’t show in the pics and therefore watching a real sunset is more of an exhilarating experience especially when you don’t have to make any effort. 🙂

      1. There’s no doubt that what an eye will experience can never be captured in a picture. I have often seen some great amateur pictures. Even I’m on a learning curve. I too have started using mobile phone for capturing nature photography. You’ll increasingly see these pictures on my blog too. 🙂

  7. Amazing photos, Balroop. I’m up for the sunrise every morning, but I’m encased in trees, so it’s often more about the color of the air than an actual sighting. Both are beautiful, magical times of day. Lovely post, my friend.

  8. This seems a post exclusively meant for me, for I’ve a serious longing to watch both sunrises and sunsets on all of my trips.

    It is difficult to pick which is my favorite as I’ve loved all I’ve seen so far. The more dramatic they are (with clouds around, behind mountains covered in snow etc), the more they excite me!

    Happy to read about your first memory from Kasauni…I’ve read about this place and of it’s charm.

    1. All nature lovers have a penchant for watching such blessings so readily available around us, only if we possess a discerning eye and leisure…lacking so much in modern times. I am so happy to be connected with friends like you Alok who make it a point to extract leisure out of gruelling routine. 🙂 Thanks for such beautiful response!

  9. Its difficult for me to make a choice between sunrise and sunset, because they both have their unique magical charm. Though I am slightly biased towards sunsets ☺ Also the presence of the clouds and pretty landscape makes it even more alluring. I simply love the way nature plays with colours and hues. Its rejuvenating and in that moment you are at peace. One of the prettiest sunrise I ve seen is at Hill Fort Kesroli. I tend to seek out the sunrise n sunset 😁 wherever I maybe travelling to, so that I do not miss enjoying them. Unfortunately in the busy and polluted city life….. More often than not you canot witness the actual rising or the setting of the sun unless and until you have or are at a vantage point……. And not to forget the moonrise. I remember witnessing the first from the beach in Chennai and I loved it too. Your mobile clicks are extremely pretty.and your post has evoked so many positive feelings and memories in others….. Isn’t that wonderful Balroop 😍

    1. Welcome to Emotional Shadows dear Monika, I am sure you enjoyed being here…your beautiful words exhibit it so well and many thanks for them. 🙂
      I agree with you, clouds do add a special charm to the sky when the sun spreads its glorious colors all around. Sunset from a train is also equally captivating as you can see the orange ball slowly going down. I am delighted to meet another like-minded friend. Thanks for coming over here.

    1. There is hope in setting sun too as it promises to return next day and gives a message of rest for a while! I also love sunsets because they are easily approachable 🙂 Thanks Lisa.

  10. Hi Balroop,

    Beautifully put indeed 🙂

    I would be thoroughly confused if I sat to reply to your question because I love both – the sunrise and sunset as much!! Sunrise, because it gives me the freshness and newness of the day – a day full of hope and the desire to create more awesomeness around me, while the sunset calls for the closing of the day, and reminds us of the time to slow down our pace and wind up for the day.

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      Thank you for standing by to share your lovely words, always appreciated. 🙂 I am glad you like both, I would say I too but don’t like to get up so early to watch sunrise.
      Hope you are having a wonderful time as you seem to be quite busy elsewhere. Stay blessed!

  11. Intriguing question. There is beauty and joy to be found in both. When I waited tables in Florida at the main restaurant in the Everglades, I saw many sunrises. Sometimes on my way to biking to work and other times while getting the dining room ready for customers. The place had two walls of glass windows that overlooked the bay. Sunrise is the start and warming up of life and new possibilities. To begin a day in beauty is something. I don’t often see sunrises where I live. I get up early, but my house is not situated to see sunrises as easily as sunsets. I often catch sunsets here though while taking my dog on her evening walk. Sunsets bring the day to a close and remind us all is not lost if we stop to appreciate small things and grand things a like.

    1. I agree Jeri, both evoke exquisite emotions but we like those things, which are convenient and for me sunset just peeps into my living room and that is what makes it so dear these days. There was a time when I didn’t even notice it due to busy life…leisure is such a blessing! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experiences with the sun.

  12. I do prefer to witness sunset simply because I had to arise long before daylight for many years, in order to provide for my family. That being said, my youngest daughter was just married a couple of days ago in a sunrise ceremony on a Hawaiian beach. It was lovely, but I could not stop shaking from the cold. Now if I had had liberty to pile on shoes and a jacket and hat instead of a nice ‘mother of the bride’ dress, I might have enjoyed it more.

    I, too have taken many sunrise and sunset photos. The colors in each are unique, and there is no way I could say I prefer one over the other. I do still prefer, however, to rise with the sun! Aloha, Balroop. ❤

    1. Exactly my sentiments Bela!! All my life (yes, it seems so)…all my life I have been getting up with that silly sound of an alarm, which seemed to ring just as I was beginning to drift into my dreamy world, and in winters it seemed I got up when the whole world slept! To cook, shower, tell my girls to hurry up and then get ready for my work, barely making on time!! Even musical alarms, which my hubby bought for me couldn’t seem pleasant and therefore I just love my morning sleep.
      Your ‘mother of bride dress’ made me smile! 🙂 We too have to look our best if the weddings happen to be in the month of January, no mother or aunt likes to wear jackets and shoes!! 🙂

  13. Gorgeous photos Balroop. I’m with you. I’m a sunset kind of girl and usually too late to catch a sunrise. I’m going to my favorite place in the world tomorrow for sunsets, Arizona. Expect to see some of those beauties in my travel posts. 🙂

  14. Your photos are wonderful Balroop. I love both. I can’t chose. When I was in Dublin in my last appartment, I had a beautiful view. I could enjoy sunrise and sunset from my window. Colors were delightful. It’s great the way the day starts and ends, Everything seems possible at both stage.
    Sending you love and looking forward starting reading your new book!

    1. Thank you dear Marie for sharing your reflections. It is such a blessings to have a view of sunrise and sunset from the window of our home!! Many thanks for showing interest in my new book. I look forward to your views on it. 🙂

  15. I LOVE the reference to “spray painted by a graffiti artist.” For me, it has always been the sunrise that made me happiest, because it signifies the new beginning, a blank slate upon which I can paint any picture God allows me to.

    1. Sunrise may signify a new beginning yet I doubt the ‘slate’ that you call ‘blank.’ To me all experiences are linked, are perceptions are influenced and interconnected and all pictures reminiscent of something. 🙂 Thanks for a thought-provoking insight.

  16. I love both – maybe Sunrise a little more because it brings the freshness of a new day with new hope, new possibilities. Recently, on a weekend, we had gone to Juhu beach when the sun was just about to rise. The sea, sky, and beach all the three seemed to merged into a creamy hue, and it felt so fresh and awe-inspiring. I went on a clicking spree to capture the moment, 🙂

  17. Me too…but sunset a little more for the same reasons as the setting sun smiles at us, spreading lovely colors all around us and promises to come next morning with new hopes. It is just a matter of perspective…the sun remains the same! 🙂 Thanks for standing by Somali and sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

