How Much Of Laughter?

Laughter

Laughter – a spontaneous overflow of fun, a stress reliever, a mood changer, a health therapist…not only provides a cushion to our emotional hurts but also helps us in dealing with the jolts of life effectively.

I have written about laughter therapy to remain emotionally healthy yet it is not listed under the most popular posts!

Why do we forget our laughter skills, as we grow older and resilient?

Humor is the most difficult genre for writers and most of the jokes degenerate below a decent level. That’s why yoga instructors have been promoting self-laughter. Probably Laughter Shows add hilarity sounds for the same purpose!

“The burden of the self is lightened when I laugh at myself,” observed Rabindranath Tagore.

I have been told many times to laugh softly but I always dismiss that advice…how can you decide how much to laugh? Isn’t that weird? I wonder how people can close their mouth and laugh!

I have never learnt to laugh gently as I didn’t want to. The real power and therapeutic effect of laughter lies in what comes from our heart, without any ifs and buts.

I have faced many stern looks of my hubby but did I ever care?

When I laugh…it just goes out loud and clear! Whenever there was a loud laughter in our staff room, our Principal assumed one of those must be me! Once she heard that and came to reprimand but I didn’t happen to be there, luckily! So much for my reputation!

Another scenario, which is embedded in my memory is laughing in libraries, when, as youngsters, we had to face the stern eyes of the librarian and ran out to laugh…such is the power of spontaneous laughter!

This Book Makes Me Laugh Like My Grandchildren!IMG_3861

This book came as a birthday gift for my granddaughter, Athena but nobody paid any attention to it as it said, “Take away the A.” A book about alphabets is considered to be useless in the modern times when alphabets are available in colorful forms, puzzles and each toy sings an alphabet song!

It also appeared to be weird because it had sentences on one page, which could be of no interest to a child of two as most of the books at this stage are pictorial with little stories or rhymes.

The book sat at the bookshelf till one day I decided to read it for my fun-loving grandson who just likes to open books, collects all of them around him and gets distracted within a moment.

This grandma is different, I told myself! No such tricks with me! When nobody takes interest in a book, I read it to myself to draw their attention and most of the times it works. Sometimes I change my voice to convey the emotion and attract their response.

This book caught their attention beyond description! The innovative style of the author is incredibly remarkable.

Each letter is mentioned in such a manner that no child can miss the fun that this book stimulates.

When you take away the ‘A’, BEAST is BEST!

Without the ‘B’, BRIDE goes for a RIDE!

IMG_3866IMG_3865

This book plays with letters in a creative manner to take away one alphabet and create a new word.

It doesn’t just highlight the ABCs but also introduces words in an interesting and humorous manner.Chair has hair!

Without the ‘C’, CHAIR has HAIR!

‘JAM I AM’ is equally funny.IMG_3870

Once we discovered the fun, it became our favorite book and is now read everyday.

When you take away the L, PLANTS wear PANTS.

IMG_3873

The moment we reach this page, we all break into peals of laughter.

We must have read it a hundred times but the fun never seems to wane.

Children don’t wait for humor to laugh…they create their own funny situations and even inspire us to laugh heartily…that is why they are called the flowers of our garden, always lending warmth and fun to our lives.

“A good time to laugh is any time you can.” – Linda Ellerbee

Do you laugh loudly or do you think it is embarrassing? I am waiting eagerly for your answers.

Thank you for reading this. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

This is not a book review or a sponsored post.

 

 

 

 

51 thoughts on “How Much Of Laughter?

  1. Hi Balroop,

    Nice lighthearted post about laughing. I remember laughing in the libraries as well as classrooms.

    How much to laugh…now that is an issue. I myself had mildly raised this issue in my article about laughing, a post that I wrote in 2015 and so as I read your article I could relate to your feelings about laughing. I will share the post with you and your readers.

    https://alkagirdhar.com/2015/03/19/laughing-matters/

    Keep laughing without restraint like you do. The children’s books you mentioned must be amusing, more so for you grand kids as children laugh at a slightest provocation.

    Cheers!

    1. Oh yes Alka…classroom laughter was so uncontrollable when the teacher would suddenly enter and we tried to close our mouths!! Those were the days of real joy…free from all angst! And they come back when you are in the company of your grandchildren!
      Thanks for your visit Alka, hope all is well with you.

  2. I chuckled when you said the Principal came running when she heard you laugh but you weren’t there 😀 So true as you said, how can we hold back our laughter and laugh with our mouth shut. To me, sincere laughter is one of the most beautiful sounds in the world no matter how loud or soft it is – and often that person just wants to spread a little joy around. Laughter is a positive thing…and maybe it brings good luck too, seeing it got you out of a reprimand 😉

    I like to laugh out loud when I feel like it. No holding back. If someone wants to tell me off for laughing, so be it (unless of course it is a serious situation but common sense would tell us not to laugh). That is quite a funny book there that has a good play on words and I hope your grandson reads it over and over again 🙂

    1. I am glad I could put that chuckle inside you…whenever I come across something that is a little humorous, I always share it with others around me to spread more joy around. Positive vibes, which are generated in this manner fill the atmosphere with fun! Good luck…LOL, let’s hope so! 🙂
      The way this book makes us laugh everyday gave me an idea to write another post on laughter. Thanks for liking it dear friend. Stay blessed!

  3. Nice post Balroop.Laughter they say is the best medicine. My mil is very famous for her loud and spontaneous laughter. That’s probably the reason for her good health too.
    Though I am a reserved person, my daughter keeps reminding me to laugh more. I guess I should make it a habit for a healthy and happy me 😁

  4. Great post. Its true that laughter is quite undervalued as a therapy. There are quite a few laughter clubs too yet its not given much importance. I also feel societies have never promoted laughter rather being serious is always looked up as desirable. It’s difficult to define what laughter should be…it has to be natural.

    1. Thanks arv! I am glad you liked it. You are right that societal norms keep many people away from laughter but putting restrictions on such a natural source of joy is quite absurd.

  5. One place I really laugh myself out is in my Toastmasters meetings…that’s what life should be all about anyway!

    You must be knowing about those Laughter clubs in India, where a bunch of people meet in the park and just laugh. That’s the way to go 😊

    About the book- really creative concept. A sure fun and learning alongside for the kids.

    1. Oh yes Alok! I have written about those laughter clubs in my earlier post on the same topic and the link is there in this post too.
      I am so glad that you have such meetings where laughter is just FUN! 🙂 Stay blessed!

  6. I’m a loud laugher, Balroop. But I haven’t always been. I actually trained myself to laugh louder! Laughing is wonderful therapy, and I think it makes everyone feel better, not only the laughers, but those around them. The Tagore quote is great.) And thanks for sharing the children’s book. It looks wonderful. 🙂

    1. I have been a loud laugher ever since I knew laughter and would be often scolded by one of my aunts who always told us to laugh gently and guess what? We would laugh louder whenever we saw her just to irritate her…teenage pranks!!
      Thanks for sharing your perspective.

  7. OMG! I want this book for myself. You are a fun grandma! I, too, remember those days when we were reprimanded for laughing out loud. I laugh my heart out. I also make jokes about my problems. If I can’t fix them, why not laugh at them!

    I am hoping to find an electronic version of this book.

    1. Thanks Saru, welcome to Emotional Shadows! At last something did stir you to come here and I am delighted at this.
      Not just fun grandma but a blessed one too who gets ample opportunities to laugh our loud, making bubbles, camping in the tent inside the living room and tenths of such games, which evoke natural laughter!

      I am sure you can order this book from Amazon 🙂

      1. I am bad at time management. One reason I opened your blog many a times but never read any post. Alok speaks very highly of you. He admires the positivity in your posts. I had to come and read.

        And it’s been a pleasure.

      2. Thanks a TON Saru! What a perfect ending to my day! I am delighted to know that my words seem positive, I try to follow sunshine though shadows follow me everywhere. I have tried to brush them aside by gathering them, melting them into my poetry and publishing them in the form of a book 🙂

  8. That book is so clever. Plants wear pants—Ha! Reminds me of a story my kids and I used to read together about dogs. One large dog was named ‘Hamish’ (I think he was an Aerdale Terrier) and he would ‘worry the socks’ hanging on the clothesline and get into the most mischief of all the dogs. The kids would burst into fits of giggles when it came to Hamish. It takes a special creativity to write children’s stories. Nice share, Balroop and yes, laughter is the best medicine. One of the first things to go when we’re depressed is our ability to laugh at our own mistakes.

    1. Laughing at our own self has been our favorite…whenever we knew we would be scolded, we would mimic all those expressions and possible words to be uttered and laugh to lighten the burden on our mind. All reprimands lose their sting if we visualise them and laugh at them beforehand 🙂
      Thanks for sharing that lovely story of Hamish. Creativity does matter!

  9. Laughter is my sanity. I always find a reason to laugh and I’m happy that I can provide entertainment to those around me. It’s true, there is no better medicine. 🙂

      1. I’m not sure about awesome, but I do like to spread sunshine and positivity where I can, after all it doesn’t cost anything. 🙂

  10. My son is my reminder Balroop. As you say young kids laugh all the times, with all their heart. And they invite you to enjoy the ride.
    I remember many people told me to laugh more gently. But as you may know, this is impossible for me. When I laugh, people know I do. And I think it’s a great way to enjoy life and share it with the world.
    We, adults, don’t laugh enough. Though it’s a fabulous medicine!
    The book looks like a lovely read. I’ll have a look at it…
    Thanks for this lovely article that put a big smile on my face this morning. Sending you Love and LIke. May your day be filled with many laughs.

  11. I agree with you Marie…kids always find something to laugh…even a simple game of catching each other evokes great laughter when one is caught!! I am glad you enjoy those laughter ‘rides’! Stay blessed. Love and hugs.

  12. Good question. I probably laugh more when I am around people I am more comfortable with. I realize though the worth of letting go with a good belly laugh every now and again and am making strides laughing more often. If people stare, so be it.

    1. That’s true Jeri, we always laugh louder in the company of people we love to hang out with unless we are watching a comedy show or movie! Letting go becomes easier when we learn the value of laughing at follies, be it ours or others. 🙂

  13. Balroop, I would have had detention right along with you! Like you, my teachers always assumed it was I who laughed the loudest; and most of the time it was! I love to laugh. One of my favorite movies is Mary Poppins, where Ed Wynn played eccentric Uncle Albert floating around just beneath the ceiling in uncontrollable mirth, singing “I Love to Laugh.” It’s so nice to learn this about you, my friend. Wonderful wonderful post 🙂 ♥

    1. My colleagues and students knew that they could laugh with me heartily but they also understood how much distance I like to maintain and at what times. Actually some of them took many years to understand me!
      I am also fond of humorous movies and shows as they entertain in a light-hearted manner. Thank you so much for standing by and sharing your lovely view. Love and hugs.

  14. Balroop, this is a wonderful post which has me smiling away… I had to chuckle at the book. Wow, it is fabulous (& very clever) and I wish I’d seen this when my son was younger, guess I’ll just have to wait for the grandchildren!! 😀 It is strange how we become intimidated as adults and try to hide laughter, the one from youth which is free and all consuming. I recall one German A level class (just six of us) when my friend and I started laughing over something which gathered force until the class was in stitches. Then our teacher started laughing and she couldn’t stop either! Soon she was getting very annoyed and sent us all out for ten minutes to calm down! Good memories..thank you for bringing this back to me! Although I’ll often laugh quite loudly when watching tV, sometimes until I can’t breathe (quite scary) I’ve found very few books which have the effect although Nick Spalding’s books can be hilarious. 😀😀

    1. I am delighted to know that those lovely memories could be evoked with my words and also glad to note how dear memories become as the tide of time turns us over. Nostalgia is a lane of calm comfort, charming even a complacent heart! Thank you for sharing some precious pearls you gathered in the age of innocence. I too have many…keeping them safely vaulted for my sunset years. 🙂

  15. Totally agree, Balroop that nothing is as wonderful as is the sound of sincere laughter. I totally believe in the therapeutic power of laughter therapy that’s why I often laugh when I’m caught up in a difficult situation and can’t do much to relieve the stress but laugh.
    Loved that beautiful book, though my child is well past the alphabet reading age, I hope to get hold of this one for us.

    1. Thanks Era! Books never lose their charm and value…your child could have passed that learning stage but her/his sibling would love that! 🙂 Stay blessed!

  16. Laughter is a healer. I LOVE to laugh, but am surprised when it comes out. I’m afraid the older we get, the less we laugh. But when I’m with girlfriends, and we’re relaxed, perhaps out at a restaurant and drinking some wine, we just LET GO and laugh hard and often. We get looks from other diners that remind me of the times I’d get in trouble as a child when laughing in the classroom. Wonderful!
    And I’m off to order the Take Away the A book – sounds perfect for my grandkids — and ME. 🙂

    1. Thanks for putting a smile on my face Pam…yes, we are expected to laugh modestly at such places but sometimes we just explode and feel guilty…isn’t laughter natural? Do we ever think let me laugh!…this time louder?
      I am glad you like that book. Happy reading and laughing 🙂

Comments are closed.