4 Invaluable Gifts That A Mother Can Give

Happy Mother's Day

Mother – the first caretaker, the first emotional anchor, the first teacher and the only real Angel in the life of a child. She has to live up to all these expectations.

As a baby opens his eyes, it is the mother’s face that fascinates him, it is the mother’s heartbeat he can hear, it is the mother’s tender touch that she can recognize, the same touch that gives a feeling of security, a unique bonding that is created in the womb and always remains special.

With her unconditional love, intuitive understanding and selfless sacrifices, she makes an indelible impression on the minds of her children. She is the sustaining force of a home and fills it with color and candor.

Guided by God Himself, she possesses divine instincts and therefore a mother’s influence is eternal and infinite…more effective than that of a father.

“It is mother’s influence during the crucial formative years that forms a child’s basic character. Home is the place where a child learns faith, feels love, and thereby learns from mother’s loving example to choose righteousness. How vital are mother’s influence and teaching in the home—and how apparent when neglected!”― Ezra Taft Benson

Besides love and understanding, a mother can give some priceless gifts:Motherhood quote

Quality time: Can there be a better gift than spending time with our children? Time is the most significant factor and it fleets faster than our wishes. Mothers who spend quality time with their toddlers by giving them undivided attention could make a lasting impression on their minds. Reading books, painting, flying paper planes, floating paper boats and playing imaginative games with the kids makes everlasting memories.

As they grow older and their interests’ change, you have to adapt according to their choices but remember to do things together, whether it is cooking, baking or folding laundry or learning to play guitar, children love to get involved in all activities.

Positivity: A positive attitude is reflected in our behavior and way of living. When a mother knows how to be positive, she passes on that approach to her children effortlessly. Even little hurts of friends who don’t care can be interpreted in a positive manner by telling the kids that it is okay to forget, that the hurt was unintentional.

Respect: When children grow up with respect around them, they learn this value quite early. Observation is the most effective teacher and children learn from what they see. Make sure that you respect the desires and demands of your children. Empty promises or manipulations convey a wrong message. A mother who respects the father of her children and talks about his positive qualities even if he is not around, inculcates that respect lies at the basis of all relationships.

Independence: As mothers, the best gift which you can give to your children is to let them think freely and take their own decisions after they cross the most impressionable age. Mothers who tie their adult sons and daughters to the strings of their apron often create unnecessary problems for them. If you let them fly freely, they soar higher than your expectations.

No mother wants to be remembered as a bad mother. Human imperfections keep raising their ugly head to give a bad name to the unconditional love, which all mothers have in their heart.

What kind of a mother are you? Do you agree that a mother’s role is more crucial in raising a responsible individual? Please share your reflections.
Thank you for reading this. Please add your valuable reflections, they are much appreciated.
If you have liked this post, please share it at your favorite social networks.
Balroop Singh.

34 thoughts on “4 Invaluable Gifts That A Mother Can Give

  1. I liked your paean to motherhood, Balroop. To which may I add the following:
    One who loves till you close your eyes, is a *Mother*.
    One who loves without an expression in the eyes, is a *Father*.
    ____________________________
    *Mother* – Introduces you to the world.
    *Father* – Introduces the world to you.
    ___________________________
    *Mother* : Gives you life
    *Father* : Gives you living
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Makes sure you are not starving.
    *Father* : Makes sure you know the value of starving
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Personifies Care
    *Father*: Personifies Responsibility
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Protects you from a fall
    *Father* : Teaches you to get up from a fall.
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Teaches you walking.
    *Father* : Teaches you walk of life
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Teaches from her own experiences.
    *Father* : Teaches you to learn from your own experiences.
    __________________________
    *Mother* : Reflects Ideals
    *Father* : Reflects Reality
    ___________________________
    *Mother’s* love is known to you since birth.
    *Father’s* love is known when you become a Father.
    ___________________________
    Enjoy what your father says.
    Keep loving your mother.
    ___________________________

  2. Absolutely agree with you Balroop. No school or college can replace the human being the mother makes out of her child. She has a huge responsibility of moulding the little bundle into an individual so strong to take on the challenges of life, yet at the same time infuses compassion and values into his personality. She works 24/7. The most challenging and the most fulfilling job in this world is of the ” Mother “💖

  3. Happy Mother’s Day, Balroop. Lovely tribute to all the mothers out there in the world. The role of mother and women is so important in this world today. Not only are they responsible for bringing children in this world, but to also guide them through the journey each of us are on. No two mothers are the same, but at the end of the day I think many just want their children to be happy 🙂

    1. Thank you Mabel, I am glad you liked my reflections. A role of a mother has never been defined or understood…it is as individualistic as universal. All mothers put in their best efforts to raise their children as nothing is more dear than your child.

  4. Last point is so important – I just read a post on the same and how the mom of a friend let her do what she liked, and she is successful in that field now.

    One can’t really understand the depth of sacrifices Moms go through. But we can do our bit by appreciating those.

  5. Balroop, a wonderful touching post on what is today’s Mother’s Day for many. I agree strongly with all your points here – as a daughter I have flourished under the care and love of my own mother. We have become best friends and I know she is ALWAYS there for me. As a young anxious child she was the one who gave me courage to face life, who understand my worries and nurtured me through them. As a teenager we had so much fun, a companion in my studies and as I started writing seriously she has always encouraged whilst giving good critical advice. My love for her is so much it almost frightens me – as does the intensity of love and care I feel for own son. Time is the most valued resource in this world and no more so than giving it freely! I have enjoyed every moment spent with my son and feel joy and yes, pride, in the fine young man he is today. Those silly painting, play dough cooking games, football, reading together now transformed into time discussing music, friendship, philosophy of life, work / life balance. As he’s grown up, I’m so fortunate to learn from him…At times it’s been hard to readjust to the new elements of our relationship as he’s become more independent, something I so much want him to have and so happy he does, but this meant looking at my life once again, discovering new paths for myself. We are all so intertwined in each other’s lives! Blimey, Balroop…sorry for this long rambling comment….your lovely post really caught me in a reflective mood this morning. hugs ❤️

    1. Thank you dear Annika for sharing your own journey of being such a loving and kind mother…blessed are those who get such wonderful moms! I too tried to give all I could to my girls and now I am proud of them as they are well-settled, financially and emotionally successful individuals. You are right, lessons that we learn from our children are the most profound and I learned patience, kindness and compassion from them though the unseen monster of detachment too was lurking around to clamp his jaws 🙂 Hugs back to you dear friend.

      1. Yikes…my son is off to university in two years and your words of ‘monster of detachment too was lurking around to clamp his jaws’ will only prove too accurate.

  6. This is so beautiful, Balroop! I especially like the last point “Independence”. It’s so important to encourage our children to be independent at a young age so they can make their own decisions. Mothering is one of the hardest jobs in the world. I also agree that the mother/child bond is stronger because of the womb and giving birth and providing milk. I love that a father provides such a different perspective for children and note that your first commenter really put that into perspective with the examples. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Balroop!!

    1. Yes Lisa, we see only from one angle but men have to define their role too 🙂 Having said that, nobody can change my mind about who is more important in the upbringing of a child. I agree that some dads have done a wonderful job and could have provided the best of the world but no one can replace a mom. 🙂 Cheers to that!

  7. Freethinking, respect, quality time. Had a harder time with positivity, simply because I was raised by such very critical people. But in the end, I do think I conveyed a can-do attitude, as well as an abiding faith that all things are necessary to growth; that all will turn out well in the end, even if we don’t think so at the time.

    Happy Mothers Day to you, Balroop! ❤

    1. Thank you Bela for sharing your experiences…critical people also contribute to our positivity though we detest their judgments 🙂 They make us wiser, kinder, introspective and intuitive. Let’s thank them for what they give through their harshness.

  8. It’s no doubt that because of your beautiful teachings you are a wonderful mother. Yes, all things you write are ingredients to the making of a good mother, the way it should be, but unfortunately isn’t always what is. Hoping you had a beautiful Mother’s Day. ❤

      1. Well nobody is perfect and we learn through mistakes. The importance is knowing the fundamentals. and owning our mistakes and growing from them. Much different not being a good parent. 🙂

  9. Your words feel like a special treat for me today Balroop. It’s challenging to be a mother. But yes when we do our best, we can offer our kids precious gifts. It’s so important for them. I believe independance is key. I hope I’ll succeed in letting my son go and make his experiences. And help him grow happy and free.
    May you stay blessed my friend. Love from Paris.

    1. As always, I appreciate your loving words Marie. I know you are a wonderful mom to your son. Be yourself and you can inculcate all those values of life. Love and hugs 🙂

  10. I’m not a mother by choice, and that choice was largely influenced by growing up with a mother who could not give me the things you mention in this post. A mother’s role is crucial, but other factors weigh in as well.

  11. Yes, I agree with all you say here. I know for myself, I was a loving and kind and thoughtful person before I became a mom. But then I realized I had just touched lightly on the true feeling of love and kindness and giving until I had a child. Oh my, I was bowled over (a funny, old expression) with how much pure love I had for this being that I nurtured inside me for 9 months. And that love has never faltered.

    1. Thanks Pamela, for sharing your raw and true emotions, I can understand how we change within, the moment we bring our bundle of joy into this world…unconditional love springs spontaneously. 🙂

  12. This is so beautiful dear Balroop… I like the fact that you considered the subject from a “giving/active” perspective… What mothers can give us… Their legacy… I guess the best tribute is somehow being able to live through others (sons and daughters), right!?… My mom has taught me the value of values… not things… 😉 and for that I am extremely grateful to her. Great post… Love & best wishes! 😀 ❤

  13. Thanks for your beautiful post. It’s challenging being a mother. I am a mother of 4 kids and I am no better than a mother of 2 just because I have more experience raising 2 other kids. We learn as we go and try our best to guide our children towards the right direction with love and care. God bless us all mothers.

Leave a Reply

