Laughter Therapy…To Remain Emotionally Healthy.

 

laughter-people

Laughter is a universal human language, it may be high-pitched, quiet or muffled but we all laugh…babies laugh even before they learn to speak.

Have you observed children? How they can laugh out loud at non-issues! Laughter is a natural gift, an innate emotion to keep us healthy.

We forget to laugh as we grow up…groomed to put up controlled and civilized demeanor, told — to avoid giggling, just smile, laugh softly. That is why probably… laughter therapy was invented!

I remember very clearly that as a growing adolescent, I was sternly warned by one of my aunts to laugh in a decent manner!!

Now what is decent laughter always remained an enigma to me and I could never learn it!

Laugh aloud and enjoy its effects! We all know ‘laughter is the best medicine’!

When I read this adage in Reader’s Digest, which has been regularly giving us this medicine, I scoffed at the benign advice of my aunt, all the more.

It was much later in my life that I realized how blessed I was to be endowed with this gift of laughing out louder.

“A day without laughter is like living in darkness; you try to find your way around, but you can’t see clearly.”—Emily Mitchell

The Power of Laughter:

I didn’t know anything about laughter therapy till I saw a group of men laughing loudly. I was walking with all those morning walkers who compete with each other to demonstrate their energy and enthusiasm…a regular, silent race to keep fit.

I was shaken out of my reverie by this sudden burst, shattering the peace of morning bliss…very rarely felt in my city, Delhi.

There was a laughter coach who gave directions how to start with a forced loud laughter and go on and on till it slowly turned into natural. I kept looking and wondering what was so funny.

Everyday when I passed by those persons laughing away to glory, their laughter trailed me…I kept smiling to myself and I must confess it added a special glow to my day. I could smile more naturally; I remained in good mood till some unruly student met me in the corridor.

Later, one day I happened to meet one of these laughter gurus, who enlightened me about this practice of laughing, which is called—Laughter Yoga.

It forms a part of yoga lessons, designed to be stress busters.

Laughter has got therapeutic value and has been accepted by doctors because it is a natural form of medicine. It provides physical, emotional and social benefits.

Dr. Annette Goodheart, a psychotherapist and inventor of laughter therapy has been using laughter to treat cancer, AIDS and depression for thirty-six years.

“Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.”—Bill Cosby

How Laughter Therapy works:laughter_quote_2

  • It relieves our stress.
  • It opens our mind and heart.
  • It strengthens our emotions.
  • It helps us handle our hurts calmly.
  • It increases blood circulation.
  • It decreases stress hormones.
  • It stimulates the production of alertness hormones
  • It releases endorphins to relieve pain.
  • It boosts immune system.
  • It hastens our recovery.
  • Strengthens relationships.
  • Improves team-work.

When we laugh, we gain the capacity to step backward and reassess the situation. When we laugh, we forget all our worries for a moment…that is the moment of resurrection, the moment of reviving lost hopes!

The burden of the self is lightened when I laugh at myself.”–Rabindranath Tagore

When are you joining laughter therapy course? It is absolutely free!

Just stand before the mirror and laugh at yourself! Just hold the hand of your spouse/partner and laugh together—loudly…as loud as your lungs permit! Remember an old dumb act of yours? Drag it out of your memories and make others laugh!

It is so easy, if we try! Have you tried laughter therapy? Did it relieve your stress?

If you have liked this article, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Have you subscribed to my posts? It is absolutely free. You can do so just now by clicking on ‘follow’.

Thank you for your support. Please add your valuable comments, they are much appreciated.

Balroop Singh.

Picture credit:notable-quotes.com

16 thoughts on “Laughter Therapy…To Remain Emotionally Healthy.

  1. When my daughter was very young she had an infectuious laugh that would spread to everyone in the room. One day her grandma and I were laughing so hard we both had tears running down our faces. The giggles got totally out of control and by the time we stopped laughing we didn’t even remember what the original thing was that struck her funny bone!
    But, like you said, we felt lighter and happier when we ‘came back to our senses’!! 😉

    1. Hi Denise,

      You are so right, children don’t wait for humour to laugh…they create their own funny situations and even inspire us to laugh heartily…that is why they are called the flowers of our garden, always lending warmth and fun to our lives.

      I am glad this post took you down the memory lane to bring back those happy moments we cherish so much! Thanks for sharing a lovely, happy experience.

  2. Laughter does bring me back to childhood. I have a greta loud open laugh that people love. It comes out when I am spontaneous and surprised by somehting I find funny. I love surprise/unexpected humor. It melts all of my worries away!

    1. Hi Jodi,

      You are right! Laughter is a great stress buster and I love spontaneous laughter as that is the true expression of our feelings. Though I have been told many times to control laughter but I always dismiss that advice…how can you decide how much to laugh? Isn’t that weird? I always wonder how people can close their mouth and laugh!! That is why I like laughter yoga so much.

      Thanks for standing by and sharing your thoughts. Always appreciated.

  3. Hi Balroop,

    Lovely post indeed 🙂

    Yes, laughter IS therapeutic and it does spread happiness into our lives, and into the lives of others as well. Besides, so feel so much better and lighter when you laugh 🙂

    I have an infectious laughter, so I’ve been told- the semi-loud kinds – not too loud though, and it shows up in the movie halls or when someone cracks a joke. My hubby disowns me those times, and always tells me to laugh slowly or softly. However, I’ve never known how to do that, and it would be holding yourself back I feel. Smiling is different from laughter, which I feel always comes from your heart, while a smile is often thought upon and perhaps comes from your mind.

    I love to do both, sometimes this or that….I lose nothing, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice weekend 🙂

    1. Hi Harleena,

      I can almost see your ‘infectious’ laughter through your words…it can reach me and make me smile! I love this kind of laughter, I have never learnt to laugh softly as I didn’t want to. The real power and therapeutic effect lies in what comes from our heart, without any ifs and buts.

      I have faced many stern looks of my hubby but did I ever care!! when I laugh…it just goes out loud and clear! Once there was a loud laughter in the staff room and our Principal assumed one of those must be me! Though I didn’t happen to be there, luckily! So much for my reputation!

      I think we won’t need any laughter therapy if we let the laughs be as natural as that. Thanks for the smiles you emitted through your words. You too have a nice weekend.

  4. Hi Balroop – haven’t tried therapy but do try to laugh regularly. I have a habit of unconsciously trying to make people laugh and I myself laugh a lot at the mundane and silly things in my life. Laughter makes me and others around me feel good, I’ve notice. And I too am a loud laughter which can be inappropriate in the wrong circumstances or improper places to laugh (libraries, temples and in professional settings) Thanks for reminding us not to hold back and to keep laughing!

    1. Hi Vishnu,

      I know you possess the greatest potential of making people laugh…your site speaks eloquently for that quality and your witty newsletters too are a pleasure to read.
      Laughing in libraries reminds me of those days when, as youngsters, we had to face the stern eyes of the librarian and run out to laugh…such is the power of spontaneous laughter!

      I think laughter therapy helps those who have been raised in a very controlled environment or have been the unfortunate ones to be deprived of natural laughter. Stress of modern life too has pushed laughter therapy to greater heights and rightly so.

      Thanks for your visit, Vishnu, it is greatly valued.

    1. Hi Zeenat,

      I am so pleased to note that this post resonated with you…that is the beauty of laughter, it attracts like a magnet! Thanks for adding your perspective, it is truly valued. Yep, I have seen that lovely picture, your daughter is such a darling. Love her!
      Thank you for the visit. Have a nice day.

  5. I totally agree with this one Balroop and I can honestly say that I laugh every single day.

    What I like to do is share funny or entertaining videos with my Facebook followers on my personal page because I like to have fun and keep things light. So as I scan the internet looking for things to share I come across a lot that just have me in tears I’m laughing so hard.

    Every Sunday night my Mom and I like to watch Americas Funniest Home Videos show on TV and we will sit there and just chuckle. I agree, it really does help with our overall health and our moods.

    Laughter really is the best medicine. 😉

    ~Adrienne

    1. Hi Adrienne,

      It’s SO good to laugh everyday…even I do with my little grand daughter who makes me laugh with her lovely pranks like playing peek-a-boo!

      Yes I too like Funniest Home Videos…they can evoke that spontaneous laughter, which comes from the heart. It is very essential to smile, chuckle and laugh – all have their effects on our health and mood.

      Thanks for sharing your experience, always loved.

    1. Hi Jeri,

      I totally agree with you…teaching opens vast vistas of expression of all emotions and I too miss that platform…one major part of life is locked away and overturned by the tide of time! Every stage of life has its pains and pleasures!
      Thanks for the visit, greatly appreciated!

Comments are closed.