Sunrise – At The Top Of Burj Khalifa

Sunrise from the top of Burj Khalifa

Some moments of joy come uninvited.
Some moments become memorable
Just because we let them be,
Without any expectations.
They never disappoint!

I have never made an effort to watch sunrise except once, which I had shared in an earlier post but watching it from the top of world’s tallest tower seemed special. It was spectacular and exhilarating!

Sunrise from the top of Burj Khalifa

A visit to Burj Khalifa (Dubai) was never on my bucket list. It just got planned at the last moment of our annual visit to India as we were flying Emirates. We thought that a hotel just opposite this Burj would be an ideal place to stay and we chose a room with a view.

Burj Khalifa
Burj Khalifa

Then I stumbled across a promotional offer of watching sunrise from the 124th floor of this iconic tallest structure in the world. I booked the tickets a week before we started our trip, keeping in view the long queues that you have to deal with.

We woke up very early to keep our rendezvous with the sun.  Jet lag helped us too! Since we were staying in a hotel opposite Burj Khalifa, we could just walk across the road to reach the entry point, which is through The Dubai Mall and you have to walk almost a mile to reach the ticket counter from where the online voucher is converted into a ticket.

A musical climb up the elevator within seconds was a memorable experience worth mentioning. This is the best time to watch the city from the top of Burj Khalifa as a beautiful skyline greets you from the terrace.

IMG_4721

IMG_4752

 

We spent almost an hour, waiting for the splendor of the sun to spread across the sky…an experience of a life time! Each moment has gone down the memory lane, glowing gorgeously orange. I was elated at the choice I had made.

Most of the reviews suggested that the evening time is more appropriate to go up but it gets very crowded at that time.

View from the room
View from our room during the day

I didn’t expect another thrill, which I could watch from the window of my room – the sunset! Just look at the image that I clicked:

Sunset view from my room
Sunset view from our room!

Could I ask for more in a single day? I heart was overflowing with gratitude for my daughter who had suggested the hotel to us.

Thank you for reading one of the memorable experiences I had recently. I have many more to share.

If you have liked this post, please share it at your favorite social networks.

Balroop Singh.

73 thoughts on “Sunrise – At The Top Of Burj Khalifa

  1. Balroop, thanks for this beautiful post. Your poem so true and perfect and your sensitive story about seeing the sunrise and then later the sunset. What magic to see it from such a hight. I am sure that day was full of praise and joy.
    Walking on clouds.?😊💕
    miriam

    1. It was magical Miriam, looking down from 124th floor made me feel on top of the world! Yes! a poetic expression would be “walking on the clouds!” Thanks for lovely words. 🙂

  2. What a treat and what a beautiful sunrise, Balroop. Sounds like it was every worth that last minute ticket a week before to Dubai. Brilliant photos and such a serene start to the day. It sounded like it was a fun spontaneous trip. Maybe we will get to hear a bit more of it 🙂

    1. It was the most beautiful Mabel, and you can understand why! What added to our enjoyment was that we were staying so close and could just walk towards the entry point while it was still dark. Dubal has been designed to be a tourist’s paradise. There were many more attractions and yes, I have more magical moments to share. 🙂

  3. Surely a special one…this sunrise is. The very fact that you get to witness from such a height makes it a unique one. Moments of tranquility!

      1. I get that. I always feel that sunrise is always a special moment….free and available to all but only a few of us choose or are able to avail this privilege! If not on a regular basis, we should enjoy this at least once in a while. 🙂

  4. I can relate to your beautiful experience Balroop. We had been there during the night. That was another facet of it’s breathtaking beauty with the all the glitter and dazzling lights! A moment to cherish for a lifetime!!

    1. Oh no Diana, I am sure you would write a poem and bask in the glory of the moment or get amused by the amount of selfies people were clicking 🙂 Such moments just pull you into them.

    1. Thanks Lisa! I missed the blogosphere as the wifi was slow and would work at will I am glad as I gathered some wonderful memories to cherish. 🙂

  5. Your Poem was beautiful Balroop and your images, well just breathtaking, what a joyous experience in every way.. Wow those views, It thought when I went up the Canadian CN Tower that was high enough, but this building is just awe inspiring.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful Morning Sunrise with us Balroop.. I hope you had an amazing journey.. xxx Welcome back.. 🙂

    1. Thank you Sue… such amazing experiences are so uplifting and they add a special charm to life. I haven’t mentioned the musical fountains besides the tower that attract large crowds in the evening…it is a rare spectacle that we saw in Las Vegas also many years ago. 🙂 Love and hugs.

      1. Sounds wonderful, so many wonderful things in Dubai and they are very forward in their Architecture, yet still they have a long way to go with human rights issues,
        It along with many other countries, shows how the divide between the haves and the have nots it seems to be getting greater. Another subject though all together..
        I bet the musical fountain was special, to see the cascades jump up and down to music. and I have seen on film the one in Las Vagas, so can just picture its beauty..
        Have a magical week ahead.. Love Sue xxx ❤

      2. Cultural compulsions takes ages to change Sue, I guess the awakening must be hitting them through all the advancement that they have been promoting. Thank you for sharing your lovely reflections. Have a wonderful week.

      3. I agree Balroop and you too enjoy, and Friday already tomorrow.. 🙂 so enjoy your weekend dear Balroop .. I have not had the internet turned on for several days.. I have Busy with Christmas preparations. 🙂 Big Hugs

    1. You don’t even realise that you are going up because the elevators are so smooth that you don’t even know when you reach at 124th floor just within seconds! 🙂

  6. It must have been a wonderful experience Balroop! Your photos are awesome. I imagine the real view was overwhelming.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Love from windy Paris.

  7. These sunrises are lovely.

    Sunrises and sunsets have become very special to my husband and I. We spend about four months out of the year apart. But we call each other on the phone to share sunrises and sunsets. Mostly the spectacular ones, but sometimes ordinary ones, too. We take time to describe the colors and clouds, maybe the birds if there are any.

    So these are truly special to me. Thanks for sharing something beautiful from your life. 🙂

    1. What a beautiful bond you enjoy through these blessings of Mother Nature! I share your passion for looking at the colors and clouds when they appear special. Thanks for sharing your reflections Cathleen. Stay blessed!

  8. Such a beautiful start to the post and wonderful pictures of sunrise and sunset. It seems they have the provision for tourists to watch the sunrise from 124th as well as the 148th floor, though I am not sure if it would make any difference. The moot point, as you have said in the poem is that it was an unexpected moment of joy, which you enjoyed to the fullest. 🙂

  9. Balroop, a memorable experience for you and an memorable post for me. Thank you so much for sharing this extraordinary sight…the buildings alone are dramatic but wow! The sunrise is stunning and beautifully captured in your photo. The poem rings so true…unexpected joy without restrictions is pure and heightened! Wonderful! I’m off to the top to scroll through the post again! Hugs, my friend! ❤️

    1. The wow factor is really noticeable! Would you believe it seems so different at night as the color changes into black!! Indeed so dramatic! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your joy 🙂

  10. Sometimes, we get the most when we expect the least. Covering both the spectacular sunrise and sunset on a single day is a great feat! Wonderful pictures, Balroop. The sun never fails to amaze us. Enjoy your stay in India. 🙂

  11. To see a sunrise from such a high vantage point is indeed a special event. I would love to have a house that was situated for good viewings of sunrises or sunsets, but alas, it is not. On a good evening though, I’ll time my dog walk just right to take advantage of the sunset.

    1. I am blessed with such a direction of the little abode I have at present, with sunset views from my living room and patio and sunrise view from my bedroom window 🙂 and all the time to watch the changing hues of the sky.

  12. Wow, what an experience. I’ve watched sunrise at the top of Cadillac Mountain on Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Maine. It’s a wonder to behold, as it’s the place that first sees sunrise in the contiguous US. But this is a wonder of a different sort! Glad you got to experience it. Aloha, Balroop! ❤

Comments are closed.